SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-113 (Knit Pleated Top)

15 more reviews
Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 9:36 PM
Last Updated:12/22/08 9:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Hey, CONGRATULATIONS on your first BWOF! Beautiful, beautiful work. I like your idea of making this as a layering piece for winter. Now let's head upstairs and see what stash I can use for this one. Great review, thanks!
1/3/09 10:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty. I liked this top in the magazine, but so far they've all turned out loose. I like your idea of making it more fitted. Thanks!
12/24/08 10:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top! Very flattering on you!Congratulations on making your first Burda WOF! Are you hooked yet?
12/23/08 2:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Dear Little Miss I-Made-The-Smallest-Size: Even though your top turned out a little big, as you say, I think it looks GREAT! And like you said, you can always layer under it if you want to. This is a very cute pattern! That's a great idea, using different colored pencils for your tracing. I recently traced off a pants pattern from an Ottobre magazine that MeggieLuLu and Christa gave me, and I thought, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG. Of course, I traced off the BIGGEST size and had to add in the hips, OKAY? At any rate, I feel like a whole new tracing world has opened up to me now! Watch out BWOF and Jali, here I come!
12/23/08 1:00 PM
figtree said...
Very nice, good to see another review of the fit on this one, congrats on your first BWOF, I started with one and haven't looked back!
12/23/08 9:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this review and it turned out cute, as usual. I have only made one BWOF pattern a long time ago and it was for charity. I actually like adding the seam allowances, too --5/8 " SA's waste too much fabric and 1/4" SA's are a trial for me to serge, so 3/8" is best for me. I agree that you could get a better fit, but this muslin will be very nice for casual wear. You do a nice job with your pleating, too.
12/23/08 9:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
12/23/08 6:57 AM
LornaJay said...
Looks good! BWOF is notorious for relatively low necklines. Here in Europe it seems we're used to showing a bit more chest than our trans-Atlantic cousins ;-)
12/23/08 6:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great job on your first BWOF! I trace all my patterns, too. :)
12/23/08 5:26 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice top. Congratulations on sewing your first BWOF. I'm sure you going to like their patterns.
12/23/08 3:15 AM
sewtime said...
Cute, cute!! Looks great on you!!
12/23/08 0:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Welcome to the World of BWOF ! This was an ideal pattern to start with and you have a great result :) Congratulations ! !
12/23/08 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s Portrait Blouse

photo
by: LDT2011

Review