Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3536 (Misses Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 418 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/08 9:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
Maybe I am crazy, but I love it. I would make more with less shine. My opinion...wear it with pride!
12/12/08 10:29 PM
CShelley said...
Thanks for the heads up. I have this pattern in my stash and I'll be sure to shorten it as I'm 5'2". And I think your version is wearable...
12/13/08 8:10 AM
LornaJay said...
Well, I think it looks stunning! It was the picture which made me look more closely at this review....
12/13/08 8:20 AM
balancin1 said...
Thanks for the review and I'm sorry you didn't like the finished product. Your top is very lovely and also inspired me to try the pattern.
12/13/08 8:36 AM
poplin said...
But the shape really suits your hourglass figure!
12/13/08 9:11 AM
Christas said...
It looks very pretty on you! When I read your review, I was surprised you didn't like it.
12/13/08 10:21 AM
sewtime said...
I think your new top is so pretty! Beautiful material!
12/13/08 7:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
You look beautiful in teal.
12/14/08 9:48 AM
Em's Summer said...
I think the neckline looks nice on you. The top is a pretty style and stretch velvet is a pretty fabric, but maybe they don't go together? I agree with the earlier comment that it would look very different in a less shiny fabric and I also think that a slightly wider neckline might make a difference, too.
12/14/08 11:18 AM
PrairieTides said...
I think it looks terrific! I just bought this pattern, so I'm glad to read your review. Thanks!
12/29/08 10:53 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Oh, good gravy, gelbean! I just stumbled on this review after posting mine. I agree with the previous commentors who said "Oh but you look so cute in it!" because yes, you do! But I also see exactly the things I DIDN'T like about mine. It looks like maybe you have the cowl neck turned in a little? because it didn't really drape right? And the ruching, which is what I love, is lower - toward the hips, rather than really around the midriff, which is so forgiving? And you had to add at least twice the elastic called for? And the sleeves have such a tiny length of elastic, it hardly has a design effect? Hmmmm! Well, if you get inspired to try again, you know to shorten it. It's a unique top to have in your wardrobe.
12/31/08 1:09 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I think it's lovely...don't know what you don't like so much...I would never say it's a wadder.
1/7/10 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 5886
photo
Review by Nenewhis on 6/12/13
Read Review

Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )
Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7359 SHIRT
photo
Review by LTC on 9/16/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us