SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> vintage 8299 (A How To Sew Patern)

Viewed 235 times 
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/09 9:32 AM
Last Updated:1/1/09 9:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty blouse.
1/1/09 9:46 AM
Michelle L said...
Your shirt turned out lovely. Don't hesitate to review vintage patterns, please! I have been collecting vintage patterns but haven't worked up the bravery yet to try them out....but I love to see the lovely clothes (and contemporary!!) clothes that are produced. The more reviews, and you will encourage people like me to do more than just admire the vintage patterns.
1/1/09 9:54 AM
appleC said...
Thank you so much for sharing your review! I have the same pattern and same size 16 too. I bought the pattern because of the unique collar but I haven't sewn it for 2 reasons. Firstly, this pattern doesn't indicate finished garment bust/waist measurement, I don't know if size 16 will fit me --my normal Big 4 size is 12/14. How do you feel about the shoulder width? I assume most vintage patterns have narrower shoulder width(?) Also, I am thinking of using a silky type of fabric, but I am afraid the one-piece collar will collapse because it doesn't have a stabilized collar band. Maybe I should stabilized the lower portion of the collar?
1/1/09 10:28 AM
Sharon M said...
Oh! It's lovely!
1/1/09 10:50 AM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse!!! Great job!!
1/1/09 11:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great modern/retro look on you! Cool collar!
1/1/09 1:20 PM
halleyscomet said...
Pretty blouse! Don't you wish patterns were still 65 cents!
1/1/09 4:57 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
appleC I usually try to buy the vintage patterns around my bust (36"), until I read your comments I forgot that this one wasn't my size! I was happy with the shoulder width with this pattern, but I usually fit between 14/16 in the Big 4. the patterns don't necessarily have narrow shoulders but the armscye is smaller - and in a blouse like this more comfortable. When I lift my arm, only the sleeve is raised, not the whole body of the blouse. I suggest measuring the pattern yourself to see how much ease is there. I have a feeling it would be better for you to try and down-size your pattern. There's a great article from Threads # 101 that explains how to grade a pattern up or down in size. It's time-consuming, but it works! As for the fabric? I'd stabilize the whole piece, not just the band. And even if it's not silk, try silk organza (NOT poly, it has to be silk), it works miracles as a stabilizer! Hope this helps!
1/1/09 9:27 PM
fryman said...
I just love learning that there are many of us out there who hold on to discontinued patterns, regardless of what is currently shown. It is a classic and I love your blouse. Show me more!!
1/2/09 11:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking blouse. Love the stripes.
1/2/09 10:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review