SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6829 (Misses Tops and Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 630 times 
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:9/13/08 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CharityAK said...
I've been eyeing this pattern so I was really glad to read your helpful review and your advice regarding the modifications. I'm putting this one on my wish list and adding you to fav reviewers as I like a good chunk of your other items as well.
9/12/08 11:24 PM
1betsy1 said...
Very nice top. Thank you so much for the review. I purchased this patter yesterday, I am going to give it a try too.
9/13/08 1:25 AM
moushka said...
Great review and adorable top. Love your idea about changing the skirt grain and adding a zip. You might need a bit more room in the skirt if you cut it on-grain. I think it looks good on you but I agree about the bias clinging, especially in charmeuse. Great job!
9/13/08 1:35 AM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty top! I'd love to see another version of this after you've tinkered with it a bit.
9/13/08 11:52 AM
Karendee said...
That top IS soooo cute. Fix what you don't like, but I'd encourage you to make it again.
9/13/08 4:36 PM
ALY said...
I agree with you. This top is so cute. I had not seen this pattern yet. Yes bias tends to follow curves closely.
9/13/08 4:48 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty top! This is one I would like to make! Worth making again. It is darling and you can fix what you don't like. Cute!
9/13/08 6:30 PM
Rhoda K said...
I agree, very pretty top and it does look good one you. I like your comment '"There is something about bias skirts on less than perfect figures that can be kind of unflattering.'' That's what I'm afraid of!
9/13/08 6:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute top and helpful review, thanks! The issue with the bias skirt could be due to the fabric. I personally find shiny fabrics highlight my flaws, so maybe try another fabric before you give up on it.
9/22/08 5:24 AM
Ellinoora said...
Thanks for the review! I've almost finished version A of this pattern, without modifications, since I'm in a bit of a hurry and 22 seemed like a good enough match. I need it for an outside dress for a live action roleplaying event, so I made it out of double-sided curtain material which is pretty stiff. No problems with the bias cut, although someone commented (when I tried it on) that maybe I should take in the side seams some more.
11/17/08 9:35 AM
Powderpuffin said...
I was just about to cut this out and didn't like the thought of the bias cut. It looks great on you, but I don't think I'm up for all that work! Thank you - so helpful! I'll now cut it on grain with a zip.
10/25/09 3:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: Elemenopeo

Review