Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: 110 (Maia Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 796 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:MarilynB
photo
Friend of PR
About MarilynBstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 6:06 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 6:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful jacket! It looks like it exquisitely constructed - excellent job! Love the buttons, beautiful touch.
8/29/08 7:10 PM
cmarie12 said...
Beautiful jacket Marilyn! I have had this pattern for some time and have never taken it out of the pkg. It is good to see your version!
8/29/08 7:12 PM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your review.
8/29/08 7:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Really beautiful jacket with superb fit. A winner on you!
8/29/08 8:13 PM
washer_woman said...
Absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing this review!
8/29/08 8:25 PM
Kay Y said...
"Ladylike" is the perfect word to describe this. You achieved a beautiful fit!
8/29/08 9:23 PM
AmyG said...
Lovely! Exquisite craftsmanship!
8/29/08 9:34 PM
RMJ said...
Very nice fitted jacket - and you've introduced me to a pattern company I hadn't heard of before. Nice to know they have great instructions.
8/29/08 9:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely beautiful. All your muslins were worth it - you got a beautiful fit, and you will wear this forever.
8/29/08 10:22 PM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful jacket! The fit is great.
8/29/08 10:44 PM
Robyn16626 said...
Well done, this is just lovely. Thanks for introducing me to LaFred patterns, too.
8/30/08 0:02 AM
Ann B. said...
What a pretty jacket. It looks just perfect, you'll enjoy wearing it.
8/30/08 0:11 AM
ryansmumAria said...
FABULOUS! You are such a pretty lady...
8/30/08 0:24 AM
lark said...
Beautiful! I have been wanting to make this for awhile now, and have even taken a few different classes with Fred. Your jacket has inspired me to get that pattern.
8/30/08 0:25 AM
CynthiaSue said...
thank you for introducing me to La Fred. Very professional outcome. looks absolutely amazing.
8/30/08 0:47 AM
Annette1 said...
What a SHARP, SHARP jacket. Fits you PERFECTLY, and look how nice it looks in the BACK with your hair, too? :o) I LOVE IT!
8/30/08 1:02 AM
Lori V said...
What a beautiful jacket and such a wonderful fit.
8/30/08 2:58 AM
Margie T said...
Beautifully made jacket. Congratulations.
8/30/08 3:56 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Lovely jacket. Your sewing is exquisite. Would you leave your sewing skills to me in your will?
8/30/08 6:38 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket..very classy.
8/30/08 8:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. I have had this pattern forever and yet to make it. Yours is inspiring,
8/30/08 8:19 AM
jbrewer said...
Wow, it just looks beautiful on you! Excellent job fitting yourself.
8/30/08 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great fit. The buttons add such a nice touch - I think you will get a lot of wear out of this jacket
8/30/08 9:35 AM
cathy45 said...
Stunning jacket! Beautifully sewn and the pattern has such great lines. It's very flattering on you.
8/30/08 9:56 AM
cecelia said...
You're right--this is certainly a lady-like jacket. It's lovely and looks wonderful on you. The buttons really set it off.
8/30/08 10:34 AM
Kellie R. said...
I really like your jacket! It's such a great design - the styling, your fabric choice... and those pockets are clever! Youve achieved outstanding fit. Great job all around.
8/30/08 11:01 AM
cindyann said...
Marilyn, it's fantastic! I love everything about it. Beautiful work. You've convinced me, I need this pattern.
8/30/08 11:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the material and the style on you!
8/30/08 3:07 PM
Amanda S. said...
Really great! I love the style with all those buttons. The fit is wonderful.
8/30/08 5:35 PM
Karendee said...
Your jacket is beautifully made and looks lovely on you. Your planned wool version should be a nice wardrobe addition.
8/30/08 8:11 PM
wreninrome said...
very nice and attractive
8/30/08 8:59 PM
Athene said...
A very attractive and beautifully fitted jacket. Definitely worth the time it took to make the muslins.
8/31/08 1:52 AM
KarmenG said...
What a lovely jacket - your workmanship is superior and the fit is perfect. Nice work!
8/31/08 6:54 AM
PegL said...
Your jacket is stunning! Can't wait to see the wool version!
9/1/08 5:44 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a lovely jacket. The design is gorgeous and your sewing and fitting skills really show it off. Well done.
9/1/08 11:51 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous jacket, the fit is on the money ! Can't wait to see your "wool " version.
9/5/08 5:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful! Your linen is gorgeous and perfect for the style. Good move to lengthen the sleeves. You really nailed the fit on this.
9/6/08 10:45 AM
blue mooney said...
This is a great style on you, and the fit is really refined! Nice job! Has anyone told you you look like Helen Mirren in your avatar?
9/7/08 9:44 AM
MarilynB said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments. Blue Mooney, yes, other PR members have told me that I look like HM, I only wish I had her bikini body.
9/7/08 2:24 PM
trishapatk said...
This is an extraordinarily lovely jacket. Beautiful workmanship also.
9/8/08 10:35 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Magnificent. Very classy. excellent skills shown
9/9/08 0:13 AM
cindy-lou said...
Marilyn, your jacket is absolutely stellar. I agree with you that the closely-set buttons and the pocket placement really set this jacket apart. This is really a gorgeous garment!
9/11/08 10:10 PM
denese said...
i made the skirt that matches would love to try the jacket but not sure my skills are good enough very very professional looking
9/12/08 4:44 AM
Michelle99 said...
Wow! This is beautiful. And so flattering too. I agree that the seams, both front- and back-side really make this jacket.
9/16/08 8:09 AM
JamieLiz said...
This is really a beautiful jacket. Beautiful style, beautiful fit, perfect fabric.
10/7/08 12:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4443 Dress
photo
Review by fourkid on 8/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6894 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 1/16/12
Read Review

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us