Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 965 (camisole and t-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 786 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:dbsewer
photo
Friend of PR
About dbsewerstar
MA USA
Member since: 1/16/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/08 9:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
greenandlilac said...
I'm sorry this didn't work. I think this is the funniest review I've read on this website yet. Maybe you could take in the sides and raise the neckline a little if you ever try it again. If not you could always sell it on the classifieds.
8/22/08 9:59 PM
katlew03 said...
I had a top turn out similar to this and it looks kind of like it is too wide across the top of the bust (bottom of armhole area). I trimmed out a little on the bottom of the armhole above the curve and then took in the upper side seam a slight amount before applying the binding. I don't know if this will solve your problem if you did a FBA. I am just the opposite since I am not especially well endowed up top. Try turning the material under a little along the armhole edge and pinching in the very top of the side seam and see if this makes it better or worse.
8/22/08 10:03 PM
Elona said...
Funnier than h*ll! I dunno; maybe you should just keep on essaying Jalie tops, because the entertainment value for us is great!
8/22/08 11:18 PM
Suesews said...
Thank you for the honest, extremely funny, well-written review. I do not think it is worth getting the tattoo to make the top work for you. But, it will work for someone!
8/23/08 0:04 AM
appleton78 said...
Very helpful, informative, and amusing review!!
8/23/08 9:00 AM
Karen8320 said...
DB, what a shame this did not work for you. I actually quite liked the print of the fabric because it appeared somewhat summery to me, although I didn't notice the sad face amongst the flowers. Maybe that was a sign that things weren't going to go too well for you with this top. There are many other tank top patterns out there that I'm sure you will have more success with than with this. Ditch this particular pattern, forget the tattoo, and hopefully you will find a more flattering pattern.
8/23/08 9:14 AM
shesflipped said...
This was laugh out loud, rolling on the floor, FUNNY! And here I was thinking I was the only other person who has had these kinds of sewing experiences! Please keep up the good (or bad) work, 'cuz it's a real hoot.
8/23/08 11:45 AM
Linda E. said...
I love your fabric.. I am sorry the pattern didn't work.. If you can't get the top to work maybe can recycle the fabric making a t shirt using a solid color for sleeves and such.. just a suggestion.
8/23/08 2:57 PM
Leora said...
I made a lot of changes to mine so thought I would share. I lowered the neckline and that helped with the proportion. Then I added a FBA at the sideseam and folded the dart into the pattern and taped it (I can see how using an armhole dart made it too big) before cutting the fabric. The sides need a little added curve and voila! finally, a good looking tank. I'll put together a review eventually but just wanted to encourage you to give it another try.... just not in a rib knit. Ask me how I know!!
8/23/08 4:26 PM
AnneM said...
You certainly got the print placement correct on this! It is the "straight" part that is the problem, I think, since you aren't straight. Perhaps curve the side a bit more. And WNTW mentions using a lower scoop neck for a larger bust.
8/23/08 7:25 PM
cecelia said...
Well, it looks very cute on Helga. Sorry it didn't work for you because it's such a fun print. We all have out wadders, so just move on and don't feel bad. I had 4 in a row a while back!
8/24/08 2:44 PM
JanieBee said...
Love your comments!
1/21/10 8:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/4/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2885
photo
Review by knitmachin... on 7/17/12
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us