SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2998 

6 more reviews
Viewed 330 times 
Reviewed by:kasizzle
photo

 
 
About kasizzlestar
FL USA
Member since: 6/9/07
Reviews written: 19
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/08 6:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
I hate to disappoint, but I like it on you! The color and the easy drape of the rayon knit is lovely and flattering. I wonder if a belt would make you feel less like you're floating in fabric? In any case, I think you've got a winner there.
8/26/08 8:26 PM
jnamcd said...
I think it is pretty on you. Maybe the picture makes it look good --I don't notice too much (except the wide band--and it isn't that big of a deal) how much fabric there is on the sleeve. Maybe you could change the band somehow? --And even if you don't, I still think it looks cute on you!
8/26/08 9:22 PM
annie1129 said...
It's really cute on you. The only thing that could be taken in would be the sleeve band -- otherwise it's really pretty -- and you look great in it!
8/26/08 9:40 PM
sewsewboy said...
Like the others I think it looks good. Its very current to what is out there in the retail market. Perhaps its a styling issue. Yes, it is drapy, why not try a belt??? A menswear vest over the shirt to contain the volume??? Wear it out a couple of times, see what type of reaction you get from friends and then determine whether its a keeper. Good job.
8/26/08 10:55 PM
moushka said...
It's very cute on you and the colour is wonderful. The sleevebands are a little large. If you're willing to take the time to re-cut them and size them down, I think you'd like the top much better. Shame to waste such lovely fabric. Good luck!
8/27/08 10:48 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It looks fine on you - but - I think with some alterations it would even look better. I agree with the others that the sleeve looks a bit too wide and should be re-drafted. Great review.
8/27/08 10:51 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it's cute! I love the color, and you did a really nice job getting that fussy rayon perfectly together. Give it a week or two and I think you might see it with new eyes.
8/27/08 11:32 AM
Steffie said...
It looks very good. But I do understand the disappointment about the large neckline. I continually have this issue with patterns. Being plus-size, it is even worse. But, I have to say, your neckline doesn't look overly large, even though you may be disappointed.
8/30/08 9:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5209

photo
by: thesewingl...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now