SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (Perfect Fit Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 766 times 
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/08 8:01 AM
Last Updated:9/20/08 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Congrats on your pants! Looks like you got great results.
10/1/08 11:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I always admire people who do pants. I'm still not quite brave enough, even though I have a pants pattern waiting for when I finally do work up the nerve. At any rate, your look really nice, and very versatile.
9/21/08 9:05 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, GREAT pants, Karen. I can't believe these are your first pair of pants. They look fantastic! I remember when Carolyn reviewed these, too, and I rushed right out and bought the pattern. :o) I haven't actually MADE them yet, but I love the cut of them and will get around to it someday. They're VERY flattering on you!
9/21/08 1:20 AM
Karendee said...
Fantastic job.
9/20/08 3:37 PM
tucci4me said...
Karen, looks like you have a nice pair of classic dress pants. Great job! I too have discovered recently that the proper rise and crotch depth go a long way toward finding a truly comfortable, flattering pants pattern.
9/20/08 3:29 PM
Christas said...
You look so stylish in your new pants!!!
9/20/08 2:24 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Those are your first pants???? Wow, they came out looking and fitting terrific! Very flattering.
9/20/08 2:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Karen, that's one pair of stylin' and rockin' pants! Fabulous fit and such a nicely sleek silhouette, emphasizing your long legs! You inspired me to sew a new pair! BTW: you should be Steve Perry's new songwriter....He will be inspired to rock back on stage!
9/20/08 12:26 PM
cecelia said...
Glad these worked for you. They look nice on you. I like the shirt too!
9/20/08 10:35 AM
carolynw said...
These look great Karen - I have since made the other view minus pleats and quite like that one too - actually am using this pattern today for yet another pair. After wearing the black ones I had reviewed I felt two front pleats were a bit much so did as you have done - eliminated one in favour of a dart the next time round. Nice when you find a great fitting pant pattern isn't it?
9/20/08 9:46 AM
mistygirl902 said...
These pants look great! I am in the process of making these myself, with pockets.(view B). Be aware that there is a drafting error in the pocket lining and side front pattern pieces. They do not match, so need to be redrafted. Also, the side front pattern piece is not multi-sized, so make sure it fits before cutting it out. I made a muslin for view A without pockets, but did not make a muslin for view B, so I had to do some creative alterations to get the pockets to work. Otherwise, it is a great pattern. I especially like the shape of the crotch curve.
9/20/08 9:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Pattern Magic: bamboo

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

More Info
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info