Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8409 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 939 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo
Friend of PR
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 40
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 10:25 AM
Last Updated:12/22/08 10:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erica B. said...
The dress looks beautiful on you! The fit is impeccable!
12/22/08 11:22 AM
Bernadette W said...
Your dress is fabulous! Your post muslin fitting issues with the tight armseye et al may be a function of 1). adding the lining and 2). muslin may be more "forgiving" (stretchy) than your fashion fabric. I have had this problem in the past--even knit "muslins" for knit garments have failed to predict success if the stretch factor is not comparable.
12/22/08 12:21 PM
Karendee said...
I'm sorry you're not totally satisfied with your finished product, but you look smashing in your dress. The fit is most flattering, and the workmanship is lovely.
12/22/08 12:27 PM
nannykk said...
Lovely dress. A perfect fit. Congratulations!
12/22/08 12:28 PM
Mahler said...
Excellent review. This issues you mention do not show up on pictures. Your dress is gorgeous. I love the fit on you. You did great !!! to answer your question, yes sometimes I live with little misfit issues because I just do not fill like unstitch difficult parts of garment. You will see in an upcoming review. I recently had problem with a skirt and decided on finishing it and wearing it anyway. With time, you will forget those little, little flaws. ;-)
12/22/08 1:29 PM
Karen6790 said...
Elegant is definitely the word for this dress. The fit is beautiful and the style itself is classic. You'll get years of wear out of this, and your fitting issues don't show at all. Beautiful.
12/22/08 1:38 PM
loohoo44 said...
I also can't see any of the issues you're talking about, it looks fabulous!
12/22/08 1:45 PM
carolynw said...
I think you look totally fab in this dress - even tho you had some issues you can be sure you will look elegant and lovely in thsi dress!
12/22/08 2:21 PM
Birgitte said...
You look very elegant, a beautiful design on you. Great review.
12/22/08 3:15 PM
EleanorSews said...
In spite of the issues you had along the way, the dress appears to fit beutifully and it certainly has a nice range of flexibility from work thru dress occasions.
12/22/08 4:22 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the review. The dress looks fantastic.
12/22/08 4:55 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your dress turned out beautifully and it fits you really nicely! I'm sorry that the pattern gave you conniptions and that you don't like the finished product. Maybe with a little time you'll forget the pain of its creation (like childbirth?). I made your dress's twin sister (in a slightly different colorway) a few weeks ago--suppose I should get it hemmed and reviewed!
12/22/08 5:11 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks so good on you... Thanks for the thorough review.
12/22/08 6:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress.
12/22/08 6:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
The dress turned out lovely depite your sewing issues. Thanks for the helpful review. I have the See&Sew Butterick version (which is the same pattern) on my to-sew list.
12/22/08 7:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Electrifying dress on you, CindyAnn!
12/22/08 7:50 PM
Dei said...
This is a polished piece and you look wonderful.
12/22/08 11:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think your dress looks good on you. I can appreciate and have felt the not wanting to deal with it feeling when several fitting issues keep cropping up. Again I think your dress looks great,but we all know that the wearer is the one that has the final feeling/say.
12/23/08 5:34 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress Cindy Ann!
12/23/08 8:58 AM
DivaQ said...
This is a nice dress!
12/23/08 9:47 AM
HLT said...
A lovely classic looking dress. Nice job!
12/24/08 0:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7517 DRESS
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 3/16/10
Read Review

Burda 9493 Pattern
Burda 9493 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-23 Bert Shorts
photo
Review by lara900 on 8/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us