SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-113 (Knit Pleated Top)

15 more reviews
Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 9:36 PM
Last Updated:12/22/08 9:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Hey, CONGRATULATIONS on your first BWOF! Beautiful, beautiful work. I like your idea of making this as a layering piece for winter. Now let's head upstairs and see what stash I can use for this one. Great review, thanks!
1/3/09 10:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty. I liked this top in the magazine, but so far they've all turned out loose. I like your idea of making it more fitted. Thanks!
12/24/08 10:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top! Very flattering on you!Congratulations on making your first Burda WOF! Are you hooked yet?
12/23/08 2:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Dear Little Miss I-Made-The-Smallest-Size: Even though your top turned out a little big, as you say, I think it looks GREAT! And like you said, you can always layer under it if you want to. This is a very cute pattern! That's a great idea, using different colored pencils for your tracing. I recently traced off a pants pattern from an Ottobre magazine that MeggieLuLu and Christa gave me, and I thought, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG. Of course, I traced off the BIGGEST size and had to add in the hips, OKAY? At any rate, I feel like a whole new tracing world has opened up to me now! Watch out BWOF and Jali, here I come!
12/23/08 1:00 PM
figtree said...
Very nice, good to see another review of the fit on this one, congrats on your first BWOF, I started with one and haven't looked back!
12/23/08 9:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this review and it turned out cute, as usual. I have only made one BWOF pattern a long time ago and it was for charity. I actually like adding the seam allowances, too --5/8 " SA's waste too much fabric and 1/4" SA's are a trial for me to serge, so 3/8" is best for me. I agree that you could get a better fit, but this muslin will be very nice for casual wear. You do a nice job with your pleating, too.
12/23/08 9:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
12/23/08 6:57 AM
LornaJay said...
Looks good! BWOF is notorious for relatively low necklines. Here in Europe it seems we're used to showing a bit more chest than our trans-Atlantic cousins ;-)
12/23/08 6:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great job on your first BWOF! I trace all my patterns, too. :)
12/23/08 5:26 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice top. Congratulations on sewing your first BWOF. I'm sure you going to like their patterns.
12/23/08 3:15 AM
sewtime said...
Cute, cute!! Looks great on you!!
12/23/08 0:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Welcome to the World of BWOF ! This was an ideal pattern to start with and you have a great result :) Congratulations ! !
12/23/08 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

More Info
Kwik Sew 2547

photo
by: myraminx

Review