SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5219 (Fast & Easy)

11 more reviews
Viewed 743 times 
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 2:34 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 8:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
With your embellishment, this top is a lot like the embellished tops in Coldwater Creek. You look nice in it; I hope you enjoy wearing it.
11/5/08 2:40 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very nice looking top. I like the embellishments, too. Great job!
11/5/08 3:42 PM
j222b said...
Clever top embellishment and great jewelry design. I see many similar style RTW with a contrasting neckband, too. Many possibilities with this pattern as you said.
11/5/08 3:45 PM
shesflipped said...
Great looking top! I love the embellishment~makes it very 'boutique' looking!
11/5/08 4:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top, Cathy! Very nice use of embellishments!
11/5/08 6:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty Cathy, I don't have this pattern. But when I do get it, (thanks a lot, BTW!) I'll have to remember your trick for block fusing.
11/5/08 6:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely top with the added embellishments Cathy! Another winner :)
11/5/08 6:40 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice looking top! The beads are a wonderful touch. I think the neckband is a success and the shape is good for you. I'm envious, I like this style but it just doesn't work on me.
11/5/08 7:54 PM
greenandlilac said...
Thank you for the information about the neckband. Seaspur mentioned this was a problem too. This is why I like this website so much.
11/5/08 7:56 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top embellishments! Cute!!
11/5/08 8:10 PM
Steffie said...
Cathy, thanks for your review and for the photo of your FBA. I made a similar style type and had a big 'dip' in the front because I did not do an FBA. Your top lays nicely across your chest and drops from your chest without a big dip. The neckline fits you very well, too. Very attractive top!
11/5/08 8:40 PM
AngieC said...
Very nice top! And a great detailed review as well. It is so helpful to see plus sized women model their garments so others can see the fit. Thank you!
11/5/08 8:51 PM
JEF said...
That is a really nice top. You did such a good job and I really love your embellishment - classy.
11/5/08 9:09 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nicely fitting and super attractive top - the color suits you and the bead embellishments are 'just right' - not too much not too little. Love the jewelry you made, it will look super with this ensemble! AND a very helpful review too. THANKS!
11/5/08 9:49 PM
cmarie12 said...
Cathy what a cute top!
11/5/08 10:44 PM
mastdenman said...
I really like your top. I was looking at the pattern but didn't like the fashion drawings.
11/5/08 10:51 PM
DebJ said...
What a great top. Thanks for the tip about the neckline facing. It will come in handy for many of the patterns that have this type of neckline. Love the matching jewels, I wish I could make such lovely jewelry!
11/6/08 4:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thanks for all the encouraging comments. I wasn't sure if the beads looks right. I feel better about them now. You're the greatest!
11/6/08 11:20 PM
Athene said...
A very versatile top - I love the embellisments and your jewellry accessories.
11/6/08 11:26 PM
Elaray said...
I appreciated being reminded about block fusing. That would have made the neckband easier to manage.
11/7/08 11:16 AM
sewsmiles said...
I liked the embellishment you did on this top. The color is also very nice for this top. I think it would look wonderful on you in a rust and also in turquoise! Thanks for the review!
11/21/08 10:43 AM
sarah121haras said...
I love the embellishment you did! Great job!
7/15/10 3:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I really like your top. It looks lovely on you. Helpful review too, thanks.
5/26/11 0:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now