SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-104 

8 more reviews
Viewed 449 times 
Reviewed by:Marilyn N.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Marilyn N.star
WA USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 11:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/09 0:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
figtree said...
Thanks for the review, very nice coat, looks warm too! Would you say the faux fur was easier or more difficult to work with than wool? Just wondering :) thanks
1/1/09 3:57 AM
kathleencramer said...
Beautiful coat! What a nice pattern and shape it has. You should be proud to wear this. I also enjoyed reading about the various tecniques you tried out. Thanks for a great review. Nicely done.
1/4/09 0:17 AM
Athene said...
You have a fabulous coat and thank you so much for all the helpful tips in your review. I'm adding it to my favorites so I can refer to your techniques.
1/4/09 0:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like your coat. I wish I could find a raglan sleeved coat that actually has darts in a plus size. Your review was very helpful for someone sewing fur for the first time.
1/4/09 0:50 AM
marec said...
Great review-thank you.
1/4/09 1:04 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
Extremely detailed review, I look forward to using these hints when I tackle my upcoming faux fur project!
1/4/09 2:05 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful coat! Thanks for the great review!
1/4/09 3:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I am SO glad you've posted everything you learned here because I just bought some goreous faux fur last week for my first fur jacket. So many of these tips are helpful, and as an example, I was planning on using my walking foot so I'm glad you spared me that!
1/4/09 6:39 AM
Jolet said...
Looks great, especially the tip about the washing of the fabric I liked!!
1/4/09 7:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
A single-edged razor blade would work, but I've had better luck with an xacto knife, same principle. And I like best Sandra Betzina's seam method, where you zig-zag the edge and open the seams, much less hair mess that way. Good looking coat, you're inspiring me to tackle this year's project :-).
1/4/09 7:38 AM
dbsewer said...
Gorgeous coat, but I have to disagree about the walking foot. I made a faux Persian lamb coat (review posted here on PR) and without the walking foot I could never have kept the seams aligned. Even with the foot it was rough going. I recommend a walking foot if you are going to work with fabric as dense as faux fur, or else baste all your seams together because it's nearly impossible to keep them from slipping in the machine. I gave myself 1/2" sa and didn't find it difficult to maintain. However, faux lamb doesn't have the fluffy pile of your fabric so the sa isn't as hard to see. Great looking coat and review.
1/4/09 9:24 AM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous Coat! You have my utmost respect for working with faux fur in such an involved garment. Your review is great with all it's info. Thanks for all the info.
1/4/09 10:04 AM
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautiful coat!!
1/4/09 10:59 AM
reneeb4930 said...
great coat, great review.
1/4/09 11:28 AM
Immelu said...
I love the jacket and thanks for all the great tips!
1/4/09 11:54 AM
Nancywin said...
How fun. I would also like to try my hand at faux fur. Thanks for the very helpful review!
1/4/09 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now