SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-104 

8 more reviews
Viewed 451 times 
Reviewed by:Marilyn N.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Marilyn N.star
WA USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 11:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/09 0:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
How fun. I would also like to try my hand at faux fur. Thanks for the very helpful review!
1/4/09 5:47 PM
Immelu said...
I love the jacket and thanks for all the great tips!
1/4/09 11:54 AM
reneeb4930 said...
great coat, great review.
1/4/09 11:28 AM
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautiful coat!!
1/4/09 10:59 AM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous Coat! You have my utmost respect for working with faux fur in such an involved garment. Your review is great with all it's info. Thanks for all the info.
1/4/09 10:04 AM
dbsewer said...
Gorgeous coat, but I have to disagree about the walking foot. I made a faux Persian lamb coat (review posted here on PR) and without the walking foot I could never have kept the seams aligned. Even with the foot it was rough going. I recommend a walking foot if you are going to work with fabric as dense as faux fur, or else baste all your seams together because it's nearly impossible to keep them from slipping in the machine. I gave myself 1/2" sa and didn't find it difficult to maintain. However, faux lamb doesn't have the fluffy pile of your fabric so the sa isn't as hard to see. Great looking coat and review.
1/4/09 9:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
A single-edged razor blade would work, but I've had better luck with an xacto knife, same principle. And I like best Sandra Betzina's seam method, where you zig-zag the edge and open the seams, much less hair mess that way. Good looking coat, you're inspiring me to tackle this year's project :-).
1/4/09 7:38 AM
Jolet said...
Looks great, especially the tip about the washing of the fabric I liked!!
1/4/09 7:12 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I am SO glad you've posted everything you learned here because I just bought some goreous faux fur last week for my first fur jacket. So many of these tips are helpful, and as an example, I was planning on using my walking foot so I'm glad you spared me that!
1/4/09 6:39 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful coat! Thanks for the great review!
1/4/09 3:45 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
Extremely detailed review, I look forward to using these hints when I tackle my upcoming faux fur project!
1/4/09 2:05 AM
marec said...
Great review-thank you.
1/4/09 1:04 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like your coat. I wish I could find a raglan sleeved coat that actually has darts in a plus size. Your review was very helpful for someone sewing fur for the first time.
1/4/09 0:50 AM
Athene said...
You have a fabulous coat and thank you so much for all the helpful tips in your review. I'm adding it to my favorites so I can refer to your techniques.
1/4/09 0:48 AM
kathleencramer said...
Beautiful coat! What a nice pattern and shape it has. You should be proud to wear this. I also enjoyed reading about the various tecniques you tried out. Thanks for a great review. Nicely done.
1/4/09 0:17 AM
figtree said...
Thanks for the review, very nice coat, looks warm too! Would you say the faux fur was easier or more difficult to work with than wool? Just wondering :) thanks
1/1/09 3:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Advance Pattern Company 5578 (vintage)

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Other Composite review

photo
by: Jessica De...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

More Info