Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-116 (Ruffled Vest) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 414 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/08 7:42 AM
Last Updated:10/25/08 7:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Great vest and great use of leftover fabric.
10/25/08 8:15 AM
Kay Y said...
I think your vest turned out great - without the ruffles it's a classic.
10/25/08 9:38 AM
SexiSadi said...
Great looking vest. And I agree, Burda WOF instructions are easy if you leave out the welt pockets and ruffel stuff!
10/25/08 9:51 AM
Seaspur said...
Very nice looking vest, great job!!
10/25/08 10:26 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful save! Looks wonderful on you.
10/25/08 10:31 AM
Peacock Chic said...
absolutely gorgeous! I really have loved this vest for some time and yours just looks wonderful. Definitely moves this vest back to the top of the list!!
10/25/08 11:04 AM
Re Becca said...
That really looks good on you, so chic and professional. You did a good job working around the side-seam issue. I have done that myself and it is really frustrating.
10/25/08 11:24 AM
crisford said...
Well, you left out the "secret" to this vest, but there is still a lot of detail remaining to look beautiful, such as the peplum shaping. It definitely looks feminine without the ruffles--I love it and I will have to try it!
10/25/08 11:52 AM
Christas said...
This looks so nice. The fit is wonderful!
10/25/08 12:10 PM
sewtime said...
Very nice!!!! Great fit!
10/25/08 12:30 PM
cleandirty said...
Glad to see this works so well without the ruffles!!!
10/25/08 1:29 PM
Kbenco said...
Your vest looks terrific. I really like the side view photo, it shows the shaping really well. Thanks for the detail about the stripe directions, that difference would bother me too!
10/25/08 1:47 PM
Amanda S. said...
Cute!
10/25/08 6:48 PM
Catbird said...
It looks great on you! Thank you for the tip about the grainline on the collar. I traced this a while back but haven't made it yet, so I'll follow your lead and change the grain. Nice work!
10/25/08 7:06 PM
Annette1 said...
Really a lovely vest. I love the lines of it. You look GREAT!
10/26/08 4:25 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, I've had my eye on this one too and without the ruffles it looks more appropriate for cooler weather. Thanks for showing the side shaping too, it's hard to see that detail in the magazine.
10/26/08 5:18 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Clean and neat looking, no frills is nice! Very flattering on you.
10/26/08 8:23 AM
Sigrid. said...
Love this vest with the peplum. It looks great on you. Your version convinces me to add this to the to sew list.
10/26/08 9:47 AM
Margie T said...
I love your vest - beautifully crafted.
10/26/08 5:52 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous. I have this on my ever lengthening things to do list, but I am sure I couldn't make a version as nice as yours.
10/28/08 7:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1258
photo
Review by DD1104 on 8/1/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2525 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2525 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5968
photo
Review by Larisa on 10/28/12
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us