SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:Amy Elizabeth
photo

 
 
About Amy Elizabethstar
USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/08 1:51 PM
Last Updated:9/19/08 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
gorgeous dress...love the use of home dec with more design features
9/17/08 2:21 PM
Puppy said...
Very lovely and the setting for the photography is lovely too.
9/17/08 2:54 PM
Deepika said...
Wow this is gorgeous Amy! I would have never guessed that this is a home dec fabric. You are so creative!
9/17/08 8:34 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE this dress, too!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the fabric!!! Your pictures are GORGEOUS!!!!
9/17/08 11:17 PM
merteuil said...
Wonderful gown and beautiful pictures! I love the slashed sleeves with underlay!
9/18/08 3:13 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty. Would love to see closer-up photos, though. I'm nosey about your details, which sound just lovely.
9/18/08 7:54 AM
LuceLu said...
You do some lovely work. I think I have this pattern. I just need a good reason to make it up. Ack. right now I am in the planning stages of my first Margo Elizabethan costume.
9/18/08 7:56 AM
Luckylibbet said...
The sleeves are stupendous! Love the color and the trim options you chose. Great job!
9/18/08 12:23 PM
MamaSewing said...
The sleeve detail is gorgeous! Great job on both dresses.
9/19/08 11:50 AM
AliciaNoel said...
Beautiful work!
9/19/08 5:48 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thank you for your kind comments!! Nancy Anne, I added some "closer-up" details for you of the sleeve and the back!! And I also posted a picture of the two girls together on the other review. :)
9/19/08 8:11 PM
prokleta said...
That dress is simply stunning! Great job.
9/20/08 1:55 PM
MagpieJen said...
I love Regency fashion, and your gown is wonderful! I have the S&S version and I've made it, so I really appreciated your review and learning how the two patterns differed, as well as seeing the Simplicity pattern made up. Thank you!
9/20/08 2:13 PM
Costume Queen said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I know a lot of regency style gowns are incredibly unflattering, but this one looks wonderful on her! I also use home dec fabric for my costumes.
9/22/08 0:20 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dresses. Great sleeve detail. Interesting info on the patterns, also. Thanks for that link.
9/28/08 9:55 AM
Iain said...
Nice Frock! Yes I think this is the one I shall make at my college class. I could make it to fit my wife. I think a toile, of at least the top part, looks essential. Thanks Amy, your review has fired me up to have a go. There will be a tutor on hand if I mess up.
2/13/11 6:16 PM
Fairworthy said...
Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write everything down. All your information was an immense help to me and made my own sewing adventure of this dress a success! I even used the ribbon design idea. Wonderful job!!!
5/16/11 7:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8771

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now