SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5752 (The Perfect Knit Dress)

34 more reviews
Viewed 1388 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/08 11:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Nice looking dress with an excellent fit. I'll put this pattern on my list. Thanks for the review.
10/20/08 11:06 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely dress, and nice to know about all the "help" that comes along with the pattern. I could definitely use that :) Thanks for your review!
10/21/08 0:02 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Very pretty and flattering!
10/21/08 0:07 AM
michellep74 said...
I just picked up this pattern at the last big McCall's sale. Great to see how nicely it makes up!
10/21/08 0:21 AM
Caitycat said...
Thanks for the review of this - it's just moved up in my "to be sewn" pile because it looks so great on you!
10/21/08 1:22 AM
CynthiaSue said...
the color and fit are stunning!!
10/21/08 1:23 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful dress! Love the color on you!
10/21/08 1:48 AM
Twinset said...
Wow, this is such a nice dress! Great fit too.
10/21/08 2:25 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very flattering and feminine. As usual you picked a beautiful color for your own coloring.
10/21/08 2:33 AM
Karla Kizer said...
And I was so proud of myself for resisting buying this pattern....Big Mistake. Your dress is, indeed, perfect.
10/21/08 7:05 AM
Lori V said...
This is a wonderful dress, it looks fantastic on you.
10/21/08 7:11 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wow! Great fit, great color, great dress! I think McCalls are going to be on sale this coming weekend at Joanns. I'll bet this pattern will be sold out because of your review.
10/21/08 8:00 AM
nellc said...
Very nice dress in a lovely colour. I have this pattern so it is great to see it made up so nicely.
10/21/08 8:07 AM
Lori Sews said...
This is a beautiful dress with a great fit! You look great!
10/21/08 8:09 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love your dress which is good because I have already ordered this pattern. It's good to know that there are lots of extra fitting instructions too. I usually change my construction order the same as you for those reason, it was helpful to include that info in your review.
10/21/08 8:19 AM
cindyann said...
Great knit dress!
10/21/08 8:25 AM
KrystalL said...
The dress looks lovely on you!
10/21/08 8:35 AM
pamscott said...
Fabulous! The colour is just you and your bangle and necklace are the perfect accessories.
10/21/08 9:55 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is the 'perfect knit dress' on you! The color is wonderful - you look great!
10/21/08 9:57 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love your dress. It does look like a perfect knit dress! Thank you for the tip on sewing the front and back separately for additional fitting.
10/21/08 10:02 AM
kasizzle said...
Beautiful! You've inspired me to try this pattern!
10/21/08 10:08 AM
nglalala said...
It looks great on you! Very nicE!
10/21/08 10:40 AM
sewbehind said...
Barbara, you really nailed that one! It looks fantastic. Thank you for your advice about additional fitting for the sides. I have this pattern and will follow your tips.
10/21/08 11:25 AM
Amanda S. said...
Truly a wonderful dress. Looks flawless. Great color and fit on you as well. I have this ready for making in the spring, but I think your color choice makes it a perfect fall/Thanksgiving dress.
10/21/08 1:24 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely beautiful - a real WOW!!
10/21/08 2:05 PM
MareeAlison said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous dress.
10/21/08 5:19 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this brief and excellent review. I am a true fan of orange fabric. I am kindly envious of you dress. You look fabulous in it.
10/21/08 5:58 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! I have this pattern and was wondering if it is as wonderful sewn as it appears on the envelope. I really like the color you choose too!
10/21/08 10:04 PM
DorothyK said...
This dress is stunning on you. I love the order in which you sewed it, with side seams last. That seems so logical. Is this something that can be done most of the time, or did it just work with this pattern?
10/23/08 9:12 PM
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, This order of seam construction can be done almost all of the time whenever there are both horizontal and vertical seams. It just gives a bit more opportunity to fine fit and certainly is easier to rip the vertical side seams if necessary then to have to undo it the other way.
10/23/08 11:03 PM
Athene said...
Very flattering dress and such a pretty color on you. How would you rate the sizing of the pattern? Is it true to size?
10/26/08 2:29 AM
Barbara V said...
Athene, Yes, I found the sizing to be good and true to sizing. I cut size 8 for my upper body then graded out to size 12 for hips. Of course rayon lycra knit is very forgiving and allows for more success in fit and comfort. Also Palmer/Pletsch's tissue fitting suggestions really assist in achieving the correctly altered pattern for each body type.
10/26/08 10:59 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Barbara, Your dress is beautiful. The color is pleasantly warm. It's a perfect fit. I plan to try this pattern soon. Thanks for the review.
10/27/08 3:07 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. Wonderful fabric also (I've heard great things about CJ's fabric).
11/5/08 4:30 PM
NurseByrd said...
I am going to make this in black knit to wear out for my anniversary. Wish me well, I am a beginner and I always procrastinate because of fear.
11/6/08 3:45 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty... love the color of this!
4/15/09 6:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delectably gorgeous dress, Barbara!
5/20/09 4:42 PM
busymomof3 said...
I love your dress!! I just orderd some knit and hope to find this pattern this weekend! I really want a dress like yours!!
5/21/09 11:29 PM
Living Beauty said...
This dress looks beautiful on you. You did a very good job with the fitting and construction. Your accessories attest to your good taste and style. I could learn a lot from you!
1/9/10 8:07 AM
radollrose said...
How well a garment turns out is based on choosing the right fabric for the pattern and using a pattern that fits your body (or making the necessary adjustments.) This is an example of getting both perfect! Even your accessories are right on. Just beautiful!
11/30/10 3:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now