SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:Bleurhapsody
photo

 
 
About Bleurhapsodystar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/6/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/08 9:03 PM
Last Updated:10/9/08 1:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kasizzle said...
It really is beautiful, even if it was a pain!
10/7/08 9:35 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, well worth all your efforts!
10/7/08 9:48 PM
sewtime said...
Worth the work. Pretty dress.
10/7/08 10:56 PM
AngieC said...
Wow! Your dress looks better than the envelope! Great review!
10/7/08 11:10 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
While the sewing experience sounds a bit painful, your dress is wonderful; the fabric is so bold and eye catching, while the black trim calms the eye. A lovely combination, Lily
10/8/08 1:00 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
10/8/08 2:50 AM
donna mel said...
a beautiful dress - made better with your careful work. i'd love to see it on you.
10/8/08 7:40 AM
nellc said...
Very nice dress, your attention to detail with the gathers has really paid off.
10/8/08 7:59 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You had great vision for this pattern- it looks completely different from the envelope front. The fabric is just lovely (Ann has fantastic stuff!)- I've always admired ladies who can pull this kind of a look off.
10/8/08 8:51 AM
DivaQ said...
Great dress!
10/8/08 10:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very Groovy dress - I really like the black band. Enjoy wearing it!
10/8/08 10:53 AM
Bonnie O said...
Thank you so much for doing this review. I have had this sitting out to make for months and your review will be very helpful. I LOVE how your version turned out. Definitely worth your perseverance!
10/8/08 11:20 AM
mamalobb said...
The gathers look perfect. I can see what you mean about being careful with them. Love the print.
10/8/08 11:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, your hard work really paid off, because this is a FANTASTIC dress!
10/8/08 1:02 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Fantastic dress!
10/9/08 2:51 AM
F and L said...
That is a stunning dress, even if it was a pain to sew.
10/9/08 4:15 AM
glenj said...
your dress really is a statement piece,the fabric choice was gutsy and it paid off.congratulations on a phenomenal dress.
10/9/08 5:35 AM
Birdie757 said...
This dress is great! I love the pattern of the print with the black neckband. I have been contemplating this pattern for some time. Do you think that your troubles were from errors in the pattern? A while back on Butterick's website there was a note on this pattern's page to send it back if it was purchased at a certain time and they would send a new one to you due to lots of errors that were present in the pattern. That is the reason I have hesitated to buy it on the chance I would get the old printing of the pattern.
10/9/08 8:55 AM
Karendee said...
Sorry you didn't enjoy the sewing process, but the end result is fantastic.
10/9/08 1:12 PM
slanden99 said...
Great dress!
10/9/08 1:32 PM
Hanfaith said...
Gorgeous dress. The fabric is fabulous. Well worth all the sewing headaches!
10/9/08 4:24 PM
Bleurhapsody said...
Thank you for the great comments .. for Birdie, there was nothing wrong with the pattern itself. The gathering was a headache only because of its placement; centre front symetrical. The first time I put it in it was slightly, and i mean a 1/4 inch, higher on the right, and the spread of gathering was correspondingly slightly uneven, but because of the placement those discrepancies were glaring ... so take the extra time to perfect, as much as possible, your gathers and this dress will reward you ... smiles
10/9/08 5:30 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Looks awesome. I have this dress from Maggy London's RTW collection from 2 years ago, and I always thought it would be sooo hard to sew. But I do love the dress, and I agree it's a flattering shape. Congrats on making it through those gathers in such fine style.
10/9/08 9:02 PM
Dei said...
Despite that gathering troubles this is fantastic. Your fabric selections takes this pattern to another level.
10/9/08 10:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
Even though the sewing may have been a bit of a trial, the upshot is that you now have the most AMAZING looking dress. This has so much of the WOW factor in it and it most certainly makes a statement. You've done a really fantastic job on this! Great work!
10/10/08 1:32 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/10/08 5:38 AM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtaking and lively dress!
10/10/08 6:33 PM
emailtk said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!!! I love it!!!
10/10/08 7:48 PM
EveS said...
Love this dress!!! It does that "I'm a pain to sew" look about it, but the results are fabulous! Glad you toughed it out! :)
10/10/08 11:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Go To Patterns Go To Leggings

photo
by: kidmd

Review