SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2981 (Women's Dresses)

3 more reviews
Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:Caitycat
photo

 
 
About Caitycatstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 7:16 AM
Last Updated:10/26/08 11:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andreahg said...
I've been on the fence about this pattern but your review has pushed me toward making it. This is sooo flattering on you. You look fabulous.
2/5/09 8:11 PM
rebija said...
Very pretty!!! I love your choice of fabric!
11/3/08 9:18 PM
JustTrina said...
I think it looks gorgeous!!! and i love the print, just big enough to see the detail but small enough to not take over. Very flattering style.
10/30/08 8:55 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Caity !!!!!! Love your dress and the TDF shoes.
10/27/08 6:38 PM
LorelleD said...
Very pretty dress, love your fabric. Good color on you.
10/27/08 5:12 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You look radiant in that dress! Can't wait to see the next one.
10/27/08 5:00 PM
3KillerBs said...
What a great style for your figure -- one of those shapes that looks better on a curvy, plus figure than on a bony model. Great job fighting through the inadequate instructions for a beautiful result.
10/27/08 12:02 PM
EleanorSews said...
It is a happy dress! Probably likes being with those awfully cute shoes! You look happy too. The dress is flattering on and you are right about shortening ~ much longer and it would not be so great.
10/27/08 11:24 AM
kim*brown said...
Very flattering looks RTW!
10/27/08 10:30 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress and review!
10/27/08 9:39 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
How fun! I have some orange retro nylon similar to this pattern that I'm thinking of making a dress, and your review has pushed me over the edge to do so. Thanks so much for the review!
10/27/08 8:12 AM
Gelbean said...
Fantastic dress!
10/27/08 3:25 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dress - worth the effort!
10/26/08 11:30 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress! No wonder why it makes you happy! Very flattering and great color.
10/26/08 7:47 PM
Lilibet said...
Great job, the dress looks terrific on you. The shoes are gorgeous too, I'm suffering shoe envy.
10/26/08 7:12 PM
PatM said...
what a lovely dress, it does fit you well. It is always to see plus sized clothes reviewed
10/26/08 6:53 PM
kyliem said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern - I almost bought it on the weekend, but I think now I'll wait until I've got more experience under my belt!
10/26/08 5:58 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, this is *lovely* on you!! Very flattering, and such a cheery dress-I can see why it makes you happy! Well done!
10/26/08 3:00 PM
Annette1 said...
I've often admired this pattern, but then I see all those GODETS and think, hmmmm ... :o) Yours has turned out MAGNIFICENTLY, though, and I can TELL it would be a lot of fun to wear. Looks great on you, and you did a great job with all those GODETS! :o)
10/26/08 1:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sounds like you were up for this challenge. Let me say how adorable you look in this pretty dress.
10/26/08 12:49 PM
persevering said...
Caitycat, Thanks so much for your review. You look very pretty in this dress. Great job!
10/26/08 12:30 PM
Michelle T said...
Oh I love this dress. Did you have to alter the sleeves at all? Your figure is very similar to mine although I think my upper arms are larger.
10/26/08 12:26 PM
michellep74 said...
This is a great looking dress and it looks fabulous on you!
10/26/08 11:36 AM
DaisyEsq said...
The colors look great on you as well as the style.
10/26/08 11:33 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fun, retro, feminine dress. You do look pretty in it.
10/26/08 11:26 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute! Love the material.
10/26/08 11:11 AM
marec said...
Great dress...where did you get those darling shoes?
10/26/08 11:06 AM
Nancy K said...
This dress is terrifically flattering on you. Lovely! Using supplementary instructions is really the best way to go. The pattern companies do not ever tell you the best way to do it.
10/26/08 11:04 AM
moushka said...
Lovely dress, very flattering on you. Great review.
10/26/08 10:48 AM
KathySews said...
Wow. Your review has lots of advice. I have been thinking of a dress, this might be the one - with your modifications printed off to help me. Thanks
10/26/08 10:44 AM
Dynamo said...
Great dress, and it fits so nicely. Wear it and be happy!
10/26/08 10:37 AM
Amanda S. said...
How pretty! I love the fit and the color. Great job!
10/26/08 10:36 AM
Christas said...
This dress SHOULD make you happy! It looks lovely on you. Your fabric choice is terrific!
10/26/08 10:32 AM
Lili123 said...
I really love your dress. It fits you very nicely and the color is great on you. I think i will try doing a similar one. Thanks for sharing your work.
10/26/08 10:04 AM
carolynw said...
Very nic elookign dress - you should be sooo happy wearing it !!
10/26/08 9:33 AM
mollyshark said...
Looks like it fits quite well. It looks like a happy dress!
10/26/08 7:48 AM
svetlana said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and a similar type fabric that I hope to make for myself when I finally get time to do personal sewing. I had been questioning my choice of fabric on my plus frame. Well actually the frame isnt plus size, just all the stuff on top it. :) Yours looks really cute. I am planning on view D because my bosoms sit high on my chest and that cross over style will show way too much cleavage. Thanks for the heads up about the hem and zipper placement. It must be so much fun to have a twirly skirt!
10/26/08 7:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Simplicity 2758

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now