SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5186 (Semi-fitted top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 397 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/09 5:25 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said... (1/15/09 3:08 PM) Reply
What a beautiful top. And such a shame it was misery and then some to work on. Thanks for the warning...
amy in mpls said... (1/15/09 12:53 PM) Reply
Wow, i love it, very lovely!
nicegirl said... (1/15/09 11:45 AM) Reply
I was going to thank you for reminding me about this great pattern but now I wonder! LOL Your top is dynamite; thanks for the heads up about the drafting issues.
Kaitlinnegan said... (1/15/09 11:13 AM) Reply
Wow, this looks fabulous! Too bad it wasn't really "very easy," but the end result is sure worth your trouble! Thanks for the warning! :)
ITAdmin said... (1/15/09 7:33 AM) Reply
Your top looks great, but I'm glad I read the review. I like the style of this and was thinking of buying it at the Butterick sale this weekend. Thanks for pointing out the problems; my liking doesn't go that far.
Sherril Miller said... (1/14/09 9:47 PM) Reply
Very stylish. I love the color too.
sewtime said... (1/14/09 8:54 PM) Reply
Love your top!!! Great color and style!!
mars418 said... (1/14/09 8:44 PM) Reply
Thanks sooo much for the review. I made this earlier this spring as a very new back to sewing beginner (before I knew about Big 4 sizing and PR) and it was a disaster. I ended up about 3 sizes too large and couldn't save it. It's now living in a land fill somewhere! Your review helped me understand that maybe it just wasn't me!
kathleencramer said... (1/14/09 8:34 PM) Reply
Sorry the pattern was such a troublsome one! but your finished product really is striking. Nice job.
Lori V said... (1/14/09 8:19 PM) Reply
Beautiful, chic blouse.
solosmocker said... (1/14/09 7:46 PM) Reply
I did do the re inforcing and clipping suggested. That is the way I finally pullde it into shape, but that was forcing the issue. Thanks for the compliments both of you.
Allie in Hong Kong said... (1/14/09 6:57 PM) Reply
It looks great, I love this pattern. I don't recall having any trouble when I made it so I'll have to go back and look at the instructions again. (maybe sewing with BWOF has made me more forgiving of Butterick instructions!). I do recall you have to reinforce and clip right into a marking on the neckline to get the seam to fit. Anyway well done for persevering it looks great.
Christas said... (1/14/09 5:37 PM) Reply
Very cute top! Love the color!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6649

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
McCall's 6650

photo
by: Sewlful

Review