SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 882 times 
Reviewed by:Flying Seamstress
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Flying Seamstressstar
SC USA
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/08 7:53 PM
Last Updated:11/18/08 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Your jeans look fantastic!
11/18/08 8:09 PM
moushka said...
Wow! Both pairs look terrific! Great review.
11/18/08 8:41 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Fantastic! I was ready to get rid of this pattern (unused), but now I think I'll have to give it a try. Thanks!
11/18/08 8:59 PM
pterion said...
Very professional looking jeans and a really helpful review.
11/18/08 9:08 PM
Amanda S. said...
GREAT JEANS! I need to try a pair of these. You've inspired me. Thanks!
11/18/08 9:29 PM
Nancy Anne said...
From one slow sewer to another, these are very impressive!
11/18/08 9:41 PM
Re Becca said...
nice pants! They fit well!
11/18/08 9:44 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great review with very helpful links and fitting tips. Jeans look beautiful!
11/18/08 10:11 PM
Christas said...
These look WONDERFUL! Your topstitching is very impressive! Great fit, too.
11/18/08 11:00 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and what nice looking jeans.
11/18/08 11:02 PM
Leora said...
You look nice in tan jeans. I also like your special stitches on the first pair.
11/18/08 11:40 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great jeans and exquisite sewing!
11/19/08 7:05 AM
Ronda Rae said...
omg! You MADE those?! I bow down to you. These are superbly sewn- the topstitching is absolutely stunning. Thanks for the flat seat adjustment tute; I am a flat seated mama, but do not need the thin thighs adjustment- I wish! Great jeans!!
11/19/08 7:56 AM
cindyann said...
Really nice looking jeans. Great fit!
11/19/08 8:11 AM
Obrooks770 said...
WOW! Great job
11/19/08 9:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wonderful looking jeans - what more could a girl ask for - the perfect jean
11/19/08 10:15 AM
whomper said...
Your jeans are beyond professional both in fit and execution. Great job! And a really helpful review!
11/19/08 10:38 AM
Teri said...
Wow! Great top stitching and detail. Your jeans look great. Thanks for the review.
11/19/08 10:53 AM
woggy said...
I would wear these jeans in a heart beat. You did a wonderful job on them. I only wish I could topstitch as well as you!
11/19/08 11:05 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow!!!! Your jeans are absolutely beautiful. Your topstitching is beautiful. Impeccable work. Thank you for taking the time to include the pictures and write a helpful review.
11/19/08 12:17 PM
EleanorSews said...
Another inspired reader/viewer. Your jeans are wonderful and your review so very thorough. Nice to know there's another "process person" out there. To top it off, McCalls patterns are on sale at JoAnn's this beginning Nov 22nd. Looks like I'll be there following your lead. Time to stop searching RTW for a pair of jeans.
11/19/08 12:57 PM
Karendee said...
Your jeans are SO professional looking. You have a wonderful figure and these look so good on you. Thanks for the thorough review,.
11/19/08 1:32 PM
wendlesue said...
Lots of good info in this review. Thanks!
1/20/09 0:01 AM
knitlitcamper said...
love your jeans! I have this pattern and in fact bought 3 more copies as backup after sewing my first pairs of jeans from it. You are inspiring me to bring my tan denim w/the subtle herringbone/chevron design out of my stash to sew another pair.
5/2/09 11:40 PM
cleverkitty said...
These are amazing and the fit is just my size, great review!
7/17/09 8:08 AM
Elisabeth Lee said...
Great job! I have been trying different techniques for a couple years w/o success and this pattern & corduroy fabric has been in the "to do" pile for 2 years. I printed the Anne Rowley Flat Seam Adjustment which I think is what I've been missing. Does she have a book? Do you know what Threads issue discussed the tip for close fitting pants? Thank you so much for sharing your fitting dilema.
11/6/10 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5613

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Butterick 5791

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now