SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5103 (Kimono Jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2122 times 
Reviewed by:Tee Jay
photo

 
 
About Tee Jaystar
TX USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/03 11:04 PM
Last Updated:11/9/03 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Har har TeeJay, love your review. I have socks older than my DD also. Meanwhile, looking forward to your photo when you get a chance.
9/27/03 11:39 PM
katharin said...
Great review! I have this pattern too, but have not found a good fabrics for it yet. I look forward to your photo.
9/28/03 4:06 AM
AnneM said...
Fun and informative review. Look forward to the pictures.
9/28/03 7:02 AM
Tiner W said...
Thanks for the review! I also have this pattern but haven't found that perfect fabric yet!
9/28/03 7:55 AM
Mini said...
I am glad this worked for you. It is such a versatile pattern, that looks better than the envelope photo suggests. I think the fringed collar is a good idea, as fringes are so popular right now. You could even make the collar in a single layer if using a self-fringed edge. Even easier:)!
9/28/03 11:32 AM
jlg said...
Great review, TeeJay; can't wait to see your picture. This is on my "some day" list.
9/28/03 7:08 PM
ShereeSews said...
Very attractive pattern, I would really love to see a picture of your project. Thanks for sharing the info on Boucle fabrics!
9/28/03 7:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Geez, I have socks older than my DS as well. When did I start aging? Loved your review - can't wait to see a picture. I've had the perfect fabric for this jacket sitting in my stash for, ahem, a little while.
9/29/03 7:53 AM
Modiste Madness said...
That "socks perspective" of age reminded me of my own "passage of time" perspective. I am around adolescents a lot. Being accused of a bag lady look, during this current adolescent fashion trend, is in all truthfulness a compliment. I hate to be the "old" wet blanket but this will probably be the last time in their life they will be flattered by such tight clothes. Thanks for your review. Your jacket looks good and fits quite well.
10/6/03 9:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Enjoyed your humorous review. The collar came out good, too! Gee, you make me wonder what the kids are saying about me...I probably don't want to know.
11/9/03 5:44 PM
AnneM said...
I have to say, that looks so cozy it makes me want to curl up w/ a mug of hot chocolate. (Of course, that might have something to do w/ the 29' temperature outside.) Defintely not "bag lady".
11/9/03 5:55 PM
mudcat said...
This looks so comfortable.
11/9/03 9:11 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This looks really nice on you, and comfy too! After reading all the reviews for this pattern, I think I will try doing a knock-off using my Garment Designer software. That way the armhole, etc should fit ok - after I try a muslin just in case! : )
11/10/03 10:51 AM
drsue said...
Tee: I'm new and looking for experiences of other petite sewers. I made the same sort of between shoulder and bust line adjustments to my patterns. Since I started doing this I never cut the sleeves until I have put the bodice actually together and measured the length of the armseye sleeve seam. I then adjust the sleeve cap allowance to match the armseye (plus whatever ease I think it will need.) After putting a bodice together I often have to make new adjustments to the armseye. I never can tell how it will be until it's acutally together.
11/15/03 10:52 AM
Julia Graham said...
Your jacket looks terrific! Not shapeless at all. I just got this pattern for Christmas (on wish list given to DH) and am also 5'1" pear-shaped, so very helpful review! Thanks!
12/25/03 9:23 AM
mClones said...
Looks so cozy. You inspired me to look for some boucle - a fabric I've never worked with. You look great in it - excellent fit.
1/9/04 9:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Carina Gardner Little Miss

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-01

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now