SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-133 (Faux lamb coat)

Viewed 459 times 
Reviewed by:dbsewer
photo

 
 
About dbsewerstar
MA USA
Member since: 1/16/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/08 8:40 PM
Last Updated:12/26/08 9:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Sorry, I can't get the photo function to work properly. I'll try again when I'm not so irritated.
12/26/08 8:57 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for the tip on sewing faux fur. Your coat is very pretty. I have looked at that fur at EOS but too scared to cut into fabric that expensive. :(
12/26/08 9:45 PM
Athene said...
Oooh - so very posh looking - I love faux persian lamb.
12/26/08 9:51 PM
Trixie1955 said...
On that bottom photo link, I copy and pasted it without that last " at the very end. I was able to see the coat and really thought it was a major accomplishment! Very nice.
12/26/08 11:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat! Your niece is very lucky!
12/27/08 1:18 AM
VtMartha said...
Mmmm! Yummy!
12/27/08 9:56 AM
Deepika said...
Denise, the coat is gorgeous! I am on a coat kick lately and you've really inspired me to sew with this fabric. So lovely!
12/27/08 10:09 AM
Robin S said...
Very pretty and rich looking.
12/27/08 11:09 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is one great looking coat - the fabric is wonderful!
12/27/08 11:31 AM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!
12/27/08 12:58 PM
Robin Denning said...
Lovely coat and thanks for the tips on sewing with faux fur.
12/27/08 4:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful coat. I bought some inexpensive faux persian lamb at Fabric.com but haven't been brave enough to use it yet.
12/27/08 6:07 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gourgeous and yeah, trendy baby! I am not quite ready to try faux fur right now but when I finally do, I will come back on your tips, thanks for the review.
12/29/08 8:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat. I've never sewn with this kind of fabric, looks like I must try sometime. Thanks for the tips on sewing this.
12/29/08 11:02 AM
dbsewer said...
FYI, Burda rates this pattern two and a half circles (good for skilled beginners to intermediate) but I disagree with this rating if you're making it in faux fur. BWOF gives the same rating to this jacket without any collar in a regular fabric. Fur is a bit tougher to work with. Their more advanced ratings are all on patterns with notched collars which I find easy to sew. Go figure. :-) Thanks for all the feedback.
12/30/08 7:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2362

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now