Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: #150 pg. 74 (Eyelet Dress w. Tucks) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 489 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/08 9:31 AM
Last Updated:8/27/08 9:53 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
I'm glad you stuck with this despite the difficulty. The outcome is great! Maybe after you move on to the next project, you'll grow to love it! I sure do! Great job.
8/24/08 9:50 AM
Frogstitcher said...
So very lovely and feminine. You were definitely right in all your fit adjustments; tailored is so much nicer than saggy. I also think that you're right in diagnosing the "problem" in the back. It looks like if you extend the tucks to make them a little longer the issue should repair itself. Thank you for another fantastic MS Stylebook review. -Lisa-
8/24/08 10:15 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I love the tucks that create the top of this dress. The look is great. I also agree that this would make a really nice top.
8/24/08 10:29 AM
Mahler said...
Your back ! I was missing your review. I always love to see your creations, sewing or knitting. This is a very original and feminine dress. I hope you can find the clue on how to fix the back the way you want it. The necklace and the shoes are such a nice fit with the dress. Your are very talented ! Thank you for sharing your exquisite work. Süss !
8/24/08 10:30 AM
PsychedOnSewing said...
Sehr chic! I really appreciate the Mrs. Stylebook review too.
8/24/08 10:30 AM
mastdenman said...
How cute! I love Mrs. Stylebook. I think the puffiness in the back side is just part of the style and gives room to move around when you are wearing the dress.
8/24/08 10:48 AM
sewtime said...
The finished dress is fabulous! Love the pin- tucks. You did a great job!
8/24/08 11:25 AM
MissCelie said...
Everything you make from MSB is so stinking cute. I also love your styling of it!
8/24/08 11:32 AM
cindyann said...
It's fresh and pretty. Very nice.
8/24/08 11:38 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely dress, really something special. It's very nice on you. The hard work paid off.
8/24/08 12:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hey, you're back! Yeah! Lovely, lovely, lovely!
8/24/08 12:10 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!!! I just LOVE it!!!! You did an excellent job!!!! Your accessories are PERFECT!!!!
8/24/08 1:47 PM
wreninrome said...
wow...first i love the dress...then i love your garden
8/24/08 4:51 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
LOVE the tucks, love the changes you made!
8/24/08 5:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
Fantastic dress! Its really impressive that you have the skill to do a MSB, their patterns look so original. lovely job!
8/24/08 7:11 PM
kerrynw said...
Cute, cute, cute! Love your dress and love your photography and presentation.
8/24/08 9:15 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, it looks fantastic on you. I really like your staging of the dress with the accessories
8/25/08 7:10 AM
Mufffet said...
Oh my - this is so beautiful and so delicate. What a nice job you did, and it looks lovely.
8/25/08 8:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is adorable. I'm so jealous you can sew Miss Stylebook. very impressive work.
8/26/08 0:53 AM
merteuil said...
This is so lovely! And it fits beautifully!
8/27/08 10:26 AM
kim*brown said...
Love the photos, and very cute dress, looks lovely on your skin and with your hair color.
8/27/08 10:41 AM
nicegirl said...
Oooooh, Misses Style Book. I'm not worthy! Fun dress and good perseverance.
8/27/08 11:27 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress! I'm glad you solve the little "backside" problem. :o)
8/28/08 0:41 AM
MarmotaB said...
I love it... I'm not going to use the dress pattern anytime soon, but I wondered about the underdress, as I plan some dresses that would require something like that. Is it just pull-on, or does it require a zipper?
6/14/09 7:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's m6508
photo
Review by creatarian on 2/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8817 Misses Top
photo
Review by jlg on 7/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us