Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5103 (Kimono Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2120 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Tee Jay
photo
About Tee Jaystar
TX USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/03 11:04 PM
Last Updated:11/9/03 5:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Har har TeeJay, love your review. I have socks older than my DD also. Meanwhile, looking forward to your photo when you get a chance.
9/27/03 11:39 PM
katharin said...
Great review! I have this pattern too, but have not found a good fabrics for it yet. I look forward to your photo.
9/28/03 4:06 AM
AnneM said...
Fun and informative review. Look forward to the pictures.
9/28/03 7:02 AM
Tiner W said...
Thanks for the review! I also have this pattern but haven't found that perfect fabric yet!
9/28/03 7:55 AM
Mini said...
I am glad this worked for you. It is such a versatile pattern, that looks better than the envelope photo suggests. I think the fringed collar is a good idea, as fringes are so popular right now. You could even make the collar in a single layer if using a self-fringed edge. Even easier:)!
9/28/03 11:32 AM
jlg said...
Great review, TeeJay; can't wait to see your picture. This is on my "some day" list.
9/28/03 7:08 PM
ShereeSews said...
Very attractive pattern, I would really love to see a picture of your project. Thanks for sharing the info on Boucle fabrics!
9/28/03 7:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Geez, I have socks older than my DS as well. When did I start aging? Loved your review - can't wait to see a picture. I've had the perfect fabric for this jacket sitting in my stash for, ahem, a little while.
9/29/03 7:53 AM
Modiste Madness said...
That "socks perspective" of age reminded me of my own "passage of time" perspective. I am around adolescents a lot. Being accused of a bag lady look, during this current adolescent fashion trend, is in all truthfulness a compliment. I hate to be the "old" wet blanket but this will probably be the last time in their life they will be flattered by such tight clothes. Thanks for your review. Your jacket looks good and fits quite well.
10/6/03 9:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Enjoyed your humorous review. The collar came out good, too! Gee, you make me wonder what the kids are saying about me...I probably don't want to know.
11/9/03 5:44 PM
AnneM said...
I have to say, that looks so cozy it makes me want to curl up w/ a mug of hot chocolate. (Of course, that might have something to do w/ the 29' temperature outside.) Defintely not "bag lady".
11/9/03 5:55 PM
mudcat said...
This looks so comfortable.
11/9/03 9:11 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This looks really nice on you, and comfy too! After reading all the reviews for this pattern, I think I will try doing a knock-off using my Garment Designer software. That way the armhole, etc should fit ok - after I try a muslin just in case! : )
11/10/03 10:51 AM
drsue said...
Tee: I'm new and looking for experiences of other petite sewers. I made the same sort of between shoulder and bust line adjustments to my patterns. Since I started doing this I never cut the sleeves until I have put the bodice actually together and measured the length of the armseye sleeve seam. I then adjust the sleeve cap allowance to match the armseye (plus whatever ease I think it will need.) After putting a bodice together I often have to make new adjustments to the armseye. I never can tell how it will be until it's acutally together.
11/15/03 10:52 AM
Julia Graham said...
Your jacket looks terrific! Not shapeless at all. I just got this pattern for Christmas (on wish list given to DH) and am also 5'1" pear-shaped, so very helpful review! Thanks!
12/25/03 9:23 AM
mClones said...
Looks so cozy. You inspired me to look for some boucle - a fabric I've never worked with. You look great in it - excellent fit.
1/9/04 9:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Projects By Jane Sexy Zippy Wristlet
photo
Review by Sdtex on 10/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 9665 Kids' Chair
photo
Review by Wagon on 7/1/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us