SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 90338-1001 (Self Drafted Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 627 times 
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo

 
 
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/08 9:31 PM
Last Updated:11/1/08 3:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 39 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a wonderful jacket-and the beret sets it off so well. I appreciate the incredibly detailed review as it was great fun to read along with all your steps. Again, very stylish and wonderful jacket.
10/31/08 9:53 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful set! Really enjoyed your review. Loved all the pictures, thank you.
10/31/08 10:07 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful creation, Lily. Your sewing skills are so amazing! This jacket and beret are very lovely. I am sure you will look very stylish each time you wear them. Very nice review!
10/31/08 10:08 PM
Gelbean said...
OMG! Lily, this is a fabulous jacket. The photo looks like it's from a magazine photo shoot. It's perfect!
10/31/08 10:11 PM
eibhlin said...
GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!
10/31/08 10:11 PM
michellep74 said...
Stunning. Your skills and style are what I aspire to achieve someday!
10/31/08 10:16 PM
Annette1 said...
What a WONDERFUL review -- NOT TO MENTION THE JACKET. I LOVE that picture with it lying flat, because it really highlights the lines of the jacket. It looks SO nice on you, and not even a full bust adjustment! That FABRIC is quite unique, and the lines of your jacket show it to its best advantage. (I would have never guessed this was COTTON!) The added beret is the perfect touch for such a polished outfit! Keith sounds just like Bailey (although Bailey never thought of the QUARTER trick). :o) I used to climb out the upstairs window onto the roof too, and take all the dogs with me! He finally made us stop. I loved it though, and I didn't even have any red-tailed hawks to watch.
10/31/08 10:19 PM
Tiner W said...
Terrific, stylish jacket and fantastic review! I love the "Close Quarters" picture!
10/31/08 10:22 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE that picture where you're looking over your shoulder. :o)
10/31/08 10:28 PM
EveS said...
What an absolutely yummy jacket, Lily! It looks so warm and comfy, yet so stylish. I'm not shocked that you'd make a white jacket. I'm not shocked that you crawled out onto the roof for the photo shoot. I AM shocked, however, that the coat appears to have REMAINED white thru this trek. You are a better woman than I, Lily! :)
10/31/08 10:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh Lily, what a fabulous outfit! It is so flattering. The perfect marriage of fabric, pattern and style for you. I love your photos too. I could be looking at a page from BWOF, except the model is far more beautiful and womanly. :) I am with DH though, will you please step away from the edge of the roof. You are making me giddy and VERY nervous! Enjoy the birds. :)
10/31/08 11:48 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I forgot to thank you for your wonderful, detailed review. I always appreciate the time you take to explain everything in such detail so we can learn.
10/31/08 11:51 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
great jacket, amazingly detailed review and lovely pictures - well worth risking the roof for!.
11/1/08 0:16 AM
ajax said...
This is a wonderful outfit and beautiful photos. You look very stylish. great choice for an unusual fabric. I too wonder how you managed to keep is so pristine scrambling out onto the roof!
11/1/08 0:40 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lily, you are very talented to draft and construct a jacket so perfect for you. The style is perfect for the fabric too. Awesome photo shoot.
11/1/08 6:24 AM
Kbenco said...
Lily, I just adore your reviews. I know I am not the first to point out that your sister is wrong, wrong, wrong, as your coat is pristine, and that a woman who can climb onto a roof in a white jacket and look like you belongs in a James Bond movie. I love your outfit.
11/1/08 6:35 AM
Rustybobn said...
Very nice! Thanks for the very thorough and entertaining review (although it does make my palms and feet tingle to think of climbing out a 3rd floor window!)
11/1/08 7:22 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Fabulous! Your husband sounds great. Lucky you!
11/1/08 7:27 AM
fourkid said...
A beautiful jacket - and great review. Very inspirational.
11/1/08 7:38 AM
shesflipped said...
Lily~This is a very chic set that looks STUNNING on you! I so enjoyed your step by step review on this creation~a true inspiration for new sewists. Beautifully crafted, classic style, for a very classy lady! You wear it well!
11/1/08 8:07 AM
JustTrina said...
Just Gorgeous!! Love the texture of the fabric and the color!
11/1/08 8:26 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Oh Lily, what more can I say? Seems all the previous commenter's grabed all those great adjectives before me. Another outstanding work of art from my favorite Couture! Great photo shoot; kind of reminded me of my home state of Connecticut. You never cease to amaze me! ~Connie
11/1/08 9:32 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Stunning jacket and beret and they look fabulous on you. The review was very thorough and enlightening; even the "quarter" line was delightful.
11/1/08 9:43 AM
Patti B said...
Wowsa, Lily! It's just stunning. You have inspired me to try to copy this wonderful, casual coat. Like you, I hate wrestling with a long coat getting in and out of cars. And I also scavenge Tyvek when I have the chance!
11/1/08 9:58 AM
Sigrid. said...
Always a joy to read your reviews and seeing all your detailed pictures. The jacket is outstanding as all your work is, and your pictures could easily be added to a glossy magazine showing the latest fashion trends. You look glamorous. Thanks for sharing all your experiences.
11/1/08 10:05 AM
cindyann said...
{Wild applause} Lily, you've done it again. Created a most beautiful garment and written an amazing review. Your pictures are just fantastic.
