Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3369 (Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 963 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 46 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 1:27 AM
Last Updated:11/24/08 1:27 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
I've had this one in my stash for years, too, so I'm glad to see at least ONE of us finally made it up! Yours is truly a designer original, with your mix of fabrics and prints in just the right colors for you. You've also achieved a very flattering fit, but of course I would expect no less. Thanks for a very helpful review. :o)
11/24/08 1:33 AM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous jacket! Perfect fit! And the colors are look fabulous on you.
11/24/08 2:20 AM
goldesdottar said...
Yes, now i too will be hauling out this pattern...i am glad you included thefitting details - i like KwikSew but always expect their Plus patterns to be too broad in the shoulders & have armscyes that are WY too low. Thanks a bunch, as usual.
11/24/08 2:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. Very Coldwater Creek! I like how you did the stripes on the back collar.
11/24/08 4:02 AM
Yvonski said...
I have this pattern and you've inspired me to get it out. Thanks for a very detailed, informative review.
11/24/08 4:49 AM
Elaray said...
I've also had this pattern in my stash for years! I didn't consider lining the jacket, but it seems like a good idea.
11/24/08 5:57 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out wonderful. I started this jacket a long time and quit. Maybe I'll put it out again and play with it again.
11/24/08 7:11 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Kwik Sew 2895 is the regular size version and has been reviewed several times. Good idea to add the pocket. I really like to have a pocket in my jackets!!
11/24/08 7:27 AM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket, Debbie.
11/24/08 7:59 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Fab job on the lapels! I can't think of anything to add to those previous comments (++++++) on your eyecatching choice of fabric, buttons etc. Wow Great Jacket
11/24/08 8:23 AM
Christas said...
Very nice jacket ... fits perfectly, of course it would since you made it!!!
11/24/08 9:41 AM
Patti B said...
Debbie, this is a smashing jacket! Never has home dec fabric looked so good. Thanks for the illustration on the shoulder alteration; I've always done them individually with mixed results and this should work better. Good to see you back too!
11/24/08 9:48 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is so cute!!! I love the fabric and I'm sure with your added lining, this will keep you toasty AND stylish! p.s. it's nice to see you!
11/24/08 9:51 AM
OP Gal said...
Love the jacket, especially your choice of contrasting fabric. It fits like a dream, too. I was interested in your method for narrowing the shoulders. I always have to do that and use Betzina's method. I'll have to try yours. Great to see you back!
11/24/08 10:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Nice Jacket. I'm glad you explained that you make the square shoulder adjustment. I was wondering why the shoulder seam wasn't overlapping properly.
11/24/08 10:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
As usual, another fabulous creation. Well done, Debbie. It looks great
11/24/08 10:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that jacket! You mixed the fabrics just enough to give it fabulous interest...I so enjoy reading your reveiws!
11/24/08 10:59 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful and fits perfectly.
11/24/08 11:17 AM
PVA said...
Ditto to all of the above! You make me want to rush out & buy the pattern. Thanks for another mega-star review.
11/24/08 11:17 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Ditto to all the above! and welcome back! I have major fabric LUST for your fabric -gonna go check local JoAnn to see if it's there.
11/24/08 12:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
No wonder everyone considers you to be Sewing's Divine Diva. Your jacket is absolutely top shelf. The combination of the print with the striped accent is just elegant. Your review is so thorough and helpful. And, you inspire the rest of us!
11/24/08 1:37 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking jacket! What an innovative twist on a jeans jacket!
11/24/08 2:08 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Ohhh...to have your skills!!!! Looks great on you!
11/24/08 3:41 PM
Winifred said...
Great jacket Debbie. Very interested in your use of home-dec fabric. I do mean to try that sometime - yours is very successful. So good to have you back on board - so much worry has been registered about your absence !!!
11/24/08 6:15 PM
Merry G said...
I love your reviews...you do an awesome job...thanks...
11/24/08 7:50 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is wonderful - beautiful and in all the colors I love. Love the addition of stripes for collar and facing which makes it even more of an eye catching jacket. Geat review
11/25/08 8:50 AM
Mufffet said...
Great jacket! Great to see a review from you again!
11/25/08 9:39 AM
janet said...
Great fit! Wonderful jacket! You are a master at pattern alteration and design detail. I love all of your tutorials--THANK YOU!!!
11/25/08 5:04 PM
nfield said...
great review Debbie. Love the way you chevron the stripes on the collar. Definitely will try that detail on my next shirt project.
11/25/08 5:05 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, is that nice. :) Your fabric is gorgeous.
12/19/08 4:36 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for a great review with lots of detail -- I've just pulled this pattern and a lightweight sueded upholstery fabric to attempt this project. Love the way you did the faux pockets with flaps. I know I'll need to do a muslin for this.
4/5/09 1:43 PM
Scousegal said...
So much easy to understand explanation of the pattern. About to start sewing & planing the wardrobe. Will look forward to this one Beautiful fabric as well
9/26/09 7:53 AM
TracyB said...
Wow, that's a nice jacket! When you alter the muslin, then do you go back and make idenical changes on the paper pattern? Or trace a new paper pattern off the muslin pieces? Or use the altered muslin pieces as the pattern? That part of altering the pattern stays a mystery for me.
11/9/09 6:15 PM
4u2cme said...
I too have this pattern in my stash. I love your fabric and the alterations. Great looking jacket!
2/13/10 2:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 2882
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 2/14/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4560 Diaper Bag
photo
Review by ClioBklyn on 12/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9451 Pattern
Burda 9451 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us