Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stretch & Sew: 1500 (T-Shirt Dress and Top) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 4581 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/02 9:15 PM
Last Updated:9/8/02 11:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Deepika you dress is beautiful really looks good on you.
3/16/02 11:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Linda, It was really easy to sew.
3/16/02 11:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Now, that is a great way to come out of a sewing dry spell! The dress could not be cuter, I especially like the cap sleeves. Congrats!
3/17/02 1:02 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a cute dress!
3/17/02 9:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Love your dress
3/17/02 11:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love your dress also. PR is great!
3/17/02 12:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
great dress! i'm glad you're delighted with the pattern, too!
3/18/02 2:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great job on the dress and the review you wrote. The dress looks wonderful on you!
3/18/02 7:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, what a lovely dress! It looks great on you! What a versatile pattern - you'd hardly need any others (ha!).
3/18/02 9:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, this is one of my favorites also. I did the mock turtleneck dress, and also used the pattern to cut out a full, turn over turtleneck top. (I just measured the collar of one RTW I liked.) I also top stitch the collar using my knit twin needle, one needle on the garment and one on the collar. Looks very "Land's End".
9/9/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Deepika, it's really beautiful! I like the tops you got out of the same fabric as well.
9/9/02 0:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I get those wrinkles too. I'd love to know why. Don't vertical wrinkles usually mean too much width?
9/9/02 10:43 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes. that can cause this type of wrinkle. I find that many patterns are too wide across the upper chest-even when the back width is correct. You can check this by measuring how wide your upper chest is when your arms are at your sides. Compare this width to the upper chest of the front pattern piece. They need to be the same width for a wrinkle-free fit. This is one of the few cases where the garment measurement and your body measurement should be identical (or within a small fraction of an inch.) For a quick diagnostic check, try this: pin out 2 little vertical tucks in the top, one near each sleeve seam, then can you can see if the wrinkles are diminished.
9/9/02 11:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
P.S. I ordered this attern after Deepika's review. It was out of print, and I had to wait months until they printed more. Now that I have it, I am looking forward to using it soon.
9/9/02 12:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"near each sleeve seam, then can you can see if the wrinkles are diminished." Mini I tried this and you are right. It does remove the wrinkles. My next question: how do I alter the pattern to remove them permanently?
9/9/02 12:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, do you have Marcy Tilton's guide to sewing tops? She has a fix for this. It involves scooping out the armhole curve-only on the bodice front. This takes a little trial and error as the amount varies depending on your figure. If you doo the upper chest comparison I mentioned, you will see how much difference there is between you and the pattern. You will need to remove approximately 1/2 on each side. There are some other alteration methods, but I would have to look them up. This one has worked for me.
9/9/02 12:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
yes Mini, I have that book. I will check it and do the necessary alterations. Thanks!
9/9/02 12:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - beautiful shirt! It's hard to believe you've been sewing such a short time! Mini-thanks for the alteration tip - I've got that problem too!
9/9/02 2:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great shirt (& dress). I started using a twin needle after reading Connie Long's book on sewing with knits and have been very pleased with the results. It definitely adds that professional touch. I get those kind of wrinkles, too, and the wrinkle points to the problem. That means I have to do a full bust alteration when I run into that wrinkle. Marta Alto & Pati Palmer really get into the nitty gritty of that alteration in their newer fitting book (if I could keep only ONE sewing book in my collection, it would be that one). That wrinkles usually looks like you should just pinch out that excess in a dart but if you do a full bust alteration, it might take care of it. It seems weird, but the armhole won't wrinkle like that. Your shirt and dress look like the shoulder is slightly extended. You might need a little scooping that the others have mentioned as it will take out some of that extra width. Mini's suggestion might work, too. I just know if I get that type of wrinkle, then I know that particular pattern needs the full bust adjustment.
9/9/02 3:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I absolutely love that dress+ the color is great. Congrats!
9/9/02 3:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a great dress! I just looked at this pattern and really like the variety they have for necklines. especially the collared one. I sometimes get that wrinkle in the upper chest, but it's because I have so little to fill it up. I do a similar alteration to what Mini advised and it works well for me too. If you do this with a fitted sleeve though, you'll also need to check on the cap to make sure it will still be side enough... Don't forget, I did once, and it was a pain to try and squeeze out a bit more space in that cap.
9/9/02 6:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Deepika: Sometimes I get vertical wrinkles as well. You have gotten a lot of help with how to handle this on your next garment, but one thing that works for me on a finished garment is shoulder pads. I am not talking about "soldier shoulders, but a small pad (1/8 to 1/4th thickness) can do wonders. I don't know if this is appropriate for you, but it won't cost much to try it. Personally, I use small shoulder pads in almost all of my garments. Makes my 5"3' height look taller. And I LOVE looking taller. Give it a try :>) Michele
9/10/02 4:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Klutzy said...
I think this is the pattern I've been searching for to duplicate a $200 dress I fell in love with. Can these knits be sewn on a regular machine, and if so, are there instructions somewhere? I'm new here and can't post a question for a week! Who came up with that rule?!
10/13/06 8:00 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Looks like I need this pattern. I like the color of your shirt dress, looks very ready to wear and comfortable.
1/7/07 0:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us