SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-133 (Faux lamb coat)

Viewed 460 times 
Reviewed by:dbsewer
photo

 
 
About dbsewerstar
MA USA
Member since: 1/16/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/08 8:40 PM
Last Updated:12/26/08 9:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
FYI, Burda rates this pattern two and a half circles (good for skilled beginners to intermediate) but I disagree with this rating if you're making it in faux fur. BWOF gives the same rating to this jacket without any collar in a regular fabric. Fur is a bit tougher to work with. Their more advanced ratings are all on patterns with notched collars which I find easy to sew. Go figure. :-) Thanks for all the feedback.
12/30/08 7:49 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat. I've never sewn with this kind of fabric, looks like I must try sometime. Thanks for the tips on sewing this.
12/29/08 11:02 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gourgeous and yeah, trendy baby! I am not quite ready to try faux fur right now but when I finally do, I will come back on your tips, thanks for the review.
12/29/08 8:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful coat. I bought some inexpensive faux persian lamb at Fabric.com but haven't been brave enough to use it yet.
12/27/08 6:07 PM
Robin Denning said...
Lovely coat and thanks for the tips on sewing with faux fur.
12/27/08 4:16 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!
12/27/08 12:58 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is one great looking coat - the fabric is wonderful!
12/27/08 11:31 AM
Robin S said...
Very pretty and rich looking.
12/27/08 11:09 AM
Deepika said...
Denise, the coat is gorgeous! I am on a coat kick lately and you've really inspired me to sew with this fabric. So lovely!
12/27/08 10:09 AM
VtMartha said...
Mmmm! Yummy!
12/27/08 9:56 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat! Your niece is very lucky!
12/27/08 1:18 AM
Trixie1955 said...
On that bottom photo link, I copy and pasted it without that last " at the very end. I was able to see the coat and really thought it was a major accomplishment! Very nice.
12/26/08 11:09 PM
Athene said...
Oooh - so very posh looking - I love faux persian lamb.
12/26/08 9:51 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for the tip on sewing faux fur. Your coat is very pretty. I have looked at that fur at EOS but too scared to cut into fabric that expensive. :(
12/26/08 9:45 PM
dbsewer said...
Sorry, I can't get the photo function to work properly. I'll try again when I'm not so irritated.
12/26/08 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5857

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now