SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2998 

6 more reviews
Viewed 331 times 
Reviewed by:kasizzle
photo

 
 
About kasizzlestar
FL USA
Member since: 6/9/07
Reviews written: 19
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/08 6:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
It looks very good. But I do understand the disappointment about the large neckline. I continually have this issue with patterns. Being plus-size, it is even worse. But, I have to say, your neckline doesn't look overly large, even though you may be disappointed.
8/30/08 9:43 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it's cute! I love the color, and you did a really nice job getting that fussy rayon perfectly together. Give it a week or two and I think you might see it with new eyes.
8/27/08 11:32 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It looks fine on you - but - I think with some alterations it would even look better. I agree with the others that the sleeve looks a bit too wide and should be re-drafted. Great review.
8/27/08 10:51 AM
moushka said...
It's very cute on you and the colour is wonderful. The sleevebands are a little large. If you're willing to take the time to re-cut them and size them down, I think you'd like the top much better. Shame to waste such lovely fabric. Good luck!
8/27/08 10:48 AM
sewsewboy said...
Like the others I think it looks good. Its very current to what is out there in the retail market. Perhaps its a styling issue. Yes, it is drapy, why not try a belt??? A menswear vest over the shirt to contain the volume??? Wear it out a couple of times, see what type of reaction you get from friends and then determine whether its a keeper. Good job.
8/26/08 10:55 PM
annie1129 said...
It's really cute on you. The only thing that could be taken in would be the sleeve band -- otherwise it's really pretty -- and you look great in it!
8/26/08 9:40 PM
jnamcd said...
I think it is pretty on you. Maybe the picture makes it look good --I don't notice too much (except the wide band--and it isn't that big of a deal) how much fabric there is on the sleeve. Maybe you could change the band somehow? --And even if you don't, I still think it looks cute on you!
8/26/08 9:22 PM
Catbird said...
I hate to disappoint, but I like it on you! The color and the easy drape of the rayon knit is lovely and flattering. I wonder if a belt would make you feel less like you're floating in fabric? In any case, I think you've got a winner there.
8/26/08 8:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Other 102497641

photo
by: Terri A

Review
McCall's 6136

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info