Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: vintage 8299 (A How To Sew Patern) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 234 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/09 9:32 AM
Last Updated:1/1/09 9:37 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty blouse.
1/1/09 9:46 AM
Michelle L said...
Your shirt turned out lovely. Don't hesitate to review vintage patterns, please! I have been collecting vintage patterns but haven't worked up the bravery yet to try them out....but I love to see the lovely clothes (and contemporary!!) clothes that are produced. The more reviews, and you will encourage people like me to do more than just admire the vintage patterns.
1/1/09 9:54 AM
appleC said...
Thank you so much for sharing your review! I have the same pattern and same size 16 too. I bought the pattern because of the unique collar but I haven't sewn it for 2 reasons. Firstly, this pattern doesn't indicate finished garment bust/waist measurement, I don't know if size 16 will fit me --my normal Big 4 size is 12/14. How do you feel about the shoulder width? I assume most vintage patterns have narrower shoulder width(?) Also, I am thinking of using a silky type of fabric, but I am afraid the one-piece collar will collapse because it doesn't have a stabilized collar band. Maybe I should stabilized the lower portion of the collar?
1/1/09 10:28 AM
Sharon M said...
Oh! It's lovely!
1/1/09 10:50 AM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse!!! Great job!!
1/1/09 11:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great modern/retro look on you! Cool collar!
1/1/09 1:20 PM
halleyscomet said...
Pretty blouse! Don't you wish patterns were still 65 cents!
1/1/09 4:57 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
appleC I usually try to buy the vintage patterns around my bust (36"), until I read your comments I forgot that this one wasn't my size! I was happy with the shoulder width with this pattern, but I usually fit between 14/16 in the Big 4. the patterns don't necessarily have narrow shoulders but the armscye is smaller - and in a blouse like this more comfortable. When I lift my arm, only the sleeve is raised, not the whole body of the blouse. I suggest measuring the pattern yourself to see how much ease is there. I have a feeling it would be better for you to try and down-size your pattern. There's a great article from Threads # 101 that explains how to grade a pattern up or down in size. It's time-consuming, but it works! As for the fabric? I'd stabilize the whole piece, not just the band. And even if it's not silk, try silk organza (NOT poly, it has to be silk), it works miracles as a stabilizer! Hope this helps!
1/1/09 9:27 PM
fryman said...
I just love learning that there are many of us out there who hold on to discontinued patterns, regardless of what is currently shown. It is a classic and I love your blouse. Show me more!!
1/2/09 11:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking blouse. Love the stripes.
1/2/09 10:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8582 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mhoutz on 1/8/12
Read Review

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40033
photo
Review by Noile on 4/10/12
Read Review

Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3703 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3703 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us