SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5186 (Semi-fitted top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 397 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/09 5:25 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
What a beautiful top. And such a shame it was misery and then some to work on. Thanks for the warning...
1/15/09 3:08 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, i love it, very lovely!
1/15/09 12:53 PM
nicegirl said...
I was going to thank you for reminding me about this great pattern but now I wonder! LOL Your top is dynamite; thanks for the heads up about the drafting issues.
1/15/09 11:45 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, this looks fabulous! Too bad it wasn't really "very easy," but the end result is sure worth your trouble! Thanks for the warning! :)
1/15/09 11:13 AM
ITAdmin said...
Your top looks great, but I'm glad I read the review. I like the style of this and was thinking of buying it at the Butterick sale this weekend. Thanks for pointing out the problems; my liking doesn't go that far.
1/15/09 7:33 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very stylish. I love the color too.
1/14/09 9:47 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top!!! Great color and style!!
1/14/09 8:54 PM
mars418 said...
Thanks sooo much for the review. I made this earlier this spring as a very new back to sewing beginner (before I knew about Big 4 sizing and PR) and it was a disaster. I ended up about 3 sizes too large and couldn't save it. It's now living in a land fill somewhere! Your review helped me understand that maybe it just wasn't me!
1/14/09 8:44 PM
kathleencramer said...
Sorry the pattern was such a troublsome one! but your finished product really is striking. Nice job.
1/14/09 8:34 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful, chic blouse.
1/14/09 8:19 PM
solosmocker said...
I did do the re inforcing and clipping suggested. That is the way I finally pullde it into shape, but that was forcing the issue. Thanks for the compliments both of you.
1/14/09 7:46 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
It looks great, I love this pattern. I don't recall having any trouble when I made it so I'll have to go back and look at the instructions again. (maybe sewing with BWOF has made me more forgiving of Butterick instructions!). I do recall you have to reinforce and clip right into a marking on the neckline to get the seam to fit. Anyway well done for persevering it looks great.
1/14/09 6:57 PM
Christas said...
Very cute top! Love the color!
1/14/09 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 5806

photo
by: sew silly

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info