SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 965 (camisole and t-shirt)

29 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:dbsewer
photo

 
 
About dbsewerstar
MA USA
Member since: 1/16/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/08 9:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
greenandlilac said...
I'm sorry this didn't work. I think this is the funniest review I've read on this website yet. Maybe you could take in the sides and raise the neckline a little if you ever try it again. If not you could always sell it on the classifieds.
8/22/08 9:59 PM
katlew03 said...
I had a top turn out similar to this and it looks kind of like it is too wide across the top of the bust (bottom of armhole area). I trimmed out a little on the bottom of the armhole above the curve and then took in the upper side seam a slight amount before applying the binding. I don't know if this will solve your problem if you did a FBA. I am just the opposite since I am not especially well endowed up top. Try turning the material under a little along the armhole edge and pinching in the very top of the side seam and see if this makes it better or worse.
8/22/08 10:03 PM
Elona said...
Funnier than h*ll! I dunno; maybe you should just keep on essaying Jalie tops, because the entertainment value for us is great!
8/22/08 11:18 PM
Suesews said...
Thank you for the honest, extremely funny, well-written review. I do not think it is worth getting the tattoo to make the top work for you. But, it will work for someone!
8/23/08 0:04 AM
appleton78 said...
Very helpful, informative, and amusing review!!
8/23/08 9:00 AM
Karen8320 said...
DB, what a shame this did not work for you. I actually quite liked the print of the fabric because it appeared somewhat summery to me, although I didn't notice the sad face amongst the flowers. Maybe that was a sign that things weren't going to go too well for you with this top. There are many other tank top patterns out there that I'm sure you will have more success with than with this. Ditch this particular pattern, forget the tattoo, and hopefully you will find a more flattering pattern.
8/23/08 9:14 AM
shesflipped said...
This was laugh out loud, rolling on the floor, FUNNY! And here I was thinking I was the only other person who has had these kinds of sewing experiences! Please keep up the good (or bad) work, 'cuz it's a real hoot.
8/23/08 11:45 AM
Linda E. said...
I love your fabric.. I am sorry the pattern didn't work.. If you can't get the top to work maybe can recycle the fabric making a t shirt using a solid color for sleeves and such.. just a suggestion.
8/23/08 2:57 PM
Leora said...
I made a lot of changes to mine so thought I would share. I lowered the neckline and that helped with the proportion. Then I added a FBA at the sideseam and folded the dart into the pattern and taped it (I can see how using an armhole dart made it too big) before cutting the fabric. The sides need a little added curve and voila! finally, a good looking tank. I'll put together a review eventually but just wanted to encourage you to give it another try.... just not in a rib knit. Ask me how I know!!
8/23/08 4:26 PM
AnneM said...
You certainly got the print placement correct on this! It is the "straight" part that is the problem, I think, since you aren't straight. Perhaps curve the side a bit more. And WNTW mentions using a lower scoop neck for a larger bust.
8/23/08 7:25 PM
cecelia said...
Well, it looks very cute on Helga. Sorry it didn't work for you because it's such a fun print. We all have out wadders, so just move on and don't feel bad. I had 4 in a row a while back!
8/24/08 2:44 PM
JanieBee said...
Love your comments!
1/21/10 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Simple Modern Sewing

photo
by: Nancywin

Review
Simplicity 2561

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now