Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8497 (Marci Tilton Gathered V Neck) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 822 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Luckylibbet
photo
About Luckylibbetstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/28/03
Reviews written: 21
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 7:11 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 7:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Great tips on making the collar work better -- those darts were inspired. I've made the other two views, but not this one. I will be sure to re-read your review when I make it.
11/5/08 7:17 PM
Sewliz said...
Yummy top! I like beefy cotton interlock for cooler days. You're doing all my alterations. Wanna come over and fix my patterns too? I see you did a petite armhole adjustment. That would affect the length of the collar?
11/5/08 7:46 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top!
11/5/08 8:08 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Hi Sewliz - yes, the petite armhole affects the length of the collar, and I did remember that one - it was the one affecting the length of the BACK neckline that I forgot.
11/5/08 8:17 PM
Leora said...
This top is so warm and snuggly looking! Interesting pattern, thanks for pointing it out.
11/5/08 8:45 PM
Athene said...
Such a cozy looking top. Thank you for all the tips and great pictures.
11/5/08 10:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cool looking neckline! Looks super on you!
11/5/08 10:35 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. Glad you were able to save it. Just a general observation re the collar. Isn't the collar suppose to be gathered up at the shoulder seam? The stitching line on the collar piece is where you sew elastic to gather it up. This is how RTW tops are sewn and Nancy's top also has the gathering at the shoulder. This would help the back collar sit better as it wouldn't be as wide.
11/5/08 11:20 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Hi Belinda - I did use the elastic, at the CB and the shoulder area - but the knit I was using was QUITE beefy and it did not draw up anywhere near the level that Nancy's did. See the pic I labeled 'Wrong Side of Collar - 3rd version' - you can see how much the elastic gathered up on a beefy knit. I used 1/4 in elastic rather than clear elastic, as I knew my knit would overpower clear elastic, and my cotton knit almost overpowered even that. Something to take into account when using elastic to gather. With 20/20 hindsight, I should have used a double row of basting stitches to draw the fabric up. I wish the pattern had included a guide for how much the collar SHOULD have gathered up. That would help when dealing with differing weights of knits.
11/5/08 11:54 PM
Annette1 said...
EXCELLENT review! What you did with those collar darts was pure genius. I like it even better than the collar as originally drafted. I LOVE the front gathered neckline AND the gusseted sleeves. The strange thing is, I never even NOTICED this view until I read your review! :o) NICE SAVE!
11/5/08 11:59 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I love the neckline... a distinctive detail that puts this top above the ordinary. I do admire your drive to keep this from being a permanent UFO. Hats of to you!
11/6/08 8:05 AM
Karine said...
I admire your perseverence in making this pattern work for you. It really is a great style and looks very cozy. Thanks for the pics of your pattern alterations - they make it very clear what you're describing.
11/6/08 8:58 AM
chacha45 said...
I would like to know how you figured out your sleeve cap should be so much taller. Very interesting and complete review, as yours always are. Thanks for taking the time to tell us all!
11/6/08 9:13 AM
carolynw said...
I do like your top and thanks for the great review - I have the pattern but haven't used it yet so your pointers will be really helpful. GREAT SAVE OF LOVELY FABRIC
11/6/08 9:52 AM
EleanorSews said...
Great informative review and comfy looking top. You surely did come thru with patience and perserverance ~ result: great top! COngrats.
11/6/08 11:21 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Chacha45 - I sent you a PM
11/6/08 11:41 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thanks for a very interesting review especially about collars and sleeve cap, great top!!!
11/6/08 7:31 PM
Barbara V said...
I like your cozy winter top...wish I had some of that fabric. Sorry the collar became such a hassle, but you pulled it off well with much determination.
11/6/08 10:59 PM
LindsayT said...
I need a cozy winter top like this one. Nice!
11/7/08 2:54 PM
moushka said...
I love the style and can't wait to try the pattern. You did a great save on the collar, I'lll make sure not to use too heavy a fabric. Thanks for a great review of this interesting top.
11/7/08 7:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 1702
photo
Review by grays08 on 5/21/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2009-12
photo
Review by Janiki on 5/12/10
Read Review

McCalls 6748 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6748 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5359 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5359 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us