SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3628 (Jackets/Blazers (Threads))

22 more reviews
Viewed 710 times 
Reviewed by:Heidi Ho
photo

 
 
About Heidi Hostar
CA USA
Member since: 2/2/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 11:28 PM
Last Updated:1/21/09 11:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kristinlala said...
Wow- great job! I am looking at patterns I want since they are on sale at HL this week- and I LOVE yours....soooo nice. Maybe I'll buy it for the future so I can learn how to do the pockets, etc! :) Awesome job!
3/29/10 11:24 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
SHARP JACKET, lady! The pockets are excellent and I do hear ya, jackets without pockets - meh! A real, lined, tailored jacket is my personal Mt. Everest -- never attempted yet, I am so impressed by yours.
1/24/09 10:33 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Really cute and better than the envelope! Fits beautifully.
1/23/09 4:25 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully done. Great looking jacket and great review.
1/23/09 4:06 PM
persevering said...
Your response with additional information is very much appreciated! :)
1/22/09 11:58 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thank all of you for your nice comments, it really makes me feel good and glad that I hung in there to finish this jacket!
1/22/09 11:50 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Persevering, I used a size 10 pattern even though my measurements are closer to a 12. Though the fit looks good, from a comfort standpoint it binds a bit on me through the upper arms and shoulder though I don't think it looks tight..who can figure.
1/22/09 11:48 PM
persevering said...
Can you please add what size pattern you used (as that would be most helpful as we may share some measurements)?
1/22/09 11:28 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for your great review. The fit and style look superb on you!
1/22/09 11:23 PM
Sew Shy said...
I made this pattern recently and love it! Definitely a wardrobe builder. Yours looks great, and I said aloud to my hubby when I saw yours "she put pockets in!!". Thanks for the great review and the clear pictures.
1/22/09 11:07 PM
ALY said...
I think the fit is suberb. It shows off your great figure. The next jacket you make will be easier because of all the "learnings" you had with this one.
1/22/09 6:20 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful jacket to go with the trousers - thought I recognized them! So glad you were able to overcome your problems, as the jacket is tremendously flattering. Esp love the pocket!
1/22/09 12:45 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking jacket. I feel your pain with the fusible too. I will never, ever again use a fusible on a nice fabric.
1/22/09 10:31 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great jacket! Thank you so much for the link to bagging a lining. I was just wondering yesterday about this technique and wanted to try it. You are a mind reader! lol Ronda
1/22/09 9:57 AM
KrystalL said...
Nice review. Great looking jacket!
1/22/09 8:49 AM
jent said...
The fit of this jacket on you is exceptional. It looks fantastic!
1/22/09 8:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous looking jacket! Superb and flattering fit! I'm glad that you found the solution to the interfacing problem. It took me years to switch over to fusible interfacing because I always have preferred the sew-in ones! Yup, there are still uses for the sew-ins!
1/22/09 8:02 AM
jlg said...
The jacket turned out beautiful. Great job of fitting.
1/22/09 5:31 AM
Renren said...
You have made a beautiful jacket to go with your wonderful Burda pants and the top you reviewed earlier today! Everything is just gorgeous!
1/22/09 0:27 AM
Christas said...
This looks perfect! The fit and everything is wonderful! You did a great job. EXCELLENT review!
1/22/09 0:22 AM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, not to mention the jacket! It's PERFECTLY fitted. I FEEL YOUR PAIN with the fusible interfacing problem. I've done EXACTLY the same thing you did before. I will say, though, the BEST fusible interfacing I've EVER used comes from Pamela Erny (I hope I'm spelling her last name correctly), which you can get at this site, should you ever wish to: http://sewexciting.blogspot.com/ In the meantime, though, we'll be looking forward to your next FABULOUS jacket! :o)
1/21/09 11:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Jalie 2105

photo
by: leoniep

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

More Info
McCall's 6129

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review