Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2890 (MISSES' DRESS AND DETACHABLE S) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1203 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Kennis
photo
About Kennisstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/12/07
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/09 0:42 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
The dress is beautiful and you look great in it. Wonderful job. It was well worth all the aggravation.
2/1/09 0:55 AM
KateS said...
The end result looks fantastic! I don't envy you the sore back though :( Great work on what appears to be a challenging pattern and fabric!
2/1/09 1:28 AM
crystalwoods said...
WoW, your dress looks lovely on you, very flattering and professional looking. Great job sticking with making a shifty fabric work :)
2/1/09 2:40 AM
babsi1111 said...
Your dress looks absolutely stunning. It was well worth the effort. Congratulations!
2/1/09 3:57 AM
mars418 said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress and I love the rosettes on the front. A real work of perseverance!
2/1/09 7:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
The dress is stunning. Bravo!
2/1/09 8:02 AM
woggy said...
Fabulous dress - you look stunning. Bravo!
2/1/09 8:05 AM
Meredith P said...
This is stunning! You did such a beautiful job and you look absolutely wonderful in it. I love the flowers too.
2/1/09 8:49 AM
Amanda S. said...
It looks drop dead gorgeous on you! I can see all the work that went into making it as well. Well done.
2/1/09 8:54 AM
Kay Y said...
My goodness, your dress looks absolutely gorgeous! I would love to see more pictures!
2/1/09 9:06 AM
carolynw said...
Oh my gosh - what a beautiful dress - I can well imagine all the work that went into making it but it turned out perfectly - well done
2/1/09 9:25 AM
elanor said...
I had to look at your bio to see if you were a professional sewer. Simply amazing. A lesser woman would have wadded this even if it was silk chiffon. I am in awe.
2/1/09 9:33 AM
Kellie R. said...
Holy cow! This is BEAUTIFUL! I can imagine how uncooperative the silk chiffon would be - but your results are wonderful - you look stunning. Congratulations!
2/1/09 9:54 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"A beautiful dress." On a beautiful woman. Best wishes for your marriage.
2/1/09 10:09 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! That dress is G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S!! You look STUNNING!!
2/1/09 10:10 AM
Catbird said...
This is astounding! I'm transfixed by those beautiful flowers, the color, the fabric ... everything. Your agony during the process brought forth total beauty in the end. Best wishes on your marriage!
2/1/09 10:20 AM
Beek said...
Very, very elegant dress. Your execution of a difficult pattern using a difficult fabric (silk chiffon!) certainly displays your expert skills at sewing. Bravo! I hope that you had a wonderful time wearing this; it appears that you did from the photo!
2/1/09 10:31 AM
Lori V said...
The dress is beatiful, great job
2/1/09 10:49 AM
Karendee said...
Your dress is absolutely beautiful!
2/1/09 2:34 PM
marec said...
What a wonderful dress-the design and color suit you perfectly. Congratulations on your wedding, marec
2/1/09 2:48 PM
Mufffet said...
O.K...you can go right up to advanced now! This dress is so well made. You did a terrific job, and you look absolutely beautiful!
2/1/09 4:24 PM
Annette1 said...
Your gown has turned out beautifully, and was so worth all your extra work!
2/1/09 6:42 PM
Karen8320 said...
This is a beautiful piece of work and you look fabulous in it! Congratulations on your wedding and congratulations for making your own outfit for it. That is definitely very, very special. I admire everything you've done here. Well done!
2/1/09 7:31 PM
LisaRM said...
Absolutely beautiful.
2/1/09 7:51 PM
Nancy K said...
Exquisite. You look wonderful, worth the agravation.
2/1/09 8:00 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Your hard work paid off. And I am certain when you were seen everyone was in awe of you. You and the dress are absolutely beautiful. Congratulations and best wishes for a long and happy life.
2/1/09 8:45 PM
Woolygal said...
beautiful. you are a very accomplished seamstress.
2/2/09 8:20 AM
cindyann said...
I'm sure many, many hours went into this dress and the final product is just lovely! You look beautiful in it.
2/2/09 9:41 AM
Luckylibbet said...
That dress was worth every challenge you faced and overcame - gorgeous, stunning and unique! Congratulations on your marriage!
2/2/09 12:23 PM
BlueSquare said...
a beautiful dress with a very original look. Worth the work! It is terrific when someone really explains their process
2/2/09 7:44 PM
Diane333 said...
you look soooo glamourous
2/3/09 1:56 PM
said...
Oh my goodness, this dress is soooo beautiful. You did an AMAZING job. It fits you perfectly, and looks so well finished!
2/8/09 5:05 PM
MissCelie said...
Stunning. Just stunning! You would never know it caused you a bit of problem!
2/23/09 1:53 PM
pinkli said...
Looks fantastic. Great colour on you as well. Great work
3/18/09 3:01 PM
lewbiloo said...
I am making this dress for a client in red silk satin instead of the chiffon overlay. The front drape was quite saggy, this review helped immensly. Thank you
3/25/09 12:38 PM
pinkcontractor said...
Since I am starting this pattern this weekend. This was super helpful. I know I have to make a child stand dutifully while I fiddle with parts. Plus I will make her suffer through roses.
1/7/11 1:17 PM
SoVintage said...
I just picked this pattern up--thank you for the wonderful tips and hints! Your Dress is STUNNING
2/6/11 7:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 16599-1003
photo
Review by TalyQ on 7/13/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4337 simplicity
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 1/16/09
Read Review

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us