Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5513 (Lined coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 496 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/08 6:31 PM
Last Updated:12/23/08 6:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
Nicely made and looks great on Jenna. Sounds like you are having fun too!.
12/23/08 6:41 PM
Lynnelle said...
Wow, nice review and very well constructed garment. I always like your reviews.
12/23/08 6:42 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's super cute. I love the color, the buttons, and bottom hem.
12/23/08 6:50 PM
2BSewing said...
Annette...that red coat is darling! Love both the front and back. That's a special gift you made. I thoroughly enjoyed your review. Besides being a talented sewist, you're a talented writer and I'm still laughing. Great job! :)
12/23/08 6:51 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, Jenna LOVES her coat!!! She has been wearing it ever since she opened the box!! She is STILL wearing it!! She told me to tell you "Thank You" for her!! She is SOOOO EXCITED!!! Thank you SOOO MUCH!! You're so nice!!
12/23/08 6:57 PM
Karendee said...
No! We're not sick of you; I appreciate your detailed reviews with additional spunk. Jenna looks absolutely wonderful in her delightful coat. This is one lovely looking and acting family; their genuine spirit comes forth in their pictures.
12/23/08 7:58 PM
sewtime said...
Darling coat, so pretty!!!
12/23/08 8:08 PM
HLT said...
Come on Annette! I think it's obvious that you are quite loved around here! It truly warms my heart that you share your kindness with new friends. What a great connection thru PR!!! Thanks for including the background info. This is so cute. Just adorable!!!
12/24/08 0:24 AM
Christas said...
Annette! This is the MOST AMAZING coat! It is GORGEOUS! The inside is just as wonderful as the outside. What a labor of love. Goodness, I cannot even imagine all the work that has gone into this beautiful coat. It fits Jenna so perfectly... how you were able to tailor make something from so many miles away with just a few measurements is beyond me! You are one EXTREMELY talented seamstress and a VERY DEAR FRIEND!
12/24/08 1:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
How nice to read the background story to this coat. The coat is wonderful. I made this coat last year for DD and thought it would be a 1 season coat. It's not, she still wears it this winter with much pleasure. I'm sure Jenna will wear hers a lot too. As always: love to read a review by you.
12/24/08 4:46 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Wow! what a lovely coat....you really are talented & think of so many nice details. Who could ever get sick of such a warm, feeling, loving person?
12/24/08 8:31 AM
Mary W said...
Good friends,a beautiful coat,clean sewing rooms and 720 feet of tracing paper-that's a GREAT Christmas story
12/24/08 8:53 AM
bebrown said...
Great job! I'd have been thrilled to pieces with a coat like that when I was 16 (back in the dark ages).
12/24/08 9:11 AM
Jane S said...
Is there a rating for "wonderful story as well as wonderful garment?" Then you get top marks for both. Thanks so much for sharing with all of us. PR is such a fantastic connection and you've made it that much more special.
12/24/08 10:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Jenna is so DAZZINGLY CUTE in that exquisitely beautiful coat! Children, generally with their still purely innocent nature, value things that come from the heart and spirit. The coat embodies your persona: lots of love and your efforts from your generous heart. Jenna will wear the coat so often, cherishing such beautiful reminders of you and the positive things in life. Thirty years later, Sister Sledge's "We are Family" pervades the air musically and spiritually....Indisputably, your lively and warm presence here in PR substantiates that! Love ya Annette!!! ~Louella
12/24/08 1:00 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This was just the perfect thing to read on PR on Christmas Eve. We should name it like "A PR Christmas Story" or "Miracle on PR" or "It's a Wonderful PR Life" Way to go Annette. :) :)
12/24/08 5:22 PM
Birgitte said...
We can never get sick of you, Annette. Your warmth always comes across in your reviews, and this coat is proof positive. Beautifully made inside and out, detailed, well-fitted, but, most of all, heartfelt. What a mensch you are, Annette. Merry Christmas!
12/24/08 9:04 PM
Lori V said...
How darling the coat looks on Jenna. How fun for you and their family.
12/24/08 9:49 PM
KateS said...
Beautiful! What a darling coat!!!!
12/25/08 5:10 AM
ITAdmin said...
All these are cute, but the coat is outstanding. Love the buttons!
12/26/08 8:23 AM
Mahler said...
Thank you for all those wonderful construction tips. You are sooo generous and no we are not tired of you yet ! Why should we. PR without you would not be the same dear prolific sewist !!! This is a master piece. I have been looking at the pattern and I wanted to sew one for my self. Am I too old for that ? I thought the Scandinavian look would be nice for me as well. I think I would complete it with a faux persian hat. Wonderful. You are so good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/27/08 9:20 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous coat! Great review. Jeanna looks great in it too>Thanks for posting alterations tips.
12/27/08 9:47 PM
LauraDee said...
Oh... to have a beautiful little girl to sew for! My 16 year old son, though much beloved and endlessly endearing, just does not fill that niche in my heart. Good job! The coat is beautiful! Tell her she is not allowed to grow until the coat is worn out, okay?
12/30/08 1:36 PM
BenaeQuee said...
That looks lovely! I left off the top buttons on mine too (I also left off the other 3 decorative ones). I also opted to not sew down the pleats, it looks better that way :-) Beautiful Coat :-D
1/12/09 4:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by lynne1nor on 2/16/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8287
photo
Review by leanmeanse... on 10/17/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us