SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5827 (Child's Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 264 times 
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo

 
 
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 11:15 AM
Last Updated:1/21/09 11:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a beautiful dress--on an extraordinarily beautiful child! I can see why she would love that twirly skirt.
1/21/09 12:39 PM
SewLil said...
I especially like the green flannel version. I enjoyed your informative review.
1/21/09 1:20 PM
Kay Romo said...
So cute! All RTW I have seen lately try to make 7year olds look like sexpots. Good job.
1/21/09 2:03 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Kay, I had to laugh. When I made the dress, all I thought was - "that's a cute pattern, and this fabric will be pretty on her." I didn't even consider the ah, LACK of skin showing. However, it's winter in Minnesota - other than perhaps wearing stuff form fitting, most kids this age WANT to stay covered up. Even at the middle school, where I occasionally substitute, this seems to be true.
1/21/09 2:35 PM
WL said...
Cathy, I love what you did with this pattern. I've seen the pattern a couple of times, but just blew right by it because I thought it looked rather blah. But yours are so cute, I think I will add it to my collection the next time there is a sale (I'm in MN too and I love the flannel version!)
1/21/09 4:49 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cathy, what a lovely little jewel of emerald for your beautiful little redhead. She looks heavenly, Lily
1/21/09 5:50 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress on a beautiful little girl, Love the details and the color!
1/21/09 6:01 PM
Christas said...
What a beautiful dress! Both versions are wonderful. The twirl factor is sure to make these dresses the favorites of your beautiful little girl!
1/21/09 9:58 PM
Mahler said...
If I buy the pattern, do I get a lovely little girl like that ? ;-) Both dresses are wonderful !
1/22/09 9:22 PM
fiddlestick chic said...
I just purchased this pattern as it will fit 3 of my 4 grandaughter's for matching Christmas dresses. ( starting in July just to be sure) Couldent believe when I went to JoAnne's for the .99 Simplicity pattern sale it was scheduled to be discontinued so I ended up paying full price on PR. Ok with me ,b/c I will use this pattern many time for many varied dresses, even do up sleeveless in summer. I LOVE the twirling the girls do and am looking at putting petticoats ( is that what you call them??.I had boys!) so they feel really special. I also looked on your photo slide and noticed the hats you made for presents. I think I will do that also, keep Christmas in check here. Lots of people to buy for now! Thanks for the great review and picts, it sold me on the pattern as I didn't want a lot of gathering at the top for my 7yr old GD , this pattern works well for a 3 yr old, a 5 yrd old and a 7 yr old. I will start now with a back to school dress for each girl( nursery school for the 3 yr old is back to school too!) As always I keep knitting little vests for the boys,,,,,,
7/29/09 10:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Past Patterns 002

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review