Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007-104 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 449 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Marilyn N.
photo
Friend of PR
About Marilyn N.star
WA USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 11:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/09 0:09 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
figtree said...
Thanks for the review, very nice coat, looks warm too! Would you say the faux fur was easier or more difficult to work with than wool? Just wondering :) thanks
1/1/09 3:57 AM
kathleencramer said...
Beautiful coat! What a nice pattern and shape it has. You should be proud to wear this. I also enjoyed reading about the various tecniques you tried out. Thanks for a great review. Nicely done.
1/4/09 0:17 AM
Athene said...
You have a fabulous coat and thank you so much for all the helpful tips in your review. I'm adding it to my favorites so I can refer to your techniques.
1/4/09 0:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like your coat. I wish I could find a raglan sleeved coat that actually has darts in a plus size. Your review was very helpful for someone sewing fur for the first time.
1/4/09 0:50 AM
marec said...
Great review-thank you.
1/4/09 1:04 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
Extremely detailed review, I look forward to using these hints when I tackle my upcoming faux fur project!
1/4/09 2:05 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful coat! Thanks for the great review!
1/4/09 3:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I am SO glad you've posted everything you learned here because I just bought some goreous faux fur last week for my first fur jacket. So many of these tips are helpful, and as an example, I was planning on using my walking foot so I'm glad you spared me that!
1/4/09 6:39 AM
Jolet said...
Looks great, especially the tip about the washing of the fabric I liked!!
1/4/09 7:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
A single-edged razor blade would work, but I've had better luck with an xacto knife, same principle. And I like best Sandra Betzina's seam method, where you zig-zag the edge and open the seams, much less hair mess that way. Good looking coat, you're inspiring me to tackle this year's project :-).
1/4/09 7:38 AM
dbsewer said...
Gorgeous coat, but I have to disagree about the walking foot. I made a faux Persian lamb coat (review posted here on PR) and without the walking foot I could never have kept the seams aligned. Even with the foot it was rough going. I recommend a walking foot if you are going to work with fabric as dense as faux fur, or else baste all your seams together because it's nearly impossible to keep them from slipping in the machine. I gave myself 1/2" sa and didn't find it difficult to maintain. However, faux lamb doesn't have the fluffy pile of your fabric so the sa isn't as hard to see. Great looking coat and review.
1/4/09 9:24 AM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous Coat! You have my utmost respect for working with faux fur in such an involved garment. Your review is great with all it's info. Thanks for all the info.
1/4/09 10:04 AM
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautiful coat!!
1/4/09 10:59 AM
reneeb4930 said...
great coat, great review.
1/4/09 11:28 AM
Immelu said...
I love the jacket and thanks for all the great tips!
1/4/09 11:54 AM
Nancywin said...
How fun. I would also like to try my hand at faux fur. Thanks for the very helpful review!
1/4/09 5:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us