SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-113 (Knit Pleated Top)

15 more reviews
Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 9:36 PM
Last Updated:12/22/08 9:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Welcome to the World of BWOF ! This was an ideal pattern to start with and you have a great result :) Congratulations ! !
12/23/08 0:19 AM
sewtime said...
Cute, cute!! Looks great on you!!
12/23/08 0:37 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice top. Congratulations on sewing your first BWOF. I'm sure you going to like their patterns.
12/23/08 3:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great job on your first BWOF! I trace all my patterns, too. :)
12/23/08 5:26 AM
LornaJay said...
Looks good! BWOF is notorious for relatively low necklines. Here in Europe it seems we're used to showing a bit more chest than our trans-Atlantic cousins ;-)
12/23/08 6:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
12/23/08 6:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this review and it turned out cute, as usual. I have only made one BWOF pattern a long time ago and it was for charity. I actually like adding the seam allowances, too --5/8 " SA's waste too much fabric and 1/4" SA's are a trial for me to serge, so 3/8" is best for me. I agree that you could get a better fit, but this muslin will be very nice for casual wear. You do a nice job with your pleating, too.
12/23/08 9:02 AM
figtree said...
Very nice, good to see another review of the fit on this one, congrats on your first BWOF, I started with one and haven't looked back!
12/23/08 9:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Dear Little Miss I-Made-The-Smallest-Size: Even though your top turned out a little big, as you say, I think it looks GREAT! And like you said, you can always layer under it if you want to. This is a very cute pattern! That's a great idea, using different colored pencils for your tracing. I recently traced off a pants pattern from an Ottobre magazine that MeggieLuLu and Christa gave me, and I thought, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG. Of course, I traced off the BIGGEST size and had to add in the hips, OKAY? At any rate, I feel like a whole new tracing world has opened up to me now! Watch out BWOF and Jali, here I come!
12/23/08 1:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top! Very flattering on you!Congratulations on making your first Burda WOF! Are you hooked yet?
12/23/08 2:20 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty. I liked this top in the magazine, but so far they've all turned out loose. I like your idea of making it more fitted. Thanks!
12/24/08 10:06 AM
cindy-lou said...
Hey, CONGRATULATIONS on your first BWOF! Beautiful, beautiful work. I like your idea of making this as a layering piece for winter. Now let's head upstairs and see what stash I can use for this one. Great review, thanks!
1/3/09 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other Patterns of Fashion

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now