SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2898 

8 more reviews
Viewed 395 times 
Reviewed by:christea
photo

 
 
About christeastar
AZ USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 1:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trintje said...
This looks a lot better on your dummy than it does on the pattern envelope. Very nice.
2/11/09 7:27 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute, flexible top. Congrats on making a wearable knit top. I almost always do flat sleeve insertion for knit tops (not woven). The jersey can still curl under, of course. Practice is the best method, learning where to hold the fabric. You can also try a glue stick for particularly errant fabric.
11/18/08 12:37 PM
Hilary said...
Your shirt turned out beautifully~great job! I agree, sewing the sleeves in flat is far easier :o)
10/26/08 2:40 PM
christea said...
Thank you for the advice-I will try that with the next one!
10/26/08 1:18 PM
sewtime said...
Nice top! Love the style and the material!
10/26/08 11:25 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top
10/26/08 9:43 AM
JeanM said...
I might have to try this pattern (I have the same belly!), it looks good! Like Julie W, I sew the sleeves in before sewing the side seams, I find that much easier for knits and wovens.
10/26/08 9:35 AM
julie w said...
Very flattering top, I love these types of styles, great job. I usually set the sleeves in flat with knits on the serger. ie sew the shoulder seams then the sleeve head to the front and back armhole and lastly sew the sleeve seam and side seam in one pass. I do congratulate you on doing a very good job of setting in the sleeve with a knit, I'm hopeless at that!!
10/26/08 9:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I don't have a serger, so I can't help you there, but your top looks GREAT! Very flattering style.
10/26/08 3:17 AM
Christas said...
This looks great!
10/26/08 2:16 AM
katlew03 said...
Great job. I bought this pattern for DD who has gained quite a few lbs. in her middle. She is on a very strict diet to lose them but hopes to become pregnant afterwards so this top might be ideal for transitioning. Your top really looks nice. I'll definitely give it a try.
10/26/08 1:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-25

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Vogue Patterns V1183

photo
by: Kamal Ragb...

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

More Info