Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5219 (Fast & Easy) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 742 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 2:34 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 8:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
With your embellishment, this top is a lot like the embellished tops in Coldwater Creek. You look nice in it; I hope you enjoy wearing it.
11/5/08 2:40 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very nice looking top. I like the embellishments, too. Great job!
11/5/08 3:42 PM
j222b said...
Clever top embellishment and great jewelry design. I see many similar style RTW with a contrasting neckband, too. Many possibilities with this pattern as you said.
11/5/08 3:45 PM
shesflipped said...
Great looking top! I love the embellishment~makes it very 'boutique' looking!
11/5/08 4:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top, Cathy! Very nice use of embellishments!
11/5/08 6:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty Cathy, I don't have this pattern. But when I do get it, (thanks a lot, BTW!) I'll have to remember your trick for block fusing.
11/5/08 6:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely top with the added embellishments Cathy! Another winner :)
11/5/08 6:40 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice looking top! The beads are a wonderful touch. I think the neckband is a success and the shape is good for you. I'm envious, I like this style but it just doesn't work on me.
11/5/08 7:54 PM
greenandlilac said...
Thank you for the information about the neckband. Seaspur mentioned this was a problem too. This is why I like this website so much.
11/5/08 7:56 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top embellishments! Cute!!
11/5/08 8:10 PM
Steffie said...
Cathy, thanks for your review and for the photo of your FBA. I made a similar style type and had a big 'dip' in the front because I did not do an FBA. Your top lays nicely across your chest and drops from your chest without a big dip. The neckline fits you very well, too. Very attractive top!
11/5/08 8:40 PM
AngieC said...
Very nice top! And a great detailed review as well. It is so helpful to see plus sized women model their garments so others can see the fit. Thank you!
11/5/08 8:51 PM
JEF said...
That is a really nice top. You did such a good job and I really love your embellishment - classy.
11/5/08 9:09 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nicely fitting and super attractive top - the color suits you and the bead embellishments are 'just right' - not too much not too little. Love the jewelry you made, it will look super with this ensemble! AND a very helpful review too. THANKS!
11/5/08 9:49 PM
cmarie12 said...
Cathy what a cute top!
11/5/08 10:44 PM
mastdenman said...
I really like your top. I was looking at the pattern but didn't like the fashion drawings.
11/5/08 10:51 PM
DebJ said...
What a great top. Thanks for the tip about the neckline facing. It will come in handy for many of the patterns that have this type of neckline. Love the matching jewels, I wish I could make such lovely jewelry!
11/6/08 4:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thanks for all the encouraging comments. I wasn't sure if the beads looks right. I feel better about them now. You're the greatest!
11/6/08 11:20 PM
Athene said...
A very versatile top - I love the embellisments and your jewellry accessories.
11/6/08 11:26 PM
Elaray said...
I appreciated being reminded about block fusing. That would have made the neckband easier to manage.
11/7/08 11:16 AM
sewsmiles said...
I liked the embellishment you did on this top. The color is also very nice for this top. I think it would look wonderful on you in a rust and also in turquoise! Thanks for the review!
11/21/08 10:43 AM
sarah121haras said...
I love the embellishment you did! Great job!
7/15/10 3:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I really like your top. It looks lovely on you. Helpful review too, thanks.
5/26/11 0:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us