Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-133 (Faux lamb coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 459 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:dbsewer
photo
Friend of PR
About dbsewerstar
MA USA
Member since: 1/16/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/08 8:40 PM
Last Updated:12/26/08 9:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Sorry, I can't get the photo function to work properly. I'll try again when I'm not so irritated.
12/26/08 8:57 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for the tip on sewing faux fur. Your coat is very pretty. I have looked at that fur at EOS but too scared to cut into fabric that expensive. :(
12/26/08 9:45 PM
Athene said...
Oooh - so very posh looking - I love faux persian lamb.
12/26/08 9:51 PM
Trixie1955 said...
On that bottom photo link, I copy and pasted it without that last " at the very end. I was able to see the coat and really thought it was a major accomplishment! Very nice.
12/26/08 11:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat! Your niece is very lucky!
12/27/08 1:18 AM
VtMartha said...
Mmmm! Yummy!
12/27/08 9:56 AM
Deepika said...
Denise, the coat is gorgeous! I am on a coat kick lately and you've really inspired me to sew with this fabric. So lovely!
12/27/08 10:09 AM
Robin S said...
Very pretty and rich looking.
12/27/08 11:09 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is one great looking coat - the fabric is wonderful!
12/27/08 11:31 AM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!
12/27/08 12:58 PM
Robin Denning said...
Lovely coat and thanks for the tips on sewing with faux fur.
12/27/08 4:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful coat. I bought some inexpensive faux persian lamb at Fabric.com but haven't been brave enough to use it yet.
12/27/08 6:07 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gourgeous and yeah, trendy baby! I am not quite ready to try faux fur right now but when I finally do, I will come back on your tips, thanks for the review.
12/29/08 8:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat. I've never sewn with this kind of fabric, looks like I must try sometime. Thanks for the tips on sewing this.
12/29/08 11:02 AM
dbsewer said...
FYI, Burda rates this pattern two and a half circles (good for skilled beginners to intermediate) but I disagree with this rating if you're making it in faux fur. BWOF gives the same rating to this jacket without any collar in a regular fabric. Fur is a bit tougher to work with. Their more advanced ratings are all on patterns with notched collars which I find easy to sew. Go figure. :-) Thanks for all the feedback.
12/30/08 7:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by c.l.w. on 3/26/12
Read Review

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by petitesewi... on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us