SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-117 (Paneled and gored skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 425 times 
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo

 
 
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
VERY nice, and what a FABULOUS drape this skirt has! Such a flattering silhouette too. :o)
12/2/08 10:57 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty and what a nice shape and drape.
12/2/08 11:32 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt, pretty!
12/2/08 11:32 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/2/08 11:57 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/3/08 0:01 AM
Christas said...
Very nice skirt! Looks so pretty!
12/3/08 0:02 AM
Nancy K said...
Great skirt! Glad it worked for you.
12/3/08 0:35 AM
sailor girl said...
Really gorgeous!
12/3/08 7:30 AM
crisford said...
Thanks for the "inside" info on this skirt! I knew there had to be something different about this recurring style... Still a winner!
12/3/08 11:07 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice skirt!
12/3/08 11:29 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks beautiful and thank you so much for posting the link to the message board! that is a great thread!!
12/3/08 1:45 PM
sb1280 said...
I really love this skirt. From the BWOF pictures I didn't notice the unusual gored skirt. Thanks for bringing it to my attention - I love it and it's going on my to-do list! You said you used Dr. Sue's tip for sewing corners - did you try any of the other methods? Just curious! Excellent work!
12/3/08 5:19 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful!!
12/3/08 6:17 PM
Izzie said...
Thankyou all for you kind comments! sb1280, I only tried Dr. Sue's method. The main thing that kept the puckers from happening was to sew FROM the pivot point and not TO it.
12/4/08 2:47 PM
Beek said...
This is such a flattering skirt. I love the style. And how wise of you to insert elastic at the waist. Not only will you look fabulous but you'll feel great, too!
12/4/08 4:29 PM
Joann Eidhoff said...
Thanks for your review. Now I know what to expect for my New Year's Eve skirt (that's still on the boltaqge in the store). Corners aren't my thing either, so your hint about sewing from the pivot comes just in time. Have fun wearing your gorgeious skirt!
12/24/08 5:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now