SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8514 (Pullover tops)

2 more reviews
Viewed 551 times 
Reviewed by:Sewliz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sewlizstar
CO USA
Member since: 6/22/04
Reviews written: 45
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/08 3:54 PM
Last Updated:9/26/08 3:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Very cute top! Love your material. I also serge when ever I can!
9/26/08 5:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fresh and chic top, Liz!
9/26/08 5:43 PM
mssewcrazy said...
It's a shame you don't care for it as it is such a pretty top. Unfortunately I have sewn some I felt the same about which does make me feel like going back to the same old stuff.
9/26/08 7:18 PM
Gloria W said...
I love the back detail. Is that piping on the back yoke seam? I'd love to see a close up of the back.
9/26/08 11:37 PM
crystalwoods said...
I like the look of this top (and your fabric choice is great) do you think it would make up okay in a woven fabric. . .
9/27/08 1:07 AM
mastdenman said...
It looks cute. Seems like it would be a nice casual run around top.
9/27/08 1:16 AM
Sewliz said...
To answer questions, the top is pictured inside out to show the seam lines which I serged in black on this muslin. The print is so loud on the right side that everything is hidden. I think piping would look fabulous in the back yoke, good idea. A woven could work well I think, as long as you check to make sure there is enough ease in the shoulder and upper arm area.
9/27/08 9:57 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Like the style lines on the back and the sleeves - looks deceptively simple. Agree about ridiculous directions for knits! Techniques that my grandmother wouldn't even have used!
9/27/08 1:36 PM
AnneM said...
I really like the inside of your fabric. :) Very interesting pattern but I suspect I wouldn't like it on me. Your inside-out view makes me think some piping on that yoke seamline would make an excellent detail.
10/8/08 5:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-18

photo
by: myraminx

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-114

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now