Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5186 (Semi-fitted top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 393 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/09 5:25 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very cute top! Love the color!
1/14/09 5:37 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
It looks great, I love this pattern. I don't recall having any trouble when I made it so I'll have to go back and look at the instructions again. (maybe sewing with BWOF has made me more forgiving of Butterick instructions!). I do recall you have to reinforce and clip right into a marking on the neckline to get the seam to fit. Anyway well done for persevering it looks great.
1/14/09 6:57 PM
solosmocker said...
I did do the re inforcing and clipping suggested. That is the way I finally pullde it into shape, but that was forcing the issue. Thanks for the compliments both of you.
1/14/09 7:46 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful, chic blouse.
1/14/09 8:19 PM
kathleencramer said...
Sorry the pattern was such a troublsome one! but your finished product really is striking. Nice job.
1/14/09 8:34 PM
mars418 said...
Thanks sooo much for the review. I made this earlier this spring as a very new back to sewing beginner (before I knew about Big 4 sizing and PR) and it was a disaster. I ended up about 3 sizes too large and couldn't save it. It's now living in a land fill somewhere! Your review helped me understand that maybe it just wasn't me!
1/14/09 8:44 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top!!! Great color and style!!
1/14/09 8:54 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very stylish. I love the color too.
1/14/09 9:47 PM
ITAdmin said...
Your top looks great, but I'm glad I read the review. I like the style of this and was thinking of buying it at the Butterick sale this weekend. Thanks for pointing out the problems; my liking doesn't go that far.
1/15/09 7:33 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, this looks fabulous! Too bad it wasn't really "very easy," but the end result is sure worth your trouble! Thanks for the warning! :)
1/15/09 11:13 AM
nicegirl said...
I was going to thank you for reminding me about this great pattern but now I wonder! LOL Your top is dynamite; thanks for the heads up about the drafting issues.
1/15/09 11:45 AM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, i love it, very lovely!
1/15/09 12:53 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a beautiful top. And such a shame it was misery and then some to work on. Thanks for the warning...
1/15/09 3:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us