SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-114 (Knit top)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1071 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/08 11:15 AM
Last Updated:10/10/08 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2BSewing said...
I love your version of this knit top. I like the raised neckline. I actually like the ungathered top front. It makes it a unique top. I'm toying with the idea of making this (my 2nd BWOF project). Great review.
12/24/08 12:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
This is definitely on my to-do list now. Great work in altering the neckline. Don't feel bad, we've all done things like forgetting to put in gathers at one point or another. The top looks great on you.
10/13/08 9:37 AM
Nancy K said...
I have been pondering this pattern and how to raise the cf because as usual it is too low for mortals who have to wear bras! Your looks great. I am still up in the air about whether this will look good on me, so I may actually do a knit muslin. Thanks for the review
10/13/08 9:37 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks everyone. Yes Peaudane there is a lot of fabric in the upper sleeve which takes a bit of getting used to. Thats partly why I think this needs a very drapy fabric, but I do think it would be possible to take out some of the fullness. I also think if I had remembered to put in the front gathers that would work better.
10/13/08 8:23 AM
peaudane said...
Seeing this worn, I wonder if it might be better to reshape the dolman sleeve to take away some of the fullness in the upper part of the arm. What do you think?
10/12/08 5:56 AM
touran said...
Pretty and pretty fast. I'm excited to make this up too.
10/11/08 3:33 PM
cindyann said...
Now I'm really looking forward to getting my issue! Thanks for the review.
10/11/08 11:12 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful top, and the color is eye-catching!
10/11/08 11:10 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE that top!!! I plan on making this soon!!!
10/11/08 10:16 AM
EveS said...
This was one of the 1st patterns in this issue to catch my eye. Love your version...thanks for the tips!
10/10/08 10:55 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely top. Got my October WOF today and this went straight on my to sew list. Thanks for reviewing it, you have strengthened my resolve to do this one.
10/10/08 3:06 PM
Annette1 said...
This top is BEAUTIFUL. It's the PERFECT combination of drape and controlled fullness.
10/10/08 2:11 PM
peaudane said...
I really like your version! Just wondering, in the original version, does the tab go where the gathers in the front are? That would make the neckline really low!
10/10/08 2:02 PM
Karendee said...
lovely
10/10/08 1:22 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty! I want to make this up, too, but have been trying to figure out whether I want to do a modesty panel or modify the neckline to deal with the issue of how low-cut it is.
10/10/08 1:11 PM
cabinbaby said...
I am glad you are going to post an update when you wear it. It is always so hard to see what it really looks like on the form. I love it right now.
10/10/08 1:02 PM
Dei said...
Love this rich color. Looks good so far and can't wait to see how it looks on you.
10/10/08 12:49 PM
sewtime said...
This is a WOW! Pretty and bright! Love it.
10/10/08 12:27 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I just read through the directions for this one this morning. I'd love to see how it looks on you, so far it looks great on the mannequin!
10/10/08 12:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5858

photo
by: Alpinebixb...

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick B4147

photo
by: MissGibbs

Review