SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2955 (Dress altered to a top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:KateS
photo

 
 
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews: 44 (patterns: 35)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/08 9:04 PM
Last Updated:12/28/08 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane333 said... (12/28/08 10:57 AM) Reply
I think the top is very cute.
KateS said... (12/28/08 2:47 AM) Reply
Sewing for fun the original pattern only had a dart at the bottom and I wasn't sure how to prevent any extra fullness being transferred to the skirt/waist section, so thats why I didn't use the pivot slide method, but maybe I should have ...:)
sewing for fun said... (12/27/08 10:18 PM) Reply
Thanks for your detailed review from a fellow sewer who needs FBA also. I wonder if you would do best just creating your own fabric muslin by pin-fitting until you got the shape you want with the darts in the right spot? I also use the pivot-slide method with some success.
KateS said... (12/3/08 8:00 AM) Reply
Thanks have made a muslin and will post a pic soon. Am not sure if the side dart is working properly. Rozzybabe will check out sewing divas!!! Sewmom3 will have a look at the armhole, may involve me staring at it for a good while trying to work it out!. I am new to this whole FBA thing (have just tried to ignore it up to now- with mixed results ) so all advice is greatly appreciated.
rozzybabe said... (12/2/08 10:16 PM) Reply
Try The Sewing Divas blog for FBA adjustment. I do have some information I printed for a FBA on this style of dress, but can't put my hands on it at the moment! I'll look through & see if I can find it, then send another comment, if that's permitted. Good Luck!!
sewmom3 said... (12/2/08 11:23 AM) Reply
It looks like you might benefit from bringing the armhole up just a bit, especially at the innermost curve. Otherwise, it looks like you've done a great job with the FBA. Not that I would know anything about that since, if anything, I need to do a SBA!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Pattern Details