SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3894 (3894 Khaliah Ali Collection)

4 more reviews
Viewed 489 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/08 4:32 PM
Last Updated:9/20/08 4:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luray said...

2/21/09 6:35 AM
AnneM said...
New sewing notion: the serenity prayer. Love the results, what a nice idea to make the sheer jacket.
10/1/08 11:18 AM
tr1c14 said...
Really nice! I have this pattern in my stash and now that I've seen it for real, I think I'm going to have to try it.
9/25/08 1:27 PM
Karendee said...
I really love this top!
9/21/08 7:08 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful top. It looks perfect on you. You handled the fabric so well - I have yet to take on such a difficult fabric.
9/21/08 12:48 PM
valerie sews said...
Very nice top. I like your floaty material. Thanks for your review.
9/21/08 5:27 AM
marec said...
K_sew, this one is my work version which I wear with various colored tanks. I teach junior high and while I like to wear sporty clothes, I also don't want everything visible as I bend, twist and lean over tables. :-) I sewed another version in a black and white floral which is more sophisticated. Janice, altering the drape was pretty easy. I altered the pattern pieces of the other four panels by shortening then by approx. 1/3rd. I tried to alter the drape pattern piece but it wasn't very obvious as it is an irregularly shaped triangle. So, I just cut it out as the regular pattern size, basted it to the four panels (which were sewn together first), and then cut the drape at an angle to match the panel angle. No math, no real measuring...just used a ruler and pencil and scissors. Who would know that I didn't use a pattern? As long as the angles match, then the hems will match and all is good. :-)
9/20/08 11:16 PM
Athene said...
A wonderful looking coverup and very flattering.
9/20/08 10:04 PM
JaniceCB said...
How did you change the drape in front? I'm also petite and would like to make this jacket.
9/20/08 8:44 PM
K_sew said...
This is so attractive in a sheer. I would be interested in what fabric you used for the "work" version also.
9/20/08 8:34 PM
wreninrome said...
very pretty...i love the flow of the fabric
9/20/08 7:37 PM
AngieC said...
Looks lovely on you!
9/20/08 6:21 PM
sewtime said...
So cute!
9/20/08 5:31 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very attractive jacket and so versatile. I hesitate to try anything that sheer for the reasons you mentioned, but maybe one day . . . . .
9/20/08 5:30 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That is so pretty and wonderful that you made it your way. I would love one of these sheer things. I am glad to know that it can look so nice on a petite.
9/20/08 5:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick B4958

photo
by: material e...

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info