SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-117 (Paneled and gored skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 426 times 
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo

 
 
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Joann Eidhoff said...
Thanks for your review. Now I know what to expect for my New Year's Eve skirt (that's still on the boltaqge in the store). Corners aren't my thing either, so your hint about sewing from the pivot comes just in time. Have fun wearing your gorgeious skirt!
12/24/08 5:34 AM
Beek said...
This is such a flattering skirt. I love the style. And how wise of you to insert elastic at the waist. Not only will you look fabulous but you'll feel great, too!
12/4/08 4:29 PM
Izzie said...
Thankyou all for you kind comments! sb1280, I only tried Dr. Sue's method. The main thing that kept the puckers from happening was to sew FROM the pivot point and not TO it.
12/4/08 2:47 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful!!
12/3/08 6:17 PM
sb1280 said...
I really love this skirt. From the BWOF pictures I didn't notice the unusual gored skirt. Thanks for bringing it to my attention - I love it and it's going on my to-do list! You said you used Dr. Sue's tip for sewing corners - did you try any of the other methods? Just curious! Excellent work!
12/3/08 5:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks beautiful and thank you so much for posting the link to the message board! that is a great thread!!
12/3/08 1:45 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice skirt!
12/3/08 11:29 AM
crisford said...
Thanks for the "inside" info on this skirt! I knew there had to be something different about this recurring style... Still a winner!
12/3/08 11:07 AM
sailor girl said...
Really gorgeous!
12/3/08 7:30 AM
Nancy K said...
Great skirt! Glad it worked for you.
12/3/08 0:35 AM
Christas said...
Very nice skirt! Looks so pretty!
12/3/08 0:02 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/3/08 0:01 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful drape and flow. This silhouette is my favorite type of skirt. It has a really classic look. The color is gorgeous.
12/2/08 11:57 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt, pretty!
12/2/08 11:32 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty and what a nice shape and drape.
12/2/08 11:32 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice, and what a FABULOUS drape this skirt has! Such a flattering silhouette too. :o)
12/2/08 10:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-108

photo
by: lucylal

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info