Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-114 (Knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1071 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/08 11:15 AM
Last Updated:10/10/08 11:14 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina Sonja said...
I just read through the directions for this one this morning. I'd love to see how it looks on you, so far it looks great on the mannequin!
10/10/08 12:10 PM
sewtime said...
This is a WOW! Pretty and bright! Love it.
10/10/08 12:27 PM
Dei said...
Love this rich color. Looks good so far and can't wait to see how it looks on you.
10/10/08 12:49 PM
cabinbaby said...
I am glad you are going to post an update when you wear it. It is always so hard to see what it really looks like on the form. I love it right now.
10/10/08 1:02 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty! I want to make this up, too, but have been trying to figure out whether I want to do a modesty panel or modify the neckline to deal with the issue of how low-cut it is.
10/10/08 1:11 PM
Karendee said...
lovely
10/10/08 1:22 PM
peaudane said...
I really like your version! Just wondering, in the original version, does the tab go where the gathers in the front are? That would make the neckline really low!
10/10/08 2:02 PM
Annette1 said...
This top is BEAUTIFUL. It's the PERFECT combination of drape and controlled fullness.
10/10/08 2:11 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely top. Got my October WOF today and this went straight on my to sew list. Thanks for reviewing it, you have strengthened my resolve to do this one.
10/10/08 3:06 PM
EveS said...
This was one of the 1st patterns in this issue to catch my eye. Love your version...thanks for the tips!
10/10/08 10:55 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE that top!!! I plan on making this soon!!!
10/11/08 10:16 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful top, and the color is eye-catching!
10/11/08 11:10 AM
cindyann said...
Now I'm really looking forward to getting my issue! Thanks for the review.
10/11/08 11:12 AM
touran said...
Pretty and pretty fast. I'm excited to make this up too.
10/11/08 3:33 PM
peaudane said...
Seeing this worn, I wonder if it might be better to reshape the dolman sleeve to take away some of the fullness in the upper part of the arm. What do you think?
10/12/08 5:56 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks everyone. Yes Peaudane there is a lot of fabric in the upper sleeve which takes a bit of getting used to. Thats partly why I think this needs a very drapy fabric, but I do think it would be possible to take out some of the fullness. I also think if I had remembered to put in the front gathers that would work better.
10/13/08 8:23 AM
Nancy K said...
I have been pondering this pattern and how to raise the cf because as usual it is too low for mortals who have to wear bras! Your looks great. I am still up in the air about whether this will look good on me, so I may actually do a knit muslin. Thanks for the review
10/13/08 9:37 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is definitely on my to-do list now. Great work in altering the neckline. Don't feel bad, we've all done things like forgetting to put in gathers at one point or another. The top looks great on you.
10/13/08 9:37 AM
2BSewing said...
I love your version of this knit top. I like the raised neckline. I actually like the ungathered top front. It makes it a unique top. I'm toying with the idea of making this (my 2nd BWOF project). Great review.
12/24/08 12:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7514
photo
Review by divabuddha on 5/10/12
Read Review

New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3334 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by waikikimum on 7/4/11
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us