Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6829 (Misses Tops and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 626 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo
Friend of PR
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:9/13/08 6:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CharityAK said...
I've been eyeing this pattern so I was really glad to read your helpful review and your advice regarding the modifications. I'm putting this one on my wish list and adding you to fav reviewers as I like a good chunk of your other items as well.
9/12/08 11:24 PM
1betsy1 said...
Very nice top. Thank you so much for the review. I purchased this patter yesterday, I am going to give it a try too.
9/13/08 1:25 AM
moushka said...
Great review and adorable top. Love your idea about changing the skirt grain and adding a zip. You might need a bit more room in the skirt if you cut it on-grain. I think it looks good on you but I agree about the bias clinging, especially in charmeuse. Great job!
9/13/08 1:35 AM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty top! I'd love to see another version of this after you've tinkered with it a bit.
9/13/08 11:52 AM
Karendee said...
That top IS soooo cute. Fix what you don't like, but I'd encourage you to make it again.
9/13/08 4:36 PM
ALY said...
I agree with you. This top is so cute. I had not seen this pattern yet. Yes bias tends to follow curves closely.
9/13/08 4:48 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty top! This is one I would like to make! Worth making again. It is darling and you can fix what you don't like. Cute!
9/13/08 6:30 PM
Rhoda K said...
I agree, very pretty top and it does look good one you. I like your comment '"There is something about bias skirts on less than perfect figures that can be kind of unflattering.'' That's what I'm afraid of!
9/13/08 6:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute top and helpful review, thanks! The issue with the bias skirt could be due to the fabric. I personally find shiny fabrics highlight my flaws, so maybe try another fabric before you give up on it.
9/22/08 5:24 AM
Ellinoora said...
Thanks for the review! I've almost finished version A of this pattern, without modifications, since I'm in a bit of a hurry and 22 seemed like a good enough match. I need it for an outside dress for a live action roleplaying event, so I made it out of double-sided curtain material which is pretty stiff. No problems with the bias cut, although someone commented (when I tried it on) that maybe I should take in the side seams some more.
11/17/08 9:35 AM
Powderpuffin said...
I was just about to cut this out and didn't like the thought of the bias cut. It looks great on you, but I don't think I'm up for all that work! Thank you - so helpful! I'll now cut it on grain with a zip.
10/25/09 3:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2008-122
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 2/3/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6808
photo
Review by pinkcatflo... on 6/27/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us