SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-116 (Duchess of Windsor Dress)

Viewed 1282 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/08 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 29 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
this is so beautiful and you look fantastic in it
8/21/08 3:06 PM
Barbara V said...
For as many darts as you describe, you sure sewed it up in a hurry! It looks great. I like the sleeves as well and the back without zipper.
8/21/08 3:24 PM
Elke said...
This looks gorgeous on you. It is very flattering in the short length.
8/21/08 3:32 PM
pinkli said...
Brilliant photo! Dress looks great, and so quickly made. The darts would put me off, but your version looks so handy that I could be persuaded...
8/21/08 3:37 PM
sewtime said...
Fantastic! You look great!
8/21/08 3:49 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, I loved the shape of this when I saw it in the magazine and it looks great made up in a knit.
8/21/08 3:54 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Thanks so much for posting this review! I loved that dress as soon as I saw it, but didn't think it would work on a bottom heavy figure. Now it's on my 'to sew' list again.
8/21/08 3:59 PM
Karen6790 said...
I did this dress in a woven, but I think you've convinced me it wants to be a knit next time around. This is too cute.
8/21/08 4:10 PM
Karendee said...
This is an adorable dress. It sounds like the perfect easy care solution to travel.
8/21/08 5:02 PM
chacha45 said...
Great review! Who but you could have imagined that the Duchess of Windsor dress would go so well with an army helmet? Been reading your blog. You are a good writer as well as sewist and cook. Love your sense of humor.
8/21/08 5:03 PM
Lynngray said...
Looks great on you. Wow looks like you had a great trip also. Thanks for review.
8/21/08 5:08 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress nicegirl !!!!
8/21/08 5:40 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Yet another wonderful project Nicegirl! You have the talent of always making things to suit your figure and style, I always enjoy every project you make!
8/21/08 5:56 PM
dbsewer said...
When I saw this pattern in BWOF I, too, thought knit. You did a beautiful job and I love how you're taking us along on your trip via your fashion photos. The dress looks great on you. What a difference fabric and ingenuity can make in transforming a wedding gown into something you can wear every day.
8/21/08 7:18 PM
Lori V said...
Great lookng dress, it looks fantastic on you.
8/21/08 7:19 PM
ocotillo said...
Beautiful! It really flatters you. I'm disappointed that BWOF didn't include size 34 with this one, because I would make it!
8/21/08 7:49 PM
Natasha B said...
This dress is great and really suits you. Your photos are very helpful, great knit binding techniques. I wish the pattern came smaller too!
8/21/08 7:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Great dress!
8/21/08 8:17 PM
AnneM said...
I love, love, love this dress. I hope they come out w/ this in the envelopes, since I don't have this issue. Looks like an interesting trip as well.
8/21/08 8:26 PM
Miz Lolly said...
What a great dress! I love this pattern and have a version half-way finished and buried under 3 other projects. Thanks for inspiring me to finish!
8/21/08 8:29 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Nicegirl! The first things that I noticed about this dress in your photo, before reading the review, were the fabric and the sleeves. The sleeves really drew me in and I'm so glad you emphasized them. They ARE fabulous! This dress suits you really well. Great work!
8/21/08 9:12 PM
rosannec said...
fabulous! the main pic is definitely retro fantasy with the helmet & the shades...Also, I'm really glad you had success in a knit; those that made this one in a woven commented on how little ease there is in the hip region vs other dresses of similar style from WoF. I loved the look but feared the alterations. Your knit may work for me yet! Thanks for the review!
8/21/08 9:34 PM
Schnauzer said...
A really lovely dress!
8/21/08 11:43 PM
MarijaSLO said...
You rule!
8/22/08 3:21 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous dress, and I love your choice of photo!!
8/22/08 7:11 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
You're right about this dress - you must make it again as it looks great on you!
8/22/08 7:55 AM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, your version is spectacular! I adore it more than Burdie's!
8/22/08 7:59 AM
inkstain said...
Great dress, hysterical photo. Thanks
8/22/08 8:48 AM
cindyann said...
This dress is so YOU! I can see why you were drawn to it. Perfect in a knit.
8/22/08 10:15 AM
Marji said...
The dress looks great on you - and you crack me up with your photo-shoots.
8/22/08 11:11 AM
Elle D said...
Gorgeous, and so Combat Vogue. Oh, excuse me, "Combat Burda". It just doesn't sound the same.
8/22/08 11:52 AM
Speech girl said...
Your dress is beautiful. I love your idea of making it from a knit!
8/22/08 12:10 PM
Winifred said...
This is so very beautiful tho I hardly recognised you!! And you made it in a day ? I wish I could get a whole day - with DH around there are so many interruptions !
8/22/08 6:06 PM
Athene said...
I love your dress. This is one of my very favorite dresses from BWOF - although I have not yet made it, I am thrilled to know that it works well in knits as well as wovens. Thank you for the great review.
8/22/08 11:32 PM
Mufffet said...
How did I miss this great dress? Looks fantastic. Love the flutter sleeves. The helmet - well, somehow it sets it all off with those glasses. ;)
10/8/08 8:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Butterick 4684

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now