Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5173 (Maggy London knit dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1032 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Bleurhapsody
photo
About Bleurhapsodystar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/6/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/08 9:03 PM
Last Updated:10/9/08 1:42 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kasizzle said...
It really is beautiful, even if it was a pain!
10/7/08 9:35 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, well worth all your efforts!
10/7/08 9:48 PM
sewtime said...
Worth the work. Pretty dress.
10/7/08 10:56 PM
AngieC said...
Wow! Your dress looks better than the envelope! Great review!
10/7/08 11:10 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
While the sewing experience sounds a bit painful, your dress is wonderful; the fabric is so bold and eye catching, while the black trim calms the eye. A lovely combination, Lily
10/8/08 1:00 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
10/8/08 2:50 AM
donna mel said...
a beautiful dress - made better with your careful work. i'd love to see it on you.
10/8/08 7:40 AM
nellc said...
Very nice dress, your attention to detail with the gathers has really paid off.
10/8/08 7:59 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You had great vision for this pattern- it looks completely different from the envelope front. The fabric is just lovely (Ann has fantastic stuff!)- I've always admired ladies who can pull this kind of a look off.
10/8/08 8:51 AM
DivaQ said...
Great dress!
10/8/08 10:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very Groovy dress - I really like the black band. Enjoy wearing it!
10/8/08 10:53 AM
Bonnie O said...
Thank you so much for doing this review. I have had this sitting out to make for months and your review will be very helpful. I LOVE how your version turned out. Definitely worth your perseverance!
10/8/08 11:20 AM
mamalobb said...
The gathers look perfect. I can see what you mean about being careful with them. Love the print.
10/8/08 11:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, your hard work really paid off, because this is a FANTASTIC dress!
10/8/08 1:02 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Fantastic dress!
10/9/08 2:51 AM
F and L said...
That is a stunning dress, even if it was a pain to sew.
10/9/08 4:15 AM
glenj said...
your dress really is a statement piece,the fabric choice was gutsy and it paid off.congratulations on a phenomenal dress.
10/9/08 5:35 AM
Birdie757 said...
This dress is great! I love the pattern of the print with the black neckband. I have been contemplating this pattern for some time. Do you think that your troubles were from errors in the pattern? A while back on Butterick's website there was a note on this pattern's page to send it back if it was purchased at a certain time and they would send a new one to you due to lots of errors that were present in the pattern. That is the reason I have hesitated to buy it on the chance I would get the old printing of the pattern.
10/9/08 8:55 AM
Karendee said...
Sorry you didn't enjoy the sewing process, but the end result is fantastic.
10/9/08 1:12 PM
slanden99 said...
Great dress!
10/9/08 1:32 PM
Hanfaith said...
Gorgeous dress. The fabric is fabulous. Well worth all the sewing headaches!
10/9/08 4:24 PM
Bleurhapsody said...
Thank you for the great comments .. for Birdie, there was nothing wrong with the pattern itself. The gathering was a headache only because of its placement; centre front symetrical. The first time I put it in it was slightly, and i mean a 1/4 inch, higher on the right, and the spread of gathering was correspondingly slightly uneven, but because of the placement those discrepancies were glaring ... so take the extra time to perfect, as much as possible, your gathers and this dress will reward you ... smiles
10/9/08 5:30 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Looks awesome. I have this dress from Maggy London's RTW collection from 2 years ago, and I always thought it would be sooo hard to sew. But I do love the dress, and I agree it's a flattering shape. Congrats on making it through those gathers in such fine style.
10/9/08 9:02 PM
Dei said...
Despite that gathering troubles this is fantastic. Your fabric selections takes this pattern to another level.
10/9/08 10:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
Even though the sewing may have been a bit of a trial, the upshot is that you now have the most AMAZING looking dress. This has so much of the WOW factor in it and it most certainly makes a statement. You've done a really fantastic job on this! Great work!
10/10/08 1:32 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/10/08 5:38 AM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtaking and lively dress!
10/10/08 6:33 PM
emailtk said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!!! I love it!!!
10/10/08 7:48 PM
EveS said...
Love this dress!!! It does that "I'm a pain to sew" look about it, but the results are fabulous! Glad you toughed it out! :)
10/10/08 11:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Kwik Sew 3740 Tops
photo
Review by SueT on 7/29/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tessuti Anita Ponti Pants
photo
Review by ajhewing on 6/2/13
Read Review

New Look 6305 Pattern
New Look 6305 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us