SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:Bleurhapsody
photo

 
 
About Bleurhapsodystar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/6/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/08 9:03 PM
Last Updated:10/9/08 1:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
Love this dress!!! It does that "I'm a pain to sew" look about it, but the results are fabulous! Glad you toughed it out! :)
10/10/08 11:15 PM
emailtk said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!!! I love it!!!
10/10/08 7:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtaking and lively dress!
10/10/08 6:33 PM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/10/08 5:38 AM
Karen8320 said...
Even though the sewing may have been a bit of a trial, the upshot is that you now have the most AMAZING looking dress. This has so much of the WOW factor in it and it most certainly makes a statement. You've done a really fantastic job on this! Great work!
10/10/08 1:32 AM
Dei said...
Despite that gathering troubles this is fantastic. Your fabric selections takes this pattern to another level.
10/9/08 10:41 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Looks awesome. I have this dress from Maggy London's RTW collection from 2 years ago, and I always thought it would be sooo hard to sew. But I do love the dress, and I agree it's a flattering shape. Congrats on making it through those gathers in such fine style.
10/9/08 9:02 PM
Bleurhapsody said...
Thank you for the great comments .. for Birdie, there was nothing wrong with the pattern itself. The gathering was a headache only because of its placement; centre front symetrical. The first time I put it in it was slightly, and i mean a 1/4 inch, higher on the right, and the spread of gathering was correspondingly slightly uneven, but because of the placement those discrepancies were glaring ... so take the extra time to perfect, as much as possible, your gathers and this dress will reward you ... smiles
10/9/08 5:30 PM
Hanfaith said...
Gorgeous dress. The fabric is fabulous. Well worth all the sewing headaches!
10/9/08 4:24 PM
slanden99 said...
Great dress!
10/9/08 1:32 PM
Karendee said...
Sorry you didn't enjoy the sewing process, but the end result is fantastic.
10/9/08 1:12 PM
Birdie757 said...
This dress is great! I love the pattern of the print with the black neckband. I have been contemplating this pattern for some time. Do you think that your troubles were from errors in the pattern? A while back on Butterick's website there was a note on this pattern's page to send it back if it was purchased at a certain time and they would send a new one to you due to lots of errors that were present in the pattern. That is the reason I have hesitated to buy it on the chance I would get the old printing of the pattern.
10/9/08 8:55 AM
glenj said...
your dress really is a statement piece,the fabric choice was gutsy and it paid off.congratulations on a phenomenal dress.
10/9/08 5:35 AM
F and L said...
That is a stunning dress, even if it was a pain to sew.
10/9/08 4:15 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Fantastic dress!
10/9/08 2:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, your hard work really paid off, because this is a FANTASTIC dress!
10/8/08 1:02 PM
mamalobb said...
The gathers look perfect. I can see what you mean about being careful with them. Love the print.
10/8/08 11:41 AM
Bonnie O said...
Thank you so much for doing this review. I have had this sitting out to make for months and your review will be very helpful. I LOVE how your version turned out. Definitely worth your perseverance!
10/8/08 11:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very Groovy dress - I really like the black band. Enjoy wearing it!
10/8/08 10:53 AM
DivaQ said...
Great dress!
10/8/08 10:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You had great vision for this pattern- it looks completely different from the envelope front. The fabric is just lovely (Ann has fantastic stuff!)- I've always admired ladies who can pull this kind of a look off.
10/8/08 8:51 AM
nellc said...
Very nice dress, your attention to detail with the gathers has really paid off.
10/8/08 7:59 AM
donna mel said...
a beautiful dress - made better with your careful work. i'd love to see it on you.
10/8/08 7:40 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
10/8/08 2:50 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
While the sewing experience sounds a bit painful, your dress is wonderful; the fabric is so bold and eye catching, while the black trim calms the eye. A lovely combination, Lily
10/8/08 1:00 AM
AngieC said...
Wow! Your dress looks better than the envelope! Great review!
10/7/08 11:10 PM
sewtime said...
Worth the work. Pretty dress.
10/7/08 10:56 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, well worth all your efforts!
10/7/08 9:48 PM
kasizzle said...
It really is beautiful, even if it was a pain!
10/7/08 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

More Info
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

More Info