SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 3005 (1930s Butterfly Blouse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 416 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/09 9:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Ohhh, pretty. I love these kinds of retro clothes.
1/11/09 11:20 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, what I want to know is where's the bathroom picture (although I must admit I'm not having any trouble envisioning it). :o))) This is SOOOO pretty! I know exactly what you mean though about wimpy shoulders. Just call me "Wimpy." I still think you should keep it around for a while, in case you change your mind, it's turned out so beautifully.
1/11/09 12:21 PM
michellep74 said...
This is such a pretty blouse...I hope it "grows" on you after it's had a chance to age a bit and you've been away from it for a little while.
1/11/09 2:34 PM
Kay Y said...
I'd have to see a picture of you with your arms down to see if I would agree about the blouse on you - super-Clin looks good in it, I think. It would be so pretty with a flowy white skirt or palazzo pants.
1/11/09 4:05 PM
BetsyV said...
Thank you for the important wearability note! Sometimes we forget we actually have to do everything else in our spiffy new clothes!
1/11/09 7:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
It's a bird, it's a plane.....No, it's really the gorgeous Super Clin! I really like the top and from my perspective looks lovely on you! I really appreciate your very timely, informative, and entertaining review....I have this pattern somewhere....
1/11/09 9:30 PM
moushka said...
Oh, Clin, I had to laugh at your description - that's exactly what it would look like on me. It's a lovely style but I agree it needs strong shoulders. I think it would be flattering on a Katherine Hepburn-like figure, to soften all the angles, but if you're already soft and curvy, you need a little more structure. I'll bet small shoulder pads would make a world of difference, but not everyone likes wearing them. Maybe worth a try, though, before you discard it. Thanks for a great review. Sue
1/12/09 1:53 AM
Peggy L said...
Very light and airy looking! Great review - its always helpful to know when a pattern doesn't suit a particular body type (or age group!).
1/12/09 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Sue I did try the shoulder pads - I have to wear them in just about everything so your suggestion is A1. May try them again when I am a little more positive about this blouse - right now I am still on the "nice pattern but not for me" stage
1/12/09 9:04 AM
ITAdmin said...
Well, what can I say? I think it's pretty, but we can't wear clothes that interfere with the necessities of life. I bet the sleeves would present a problem in restaurants and buffet lines, too. Thanks for pointing out that pattern website; it looks interesting. I'm going to check it out.
1/12/09 7:20 PM
Birgitte said...
LOL! You paint a pretty picture, Clin! I actually considered this blouse at one time but the sleeves made me think twice. I can't think of anyone wearing this without flapping their arms around a lot to make sure people can see they have a figure :)) Maybe you could bring it along on the next cruise- as a dancer I can tell you it would be wonderfully dramatic on the floor ;) Just loved this review, thank you!
1/12/09 7:36 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, only you know what is and what isn't for you. In the photo, it looks quite lovely and I'm sure a gentle breeze would make those sleeves flutter gently (and I'm not implying like bats' wings either!) I hope you are able to wear it out sometime.
1/27/09 11:18 PM
SandraB said...
This is a beautiful blouse Clin.
6/24/09 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-10

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Vogue Patterns 2064

photo
by: Ellenatlga

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now