Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5142 (The Perfect Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 882 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Flying Seamstress
photo
Friend of PR
About Flying Seamstressstar
SC USA
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/08 7:53 PM
Last Updated:11/18/08 8:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Your jeans look fantastic!
11/18/08 8:09 PM
moushka said...
Wow! Both pairs look terrific! Great review.
11/18/08 8:41 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Fantastic! I was ready to get rid of this pattern (unused), but now I think I'll have to give it a try. Thanks!
11/18/08 8:59 PM
pterion said...
Very professional looking jeans and a really helpful review.
11/18/08 9:08 PM
Amanda S. said...
GREAT JEANS! I need to try a pair of these. You've inspired me. Thanks!
11/18/08 9:29 PM
Nancy Anne said...
From one slow sewer to another, these are very impressive!
11/18/08 9:41 PM
Re Becca said...
nice pants! They fit well!
11/18/08 9:44 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great review with very helpful links and fitting tips. Jeans look beautiful!
11/18/08 10:11 PM
Christas said...
These look WONDERFUL! Your topstitching is very impressive! Great fit, too.
11/18/08 11:00 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and what nice looking jeans.
11/18/08 11:02 PM
Leora said...
You look nice in tan jeans. I also like your special stitches on the first pair.
11/18/08 11:40 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great jeans and exquisite sewing!
11/19/08 7:05 AM
Ronda Rae said...
omg! You MADE those?! I bow down to you. These are superbly sewn- the topstitching is absolutely stunning. Thanks for the flat seat adjustment tute; I am a flat seated mama, but do not need the thin thighs adjustment- I wish! Great jeans!!
11/19/08 7:56 AM
cindyann said...
Really nice looking jeans. Great fit!
11/19/08 8:11 AM
Obrooks770 said...
WOW! Great job
11/19/08 9:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wonderful looking jeans - what more could a girl ask for - the perfect jean
11/19/08 10:15 AM
whomper said...
Your jeans are beyond professional both in fit and execution. Great job! And a really helpful review!
11/19/08 10:38 AM
Teri said...
Wow! Great top stitching and detail. Your jeans look great. Thanks for the review.
11/19/08 10:53 AM
woggy said...
I would wear these jeans in a heart beat. You did a wonderful job on them. I only wish I could topstitch as well as you!
11/19/08 11:05 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow!!!! Your jeans are absolutely beautiful. Your topstitching is beautiful. Impeccable work. Thank you for taking the time to include the pictures and write a helpful review.
11/19/08 12:17 PM
EleanorSews said...
Another inspired reader/viewer. Your jeans are wonderful and your review so very thorough. Nice to know there's another "process person" out there. To top it off, McCalls patterns are on sale at JoAnn's this beginning Nov 22nd. Looks like I'll be there following your lead. Time to stop searching RTW for a pair of jeans.
11/19/08 12:57 PM
Karendee said...
Your jeans are SO professional looking. You have a wonderful figure and these look so good on you. Thanks for the thorough review,.
11/19/08 1:32 PM
wendlesue said...
Lots of good info in this review. Thanks!
1/20/09 0:01 AM
knitlitcamper said...
love your jeans! I have this pattern and in fact bought 3 more copies as backup after sewing my first pairs of jeans from it. You are inspiring me to bring my tan denim w/the subtle herringbone/chevron design out of my stash to sew another pair.
5/2/09 11:40 PM
cleverkitty said...
These are amazing and the fit is just my size, great review!
7/17/09 8:08 AM
Elisabeth Lee said...
Great job! I have been trying different techniques for a couple years w/o success and this pattern & corduroy fabric has been in the "to do" pile for 2 years. I printed the Anne Rowley Flat Seam Adjustment which I think is what I've been missing. Does she have a book? Do you know what Threads issue discussed the tip for close fitting pants? Thank you so much for sharing your fitting dilema.
11/6/10 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Self Drafted Pattern 31268-1004 Lap Quilt
photo
Review by MrsKeds on 1/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2008-123 Tunic
photo
Review by Natasha B on 11/7/08
Read Review

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8988 Pattern ( Size 40-42-44-46 )
Vogue 8988 Pattern ( Size 40-42-44-46 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us