Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5205 (Boatneck Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2137 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/03 4:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
This is so pretty! I've been waiting for just the right fabric to make up this view--thanks for the warning on the neck.
10/1/03 5:00 PM
Tee Jay said...
Rhonda, I made this same top in a green boucle, too, but not a nice boucle, mine is a bit scratchy from Jo-Ann's. You're right, I have a hard time telling the front from the back. I always trace my patterns like this onto that gridded interfacing material from J's so I don't ruin the expensive original, also, you may want to go up a size for diff material.
10/1/03 5:58 PM
Tee Jay said...
I meant to also say your top looks very good, just hit the return button too soon.
10/1/03 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
The top looks fantastic. It looks like it was probably worth all the wrestling with the fabric.
10/1/03 6:11 PM
KristenI said...
I also recently got this pattern. I can't wait to make it, but got to finish what I'm working on first. Great review. Thanks!
10/1/03 6:44 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This top really looks great in that pretty boucle. It always makes me feel so much better when someone has the same experience with a pattern as I did. I tried this one last winter in some black boucle with limited stretch from EOS. It was so tight I had to cut the cowl off or risk losing my ears! I will definitely size up on this one. Your review reminded me that I should be trying this one again, this time in a stretchier fabric.
10/1/03 6:48 PM
Diane E said...
Rhonda, your top is very very nice. I love that color and love boucle. I know what you mean about keeping track of the front and the back. Your point is very well taken. I hope Santa Baby gets your hints. Can we help by dropping him a few anonymous electronic nudges?
10/1/03 7:26 PM
AnneM said...
Great review, great top! (Good luck on the serger.) I am interested in the boat-neck version of this pattern, particularly because of that dart on the shoulder.
10/1/03 8:27 PM
Karen Bowers said...
it looks a lot like an eileen fisher sweater i got last winter! good for you!
10/1/03 8:29 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Nice cuddly winter top, Rhonda! I have this pattern, just haven't gotten around to making it up yet. Perhaps if I find something for winter. BTW, I love your reference to Santa Baby... ;}
10/1/03 10:36 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Thanks for all the kind comments, ladies! You all were reading while I was sleeping. LOL Anyway, I should have pointed out that the pattern doesn't seem to give any indication on how much stretch the fabric needs to have, but it should probably have more than 20-25% stretch across the grain. I'm not a stretch expert, unfortunately, so can't really tell exactly how much. Tee Jay, I too trace my patterns, but it seems that everything about this pattern was flimsy from the envelope, the pattern paper and even the instruction sheet is thinner and floppier. For $16 I thought it would all feel more substantial. The final product was worth it; and I do love the fabric. But I'll probably pass on any more sweater knits until I have that serger. ;-)
10/2/03 2:54 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Well, I simply have to try this boucle stuff, even though down here I'll only wear it a few times. Looks cozy - can't wait to see it on you at PR weekend!
10/2/03 12:19 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
The sweater looks great--I love that fabric. Despite the problems you described, it looks like it was worth it.
10/3/03 2:29 PM
SANDI DEVOY said...
I made this in a slinky from CJ and had pretty much the same experience as you did, except that I do have a serger and it is helpfu. But I was disappointed in the sizing, I have used LH patterns before so I thought I could use my usual size:(. I want to try it in a boucle as a boatneck, not a funnel.
10/5/03 11:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Betty, it was worth it. The fabric is really wonderful and perfect for this top. It doesn't photo very well, unfortunately. Sandi, the pix of the model's top on the pattern envelope certainly indicate that the pattern has plenty of ease. I guess the lesson learned here is to flat pattern measure regardless of the picture. ;-)
10/5/03 12:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Marfy 1441 Sporty Jacket
photo
Review by julesberry on 11/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns HP108 Geisha Girl
photo
Review by myrayerets... on 11/11/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us