SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (Perfect Fit Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 766 times 
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/08 8:01 AM
Last Updated:9/20/08 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mistygirl902 said...
These pants look great! I am in the process of making these myself, with pockets.(view B). Be aware that there is a drafting error in the pocket lining and side front pattern pieces. They do not match, so need to be redrafted. Also, the side front pattern piece is not multi-sized, so make sure it fits before cutting it out. I made a muslin for view A without pockets, but did not make a muslin for view B, so I had to do some creative alterations to get the pockets to work. Otherwise, it is a great pattern. I especially like the shape of the crotch curve.
9/20/08 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
These look great Karen - I have since made the other view minus pleats and quite like that one too - actually am using this pattern today for yet another pair. After wearing the black ones I had reviewed I felt two front pleats were a bit much so did as you have done - eliminated one in favour of a dart the next time round. Nice when you find a great fitting pant pattern isn't it?
9/20/08 9:46 AM
cecelia said...
Glad these worked for you. They look nice on you. I like the shirt too!
9/20/08 10:35 AM
Heatherrique said...
Karen, that's one pair of stylin' and rockin' pants! Fabulous fit and such a nicely sleek silhouette, emphasizing your long legs! You inspired me to sew a new pair! BTW: you should be Steve Perry's new songwriter....He will be inspired to rock back on stage!
9/20/08 12:26 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Those are your first pants???? Wow, they came out looking and fitting terrific! Very flattering.
9/20/08 2:00 PM
Christas said...
You look so stylish in your new pants!!!
9/20/08 2:24 PM
tucci4me said...
Karen, looks like you have a nice pair of classic dress pants. Great job! I too have discovered recently that the proper rise and crotch depth go a long way toward finding a truly comfortable, flattering pants pattern.
9/20/08 3:29 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic job.
9/20/08 3:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, GREAT pants, Karen. I can't believe these are your first pair of pants. They look fantastic! I remember when Carolyn reviewed these, too, and I rushed right out and bought the pattern. :o) I haven't actually MADE them yet, but I love the cut of them and will get around to it someday. They're VERY flattering on you!
9/21/08 1:20 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I always admire people who do pants. I'm still not quite brave enough, even though I have a pants pattern waiting for when I finally do work up the nerve. At any rate, your look really nice, and very versatile.
9/21/08 9:05 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your pants! Looks like you got great results.
10/1/08 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6433

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Vogue Patterns 1205

photo
by: Ellenatlga

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now