Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2008-117 (Paneled and gored skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 425 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 10:07 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
VERY nice, and what a FABULOUS drape this skirt has! Such a flattering silhouette too. :o)
12/2/08 10:57 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty and what a nice shape and drape.
12/2/08 11:32 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt, pretty!
12/2/08 11:32 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/2/08 11:57 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/3/08 0:01 AM
Christas said...
Very nice skirt! Looks so pretty!
12/3/08 0:02 AM
Nancy K said...
Great skirt! Glad it worked for you.
12/3/08 0:35 AM
sailor girl said...
Really gorgeous!
12/3/08 7:30 AM
crisford said...
Thanks for the "inside" info on this skirt! I knew there had to be something different about this recurring style... Still a winner!
12/3/08 11:07 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice skirt!
12/3/08 11:29 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks beautiful and thank you so much for posting the link to the message board! that is a great thread!!
12/3/08 1:45 PM
sb1280 said...
I really love this skirt. From the BWOF pictures I didn't notice the unusual gored skirt. Thanks for bringing it to my attention - I love it and it's going on my to-do list! You said you used Dr. Sue's tip for sewing corners - did you try any of the other methods? Just curious! Excellent work!
12/3/08 5:19 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful!!
12/3/08 6:17 PM
Izzie said...
Thankyou all for you kind comments! sb1280, I only tried Dr. Sue's method. The main thing that kept the puckers from happening was to sew FROM the pivot point and not TO it.
12/4/08 2:47 PM
Beek said...
This is such a flattering skirt. I love the style. And how wise of you to insert elastic at the waist. Not only will you look fabulous but you'll feel great, too!
12/4/08 4:29 PM
Joann Eidhoff said...
Thanks for your review. Now I know what to expect for my New Year's Eve skirt (that's still on the boltaqge in the store). Corners aren't my thing either, so your hint about sewing from the pivot comes just in time. Have fun wearing your gorgeious skirt!
12/24/08 5:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by tehsquishy on 3/15/09
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2831
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 5/7/12
Read Review

McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )
McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us