SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:Amy Elizabeth
photo

 
 
About Amy Elizabethstar
USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/08 1:51 PM
Last Updated:9/19/08 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fairworthy said...
Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write everything down. All your information was an immense help to me and made my own sewing adventure of this dress a success! I even used the ribbon design idea. Wonderful job!!!
5/16/11 7:30 AM
Iain said...
Nice Frock! Yes I think this is the one I shall make at my college class. I could make it to fit my wife. I think a toile, of at least the top part, looks essential. Thanks Amy, your review has fired me up to have a go. There will be a tutor on hand if I mess up.
2/13/11 6:16 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dresses. Great sleeve detail. Interesting info on the patterns, also. Thanks for that link.
9/28/08 9:55 AM
Costume Queen said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I know a lot of regency style gowns are incredibly unflattering, but this one looks wonderful on her! I also use home dec fabric for my costumes.
9/22/08 0:20 AM
MagpieJen said...
I love Regency fashion, and your gown is wonderful! I have the S&S version and I've made it, so I really appreciated your review and learning how the two patterns differed, as well as seeing the Simplicity pattern made up. Thank you!
9/20/08 2:13 PM
prokleta said...
That dress is simply stunning! Great job.
9/20/08 1:55 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thank you for your kind comments!! Nancy Anne, I added some "closer-up" details for you of the sleeve and the back!! And I also posted a picture of the two girls together on the other review. :)
9/19/08 8:11 PM
AliciaNoel said...
Beautiful work!
9/19/08 5:48 PM
MamaSewing said...
The sleeve detail is gorgeous! Great job on both dresses.
9/19/08 11:50 AM
Luckylibbet said...
The sleeves are stupendous! Love the color and the trim options you chose. Great job!
9/18/08 12:23 PM
LuceLu said...
You do some lovely work. I think I have this pattern. I just need a good reason to make it up. Ack. right now I am in the planning stages of my first Margo Elizabethan costume.
9/18/08 7:56 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty. Would love to see closer-up photos, though. I'm nosey about your details, which sound just lovely.
9/18/08 7:54 AM
merteuil said...
Wonderful gown and beautiful pictures! I love the slashed sleeves with underlay!
9/18/08 3:13 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE this dress, too!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the fabric!!! Your pictures are GORGEOUS!!!!
9/17/08 11:17 PM
Deepika said...
Wow this is gorgeous Amy! I would have never guessed that this is a home dec fabric. You are so creative!
9/17/08 8:34 PM
Puppy said...
Very lovely and the setting for the photography is lovely too.
9/17/08 2:54 PM
wreninrome said...
gorgeous dress...love the use of home dec with more design features
9/17/08 2:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Folkwear 209

photo
by: patternadd...

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable Joni Bell Sleeve Blouse

photo
by: anniemolli...

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now