11/1/08 10:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Lily, I came upon your review last evening, but waited until this morning to pour over your very delightful and thorough presentation with more focus. Your jacket and beret are beautiful and again show your creative and talented designing, contruction and finishing skills. Thank you for your very educational and detailed review and I most certainly identify with your climbing onto the roof to view the Red Tail Hawks as they have nested in very tall old trees in our yard and orchard (in CA) and I have gone to great lengths to get some amazing views using both binoculars and telescope and photos of these beautiful birds as they nest, rear their young and encourage first flight of the fledglings. However, I assure you I never once looked anywhere near as dressed and classy as you : -) !
11/1/08 10:52 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Just stunning - your creations are fabulous
11/1/08 10:54 AM
cabinbaby said...
Another great review and jacket!! Your reviews are amazingly detailed and I love each time you post a review. Your picture, on the other hand, scares the heck out of me. Get. Off. The. Roof.
11/1/08 11:20 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket. Fascinating review. And the photograph looks like it's from a magazine photoshoot.
11/1/08 11:38 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous ensemble, Lily! Fun, fresh beautiful, and adventurous!
11/1/08 12:02 PM
Luckylibbet said...
What can I add - there aren't enough superlatives in the language! Absolutely amazing work, and THANKS for including so much on the patternwork and thought processes that go into your creations.
11/1/08 12:16 PM
DorothyK said...
Lily, your creations are exquisite, your review is thoughtful and educational, and your DH deserves a gold star.
11/1/08 1:12 PM
indiaw said...
I always look forward to your reviews....they are so thorough and informative. What a wonderful jacket. Your workmanship is something so many of us strive for. Thanks for sharing all your steps on this.
11/1/08 1:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Poor DH gets to learn something new - now he's going to be thinking all the time about you clambering out the window to stand on the roof. What a great place for photos, though, and for hawk-watching. And don't get me started on your jacket and beret - the lines are lovely and the texture of the fabric really sets off the simplicity of the design. It looks wonderful on you.
11/1/08 1:28 PM
3KillerBs said...
That is a wonderfully handsome, practical-looking jacket, especially with its matching beret (I'd love to see it with the matching skirt too). I have a piece of black cotton in a similar texture though it sounds like mine has a softer hand to it. I may use your jacket as inspiration for drafting a similar coat for myself. Fabulous work!
11/1/08 2:52 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous jacket, what a great job drafting! White looks so elegant on you.
11/1/08 3:17 PM
Beek said...
Great coat, Lily! And you look smashing in winter white. But I must agree with your DH Keith, please step away from that edge! YIKES! (Did you spot any birds?)
11/1/08 5:00 PM
Karendee said...
Your work is amazing, and the coat looks adorable on you. Congratulations!
11/1/08 5:24 PM
Janet739 said...
Fabulous jacket! I love the casualness and think the white is striking. Enjoy wearing it, it looks very flattering on you! And, great review - thanks for all the time you put into your writing and pix.
11/1/08 5:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Love the rooftop and the thought of you and your hubby up there with all the neighbors gawking!:):) Yes what a wonderful basic that you've turned into high fashion which now you could make in a wool in red, grey, black. Endless possibilities. I think you should consider starting your own pattern company. They are obviously very well drafted. The jacket is simply stunning and stylish!
11/1/08 6:44 PM
Athene said...
I love the jacket and the weave of the fabric. You look absolutely gorgeous as usual. Thank you for such delightful pictures.
11/1/08 8:59 PM
kerrynw said...
Amazing jacket and photos!
11/2/08 1:15 AM
carolynw said...
This is wonderful - you should be in a fashion spread. Great work again Lily and as usual a very thorough review!! Wish I was this talented - la sigh!!
11/2/08 8:35 AM
molecule said...
Hard to decide which was more outstanding, the jacket and beret, or the photos. I got an adrenaline rush just seeing you so close to the edge of the roof. Thank you for sharing your pattern pieces for this chic jacket and beret.
11/2/08 11:39 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Your beautiful work makes me swoon! ;-> Sigh. Thanks for the great review and pictures. ( I suffered vertigo looking at those first pictures though!) Amazing!
11/2/08 5:02 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a fun review! I should be working, but I went and got myself a cup of tea (and a bikki) to saviour the treat of your review. Great jacket and so many fun photos - thanks :))
11/2/08 7:02 PM
rebija said...
You're work is so inspiring!
11/3/08 7:09 AM
Mufffet said...
Another snazzy piece! Lovely color and styling! :)
11/6/08 6:22 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket, and a great fabric. Wish I could feel it as well as see it. Love the garment you made, and the hat is adorable. (Cute post, also.) Does silk really help with hat head?
11/9/08 11:54 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Hi, AnneM, thanks for your lovely comment and yes, silk lining helps immeasurably to deter 'hat head.' I'm a hat lover and even when I buy a RTW hat, I try to retrofit the inside with a silk lining. My Grandmother was a milliner and swore by silk linings; she also thought rayon was the worst lining (but Her Time preceded the prevalence of polyester, which I think is the worst for squooshing hairdos.) -Lily
11/9/08 6:31 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the answer, Lily. I will have to try making a hat with silk lining!
11/21/08 7:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 4571

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-109

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now