SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2955 (Dress altered to a top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:KateS
photo

 
 
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/08 9:04 PM
Last Updated:12/28/08 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane333 said...
I think the top is very cute.
12/28/08 10:57 AM
KateS said...
Sewing for fun the original pattern only had a dart at the bottom and I wasn't sure how to prevent any extra fullness being transferred to the skirt/waist section, so thats why I didn't use the pivot slide method, but maybe I should have ...:)
12/28/08 2:47 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for your detailed review from a fellow sewer who needs FBA also. I wonder if you would do best just creating your own fabric muslin by pin-fitting until you got the shape you want with the darts in the right spot? I also use the pivot-slide method with some success.
12/27/08 10:18 PM
KateS said...
Thanks have made a muslin and will post a pic soon. Am not sure if the side dart is working properly. Rozzybabe will check out sewing divas!!! Sewmom3 will have a look at the armhole, may involve me staring at it for a good while trying to work it out!. I am new to this whole FBA thing (have just tried to ignore it up to now- with mixed results ) so all advice is greatly appreciated.
12/3/08 8:00 AM
rozzybabe said...
Try The Sewing Divas blog for FBA adjustment. I do have some information I printed for a FBA on this style of dress, but can't put my hands on it at the moment! I'll look through & see if I can find it, then send another comment, if that's permitted. Good Luck!!
12/2/08 10:16 PM
sewmom3 said...
It looks like you might benefit from bringing the armhole up just a bit, especially at the innermost curve. Otherwise, it looks like you've done a great job with the FBA. Not that I would know anything about that since, if anything, I need to do a SBA!
12/2/08 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now