Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2008-113 (Pleated top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 483 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 124 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/10 0:16 AM
Last Updated:5/1/10 0:29 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
This top is gorgeous and looks stunning on you. I love the pleating. I never would have thought this could be such a pretty top going by the website photo, even the line drawing isnt very inspiring. Maybe Burda should be paying you to sew and photograph their demo versions, you get much nicer results than they do!
5/1/10 1:06 AM
sewinfrance said...
It looks really nice on you. I've had many problems with Burda so I'm happy for you that you made it work.
5/1/10 4:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
A glass of wine might have been a good idea. Anyway, it's a charming and distinctive top.
5/1/10 5:30 AM
ladylola said...
Very nice! I didn't think much of this pattern either but your top makes me want to sew it now!
5/1/10 8:02 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful top.
5/1/10 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful I know you put your usual hard work into this top and it shows. Simple but very elegant
5/1/10 9:44 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I now remember this pattern didn't quite behave how I wanted to me but obviously it did to you, and looks great on you, lovely styling too!
5/1/10 9:58 AM
Diane E said...
Lovely top! Terrific fabric choice. Now to find this magazine......
5/1/10 10:18 AM
Nancy K said...
I remembered this when I saw the technical drawing and I agree, not impressed when I first saw this. But, on you it is fabulous! What a chic top.
5/1/10 10:21 AM
MagpieJen said...
I can't get over how you managed to coordinate your backdrop and accessories - great photos! The blouse is wonderful, and thank you for the detailed review on how you got this pattern to work so well!
5/1/10 11:38 AM
Barbara V said...
Your top is beautiful especially with the black silk charmeuse. It does sound trickier than a 1 1/2 rating....I could just picture the process of coaxing the elastic through each pleat....your work is lovely.
5/1/10 1:17 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Beautifully sewn blouse. Tres chic!
5/1/10 4:15 PM
Paris75008 said...
Beautiful top. Really looks great on you.
5/1/10 6:06 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice top!! I would love to see a pic of the other one you made. Your style and technique alway inspire me!!!!
5/1/10 9:57 PM
Mushywear said...
Very nicely sewn and such a lovely fabric. Great job!
5/2/10 2:11 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
Absolutely fabulous. :)
5/6/10 11:38 AM
XandraReynolds said...
Rocking top, girlie!
9/20/10 11:50 PM
Lisa p said...
WHat a great review , I am just about to sew this top so your pattern dislikes have been very usefull.
1/12/11 3:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 09-2004-404
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/1/08
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8046 Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 7/27/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us