SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1082 (MISSES' SKIRT)

9 more reviews
Viewed 624 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/09 11:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Seeing your skirt, my first impression was - Stunning! What an original! So after reading your review I thought - whenever I try on something different than I'm used too, I never like it - but it I'm "stuck with it" either because it is a gift from someone I treasure so I wear it or I bought it because it was such a good deal and its merits were too good and someone I trusted (even a total stranger who has no motive to agree with me) really liked it on me - I later even much later - (and many compliments from others) am quite pleased with it. So maybe this is what is happening to you too - this is just a different look than you are used to. And it is a Stunner!!
1/8/09 0:17 AM
craftylady66 said...
I think it's stunning, too!
1/8/09 10:53 AM
sew42mom said...
I agree with the others - this is stunning!
1/8/09 12:05 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'm with you Karen - I like the skirt, but I do NOT like that fabric in that skirt. I agree, in the plaid the side panels look - um - ??? Hopefully co-worker will like it.
1/8/09 12:23 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I live the contrasting panel! I see what you mean about the plaid, but what a stunning idea!
1/8/09 4:09 PM
katie lynne said...
Love this skirt and your use of the plaid in this way. So effective. Cool how you inserted the contrast panel piece of dark brown. This looks like it would be a very flattering silhouette. It feels Retro and Fashion Forward at the same time. I'm so sorry you don't care for it; I think its a winner!
1/8/09 5:02 PM
MammaJamma said...
I think the contrast insertion is very innovative. It looks like leather to me. I think that would be an interesting detail to follow up with. We always learn something, don't we?
1/8/09 10:07 PM
nicegirl said...
Too bad this ended up a wadder! It is obviously well made and the design is interesting. I agree with persevering that if you gave it time you might warm to it, but if you'd feel better having it out of your possession your co-worker is about to get lucky.
1/9/09 11:03 AM
OlindaM said...
I think it a really flattering shape and clever use of fabric - clever you and well done! You have a very lucky co worker!
1/12/09 11:37 AM
petro said...
I think this looks rather good in the photo. I'm part way through doing the straight version and having doubts, mainly about the way the front shaping seems to bag out the area over the stomach - not something I want to accentuate.
1/18/09 2:49 PM
Yvonski said...
How nice of you to pass on your sewing.
7/4/09 4:26 PM
annamm said...
I like what you've done to the yoke.
4/20/11 7:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-110

photo
by: flyawayhai...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now