SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Produce Bag (Produce Bag)

Viewed 324 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 350
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 251
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 4:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorrieAnn said...
Great idea! You are going to have a lot of people copying these!
9/4/08 5:18 PM
zinnia said...
Thank you for sharing your wonderful idea!
9/4/08 5:25 PM
kim*brown said...
Great idea! I love this. I will definitely be doing this and my Walmart has $1.00 yd sheer fabric at this moment, so this will be a steal to make! Thanks so much for your review!
9/4/08 5:39 PM
Rebecca D said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing these, I see my xmas list shaping up.
9/4/08 5:48 PM
Deepika said...
kim, my fabric was $4 but I will be on the hunt for some $1 fabric too. Make sure that its the lightest fabric you can find. You dont want to add weight to the scale.
9/4/08 6:09 PM
zinnia said...
Do you think a bridal Illusion would work for this bag?
9/4/08 7:23 PM
Terri A said...
Wow cool!
9/4/08 7:59 PM
Catbird said...
This is a revelation to me. I always use cloth grocery bags but have never thought of making produce bags that can be used over and over. I love it!
9/4/08 8:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
What a cool idea - I hadn't thought about making produce bags. Must go through the stash now . ..
9/4/08 8:28 PM
Lynnelle said...
Good idea. I have been trying to reuse my plastic produce bags to cut down on consumption and waste. The problem is I forget to bring the darn things with me. I'll need to make a lot of these and keep them in the trunk with my Trader Joe bags.
9/4/08 8:35 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I have sooo many reusable grocery bags but no reusable produce bags. This is a great idea, I'm making some too, asap!
9/5/08 2:02 AM
diane s said...
Great to see your bags, I'm in the middle of making some out of nylon net.
9/5/08 3:01 AM
sarahb said...
ooh, my very green sister would love a bunch of these for xmas, let us know the reaction at the grocery store!!
9/5/08 7:35 AM
donna mel said...
GREAT!! you WILL be getting the eye roll at the checkout! be the trend setter and next thing you know these bags will be for sale at the checkout counter! i'm making some myself.
9/5/08 7:36 AM
BettyMike said...
thanks Deepika. I've thought for a couple of years that I should make something like this, just wasn't sure what fabric to use. I'll be on the lookout for sheer fabric!
9/5/08 1:15 PM
nadinec said...
I whipped some up out of organza (which was wider than the chiffon Joann's had). I used them for the first time last night at Safeway. Alas, no female checkers were at any of the checkouts, so I thought I wouldn't get any comments. But the young, male bagger I wound up with made a BIG fuss over them! He thought they were just the best thing ever! Thanks, Deepika - now I have the prettiest produce bags around - pale pink, blue, lavendar, green, and yellow :-)
9/12/08 10:06 AM
Deepika said...
Wow that is so cool Nadine. I still haven't inaugurated my bags. Going to a nearby farmers market right now so they'll be quite useful. I gotta make more of these. And I think they'll make great gifts for eco-minded people.
9/13/08 10:37 AM
nadinec said...
Deepika - I'm headed to our local Farmer's Market right now, with some more I made just this morning. So did yours get rave reviews yesterday? :-)
9/14/08 1:27 PM
Deepika said...
Well I ended up going to the farmer's market too yesterday but there nobody noticed them. But my husband did say, "what's that fancy bag the cherry tomatoes are in". So I told him that I made it to discontinue the use of plastic produce bags. I dont know if he was impressed but he did look at me in disbelief ;-)
9/15/08 8:56 AM
Hilary said...
This is such a great idea, I need to make a bunch of these! LOL about your DH's reaction (sounds like my DH, he thinks I'm nuts :o) )
10/9/08 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
Hilary, these bags are great. Only thing is I need more! and I am thinking of making tiny ones too for herbs/garlic few onions etc. They passed beautifully at the grocery store too. The clerk was able to look at the produce inside the bag and ring it.
10/10/08 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6776

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now