Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-113 (Knit Pleated Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 499 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 9:36 PM
Last Updated:12/22/08 9:44 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Welcome to the World of BWOF ! This was an ideal pattern to start with and you have a great result :) Congratulations ! !
12/23/08 0:19 AM
sewtime said...
Cute, cute!! Looks great on you!!
12/23/08 0:37 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice top. Congratulations on sewing your first BWOF. I'm sure you going to like their patterns.
12/23/08 3:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great job on your first BWOF! I trace all my patterns, too. :)
12/23/08 5:26 AM
LornaJay said...
Looks good! BWOF is notorious for relatively low necklines. Here in Europe it seems we're used to showing a bit more chest than our trans-Atlantic cousins ;-)
12/23/08 6:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
12/23/08 6:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this review and it turned out cute, as usual. I have only made one BWOF pattern a long time ago and it was for charity. I actually like adding the seam allowances, too --5/8 " SA's waste too much fabric and 1/4" SA's are a trial for me to serge, so 3/8" is best for me. I agree that you could get a better fit, but this muslin will be very nice for casual wear. You do a nice job with your pleating, too.
12/23/08 9:02 AM
figtree said...
Very nice, good to see another review of the fit on this one, congrats on your first BWOF, I started with one and haven't looked back!
12/23/08 9:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Dear Little Miss I-Made-The-Smallest-Size: Even though your top turned out a little big, as you say, I think it looks GREAT! And like you said, you can always layer under it if you want to. This is a very cute pattern! That's a great idea, using different colored pencils for your tracing. I recently traced off a pants pattern from an Ottobre magazine that MeggieLuLu and Christa gave me, and I thought, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG. Of course, I traced off the BIGGEST size and had to add in the hips, OKAY? At any rate, I feel like a whole new tracing world has opened up to me now! Watch out BWOF and Jali, here I come!
12/23/08 1:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top! Very flattering on you!Congratulations on making your first Burda WOF! Are you hooked yet?
12/23/08 2:20 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty. I liked this top in the magazine, but so far they've all turned out loose. I like your idea of making it more fitted. Thanks!
12/24/08 10:06 AM
cindy-lou said...
Hey, CONGRATULATIONS on your first BWOF! Beautiful, beautiful work. I like your idea of making this as a layering piece for winter. Now let's head upstairs and see what stash I can use for this one. Great review, thanks!
1/3/09 10:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Neue Mode 23279 AvantGarde
photo
Review by Beek on 3/20/10
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 203 Pattern
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3024
photo
Review by SewingMrsC on 10/18/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us