Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-116 (Duchess of Windsor Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1280 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/08 2:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
this is so beautiful and you look fantastic in it
8/21/08 3:06 PM
Barbara V said...
For as many darts as you describe, you sure sewed it up in a hurry! It looks great. I like the sleeves as well and the back without zipper.
8/21/08 3:24 PM
Elke said...
This looks gorgeous on you. It is very flattering in the short length.
8/21/08 3:32 PM
pinkli said...
Brilliant photo! Dress looks great, and so quickly made. The darts would put me off, but your version looks so handy that I could be persuaded...
8/21/08 3:37 PM
sewtime said...
Fantastic! You look great!
8/21/08 3:49 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, I loved the shape of this when I saw it in the magazine and it looks great made up in a knit.
8/21/08 3:54 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Thanks so much for posting this review! I loved that dress as soon as I saw it, but didn't think it would work on a bottom heavy figure. Now it's on my 'to sew' list again.
8/21/08 3:59 PM
Karen6790 said...
I did this dress in a woven, but I think you've convinced me it wants to be a knit next time around. This is too cute.
8/21/08 4:10 PM
Karendee said...
This is an adorable dress. It sounds like the perfect easy care solution to travel.
8/21/08 5:02 PM
chacha45 said...
Great review! Who but you could have imagined that the Duchess of Windsor dress would go so well with an army helmet? Been reading your blog. You are a good writer as well as sewist and cook. Love your sense of humor.
8/21/08 5:03 PM
Lynngray said...
Looks great on you. Wow looks like you had a great trip also. Thanks for review.
8/21/08 5:08 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress nicegirl !!!!
8/21/08 5:40 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Yet another wonderful project Nicegirl! You have the talent of always making things to suit your figure and style, I always enjoy every project you make!
8/21/08 5:56 PM
dbsewer said...
When I saw this pattern in BWOF I, too, thought knit. You did a beautiful job and I love how you're taking us along on your trip via your fashion photos. The dress looks great on you. What a difference fabric and ingenuity can make in transforming a wedding gown into something you can wear every day.
8/21/08 7:18 PM
Lori V said...
Great lookng dress, it looks fantastic on you.
8/21/08 7:19 PM
ocotillo said...
Beautiful! It really flatters you. I'm disappointed that BWOF didn't include size 34 with this one, because I would make it!
8/21/08 7:49 PM
Natasha B said...
This dress is great and really suits you. Your photos are very helpful, great knit binding techniques. I wish the pattern came smaller too!
8/21/08 7:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Great dress!
8/21/08 8:17 PM
AnneM said...
I love, love, love this dress. I hope they come out w/ this in the envelopes, since I don't have this issue. Looks like an interesting trip as well.
8/21/08 8:26 PM
Miz Lolly said...
What a great dress! I love this pattern and have a version half-way finished and buried under 3 other projects. Thanks for inspiring me to finish!
8/21/08 8:29 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Nicegirl! The first things that I noticed about this dress in your photo, before reading the review, were the fabric and the sleeves. The sleeves really drew me in and I'm so glad you emphasized them. They ARE fabulous! This dress suits you really well. Great work!
8/21/08 9:12 PM
rosannec said...
fabulous! the main pic is definitely retro fantasy with the helmet & the shades...Also, I'm really glad you had success in a knit; those that made this one in a woven commented on how little ease there is in the hip region vs other dresses of similar style from WoF. I loved the look but feared the alterations. Your knit may work for me yet! Thanks for the review!
8/21/08 9:34 PM
Schnauzer said...
A really lovely dress!
8/21/08 11:43 PM
MarijaSLO said...
You rule!
8/22/08 3:21 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous dress, and I love your choice of photo!!
8/22/08 7:11 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
You're right about this dress - you must make it again as it looks great on you!
8/22/08 7:55 AM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, your version is spectacular! I adore it more than Burdie's!
8/22/08 7:59 AM
inkstain said...
Great dress, hysterical photo. Thanks
8/22/08 8:48 AM
cindyann said...
This dress is so YOU! I can see why you were drawn to it. Perfect in a knit.
8/22/08 10:15 AM
Marji said...
The dress looks great on you - and you crack me up with your photo-shoots.
8/22/08 11:11 AM
Elle D said...
Gorgeous, and so Combat Vogue. Oh, excuse me, "Combat Burda". It just doesn't sound the same.
8/22/08 11:52 AM
Speech girl said...
Your dress is beautiful. I love your idea of making it from a knit!
8/22/08 12:10 PM
Winifred said...
This is so very beautiful tho I hardly recognised you!! And you made it in a day ? I wish I could get a whole day - with DH around there are so many interruptions !
8/22/08 6:06 PM
Athene said...
I love your dress. This is one of my very favorite dresses from BWOF - although I have not yet made it, I am thrilled to know that it works well in knits as well as wovens. Thank you for the great review.
8/22/08 11:32 PM
Mufffet said...
How did I miss this great dress? Looks fantastic. Love the flutter sleeves. The helmet - well, somehow it sets it all off with those glasses. ;)
10/8/08 8:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2475
photo
Review by JasperJ on 11/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7760
photo
Review by becca a on 2/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us