Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 905 (Fitted Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1017 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/08 8:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Thanks for the GREAT review, Nancy! Your jacket is beautiful and your feeling of success shines through. I've had this pattern for a while and now you've given me the inspiration to try it out.
9/23/08 8:39 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your jacket is elegant! Well worth the effort you put into it. Such a thorough review, too. Thanks for taking the time.
9/23/08 8:46 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, how wonderful to read about your pursuit of your perfect jacket. Good for you! You've done a great job here and you should definitely be feeling proud of yourself. All of your tailoring techniques have helped to give this a really professional look. Very, very well done!!!
9/23/08 9:06 PM
ryansmumAria said...
nancy, as always, a work of art!
9/23/08 9:17 PM
K_sew said...
How nice your jacket looks! It must be a wonderful feeling to have found a TNT pattern for your jackets. Thank you for the review; I really enjoyed reading about your "jacket journey."
9/23/08 9:21 PM
Lynnelle said...
Really nice jacket and review. Very well done.
9/23/08 9:33 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautiful jacket and great review!
9/23/08 10:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful jacket! Congratulations on taming the tailored jacket!
9/23/08 10:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
Congratulations! What a beautiful and very elegant jacket! You did an excellent job!
9/24/08 1:02 AM
sewtime said...
Great jackets. I love the style of them. You did a good job!
9/24/08 1:25 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Very nice jacket! I'll have to go get one of these patterns.
9/24/08 6:36 AM
appleton78 said...
Lovely jacket! You did a fabulous job! I have been sewing for what...100yrs?....and I still have not tackled a tailored jacket...I have a billion patterns for them...but have never worked up the guts. Way to go!!
9/24/08 8:05 AM
MarilynB said...
Thanks for such a great, detailed review. Your jacket is lovely.
9/24/08 8:11 AM
Patti B said...
Great jacket! Your muslins were worth the effort. I've wondered about her more structured jackets and your excellent review makes me want another pattern.
9/24/08 8:16 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Nancy, success was immanent with your level of persistance. Congratulations on completing your beautiful well fitting jacket. Your review is very inspirational and I'm sure we'll see several more reviews of this pattern due to your high recommendation.
9/24/08 10:14 AM
carolynw said...
I would say you hit the jackpot with this - your jacket is really wonderful - so professional!! You will get lots of wear out of this I am sure - elegant and classy
9/24/08 10:44 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wonderful jacket - good for you for not giving up - this one is well worth your effort!!
9/24/08 11:29 AM
Heatherrique said...
What a headturner of a jacket, Nancy! Before you know it, you will be hooked on making more!
9/24/08 11:49 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you all for your very generous compliments. I think this is a great basic pattern and well worth investing in even if you've never sewn a jacket before.
9/24/08 1:05 PM
Bernadette W said...
Wow- and I would not call Jackets 1 and 2 Muslins--wear those proudly as well!
9/24/08 1:58 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations! This jacket is beautiful- and such a wonderful detail with that one glorious button. Your review is a testament to the fact that setting goals and keeping at it always pays off. You should be justly proud. Thank you for a wonderful review.
9/24/08 2:43 PM
Winifred said...
This jacket is so lovely Nancy, professional and chic ! Its gone on my wish list even tho i have loads of Jacket Patterns already and many on the list too !!
9/24/08 5:28 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Nancy, Thanks so much for this thorough review!!! I have this pattern and have put off making it--it seemed slightly 'dated' to me. But now it is DEFINITELY going on my 'to sew' list. I love the one button look that you created. I like that you share the sources for all the materials that you have used in your projects. I will use your review and hints as I sew! You are a great role model as you make the pattern several times until you have the techniques down perfectly. I wouldn't think to do that. So Helpful! Thanks again! Carla
9/24/08 5:44 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thank you for the review's thoroughness and specificity. And for the links to the shoulder pads, etc. The jacket is beautiful and you are right to be proud and excited about perfecting it.
9/24/08 8:18 PM
Athene said...
Wow this a a great jacket. Your perseverence paid off big time - now you have a wonderful TNT pattern .
9/24/08 10:41 PM
MissCelie said...
Beautiful jacket Nancy!
9/25/08 6:56 AM
amy in mpls said...
wow, fantastic job!
9/26/08 2:14 PM
Jane S said...
Nancy, your review is just as great as this beautiful jacket. You demonstrated why we sew...to make beautiful clothes but also to learn new techniques and stretch our abilities. Bravo.
9/27/08 9:48 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
Wonderful jacket. I think you made great choice opting for one button only. It makes it look very elegant and stylish.
9/28/08 10:48 AM
Karine said...
thanks for the review on this jacket - your links were helpful too. I absolutely love the lines on this jacket. I can understand why it has become your TNT.
9/28/08 12:38 PM
AnneM said...
It was work, but came out great. Congrats on your wonderful jacket.
10/8/08 6:39 AM
Nancywin said...
I have only tried the basewear 2, but love it. Thanks for the review. I think all of your jackets look great.
11/23/08 10:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Nancy, THANK you for your review of this jacket. I just saw this pattern on the screen and glad to revisit your gorgeous jacket and review. I am still on my quest to find THE jacket. RTW does not do it for me anymore. I just added this to my list.
12/6/09 11:45 AM
Bernie R. said...
Thanks for all the nice details about the pattern and your sewing trials. The jackets look GREAT!
8/26/10 0:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Sew Liberated growing up sew liberated cape
photo
Review by karrieperr... on 2/23/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1003 A-Line Skirt
photo
Review by cimmanon on 7/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us