SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7764 (Jacket)

Viewed 1000 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/09 5:51 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 44 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dmd4106 said...
Fantastic review! Love the jacket! Great job!
10/13/09 6:22 AM
hpsauce said...
I just love your jacket - I'm very inspired!
9/22/09 8:46 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Your new jacket looks wonderful. I love the choice of fabric. Thanks for a very helpful review, in particular, your description of your zipper insertion method.
9/21/09 11:30 AM
Natalie D. said...
Beautiful jacket and what a comprehensive review!
4/22/09 11:17 AM
bluefly said...
Thank you for this helpful review. It is a beautiful jacket. You have come a long way in the 5-6 years you have been sewing. I admire your ingenuiy. I ordered the 2 books you mentioned and will be ordering from the Erickson site also.
2/7/09 10:34 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding workmanship. This jacket is beautiful.
2/5/09 3:10 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a fantastic jacket, done meticulously. It was fascinating to read your excellent review and see how you finally arrived at the finished product. I love what you did with the zipper. Congratulations on a job well done.
2/5/09 9:07 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Excellent review and a beautiful, beautiful jacket! I'm going to have to get this pattern. I like your change to the collar opening in the front, too.
2/4/09 11:26 PM
Em's Summer said...
What an absolutely beautiful and perfectly sewn haute couture jacket this is! You are really talented, Nancy! I love this jacket!
2/4/09 2:29 PM
Nancy K said...
You need to upgrade your rating. This is a fabulous jacket that says high end rtw! Beautifully sewn and fitted. Great review with some great sources.
2/4/09 8:30 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your kind compliments.
2/3/09 7:00 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great jacket Nancy! It looks perfect, and the exposed zipper is wonderful.
2/3/09 6:49 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very classy jacket. :)
2/3/09 2:16 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Love it! All your hard work paid off. I've always admired Burda's extra attention to detail and your translation of the zipper application certainly does enhance their design idea. Well done.
2/3/09 1:26 PM
nellc said...
Lovely jacket, the quilted fabric and your great workmanship make this look very stylish.
2/3/09 12:55 PM
carolynw said...
This is perfect in every way - a real stand out. Bravo!! Great review
2/3/09 12:51 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful Jacket, Nancy!! Even more beautiful on micro inspection with the close up pictures!! Love reading your reviews--I learn SO much! You amaze me with your detailing--darts on the collar etc -- things that I would never think to do--or if I did think to do them--I would skip it! LOL!! Very fun! Also love your links--SO helpful! Thank you! Carla
2/3/09 10:56 AM
Jali said...
I see a great jacket, thoughtfully made and a thorough review that is very helpful. Thank you for the review and congratulations on your lovely, new jacket.
2/3/09 10:39 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow! Great jacket. This is a great basic in a perfect color. I love your zipper application.
2/3/09 10:08 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW! An awesome job! Absolutely beautiful work!
2/3/09 9:45 AM
Erica B. said...
Absolutely fabulous jacket!
2/3/09 8:55 AM
RottenTots said...
Beautiful jacket and I love the ultraleather. Thanks for a wonderful review!
2/3/09 8:53 AM
cindyann said...
That is wonderful, Nancy!
2/3/09 8:41 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your jacket looks so much more stylish than either of the high-end jackets you've linked to. Great job! Thanks for all the links to the books and products you mentioned. This review is most helpful. I love your jacket!
2/3/09 8:20 AM
Peggy L said...
Nancy - you outdid yourself on this one. Stunning! Wear and enjoy it with pride.
2/3/09 8:00 AM
piffle said...
Thank you for very detailed review. I totally love what you came up with. It looks very mod-squad.
2/3/09 6:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks fantastic. Great and thorough review!
2/3/09 6:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sensational jacket! Love it! All your hard work really shows and I love the zipper with the leather. Great job!! There is certainly no need to try again when this one looks so good.
2/3/09 2:27 AM
Sigrid. said...
Incredibly beautiful. Superb sewing, and the way you treated the zipper really is the first time I've seen it. Very original and gives the perfect finish. I want a jacket like yours too!
2/3/09 2:21 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your jacket is beautiful and the details look perfect!
2/3/09 1:38 AM
Mlle Laura said...
Beautiful, so professional. It is so much more stylish than the designer jackets you mention.
2/3/09 1:02 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice jacket and great review. You must have a lot of patience (and time) to make so many changes. The jacket is beautiful!
2/2/09 11:47 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket.
2/2/09 11:01 PM
Karen8320 said...
Really fabulous work here, Nancy! Your sewing skills are impeccable and I admire your attention to detail. That zipper application is fantastic! This is definitely a high end piece of work that you can be justifiably proud of. Very, very well done!
2/2/09 9:49 PM
annie11 said...
This is such a wonderful review, and your jacket is superb. Congratulations on such fantastic work!
2/2/09 8:36 PM
Catbird said...
Great, great, great review and a jacket brimming with style!
2/2/09 8:34 PM
Barbara3 said...
Your thoughtful and creative approach to modifying this Burda pattern truly makes the most of your beautiful fabric. Your review offers us great information for application to other patterns as well. A terrific review and a lovely jacket. Enjoy wearing it - you'll undoubtedly receive lots of compliments!
2/2/09 8:15 PM
Christas said...
You've done some very professional sewing on your beautiful jacket. It looks wonderful! Your zipper is amazing!
2/2/09 7:53 PM
Birgitte said...
How simply stunning and pristine, just fantastic!
2/2/09 7:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, listen... your jacket totally puts the ones by Gorsuch and Prada to *shame*!! It is gorgeous. And would you believe that Kashi talked me into buying a fabric so similar to this one at PR NYC 2007? I hope you don't mind if I shamelessly copy you on this jacket. It's really beautiful!
2/2/09 7:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
Nancy, your jacket is totally fabulous ! Thank you for sharing it with us and writing a very helpful review. Your zipper application is top notch !
2/2/09 7:21 PM
Riordan said...
Wow!!!!!! Gorgeous jacket!!! Wonderful review! Love your zipper application.
2/2/09 7:01 PM
sewtime said...
Wonderful jacket, so cute! I also loved your review!!
2/2/09 6:56 PM
JanJanB said...
Lovely workmanship! I bet it looks fabulous on.
2/2/09 6:56 PM
marec said...
Thank you for such a complete review of the process and product. I have enjoyed this jacket vicariously through the forums and now it is fun to see it in a review. I also more fully understand how the zipper was applied-thanks for those details as I'd like to try that method on some riding jackets for spring. Beautiful jacket and impeccable workmanship!
2/2/09 6:51 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely work on this jacket, Nancy. I especially like your treatment of the zipper with the ultraleather. Well done.
2/2/09 6:20 PM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful results! Love the jacket. Your review is an inspiration.
2/2/09 6:15 PM
kkkkaty said...
wonderful jacket, congratulations, very fine work!
2/2/09 6:07 PM
poplin said...
What a thorough review, Nancy! Your jacket looks very professional... it should considering all the work you've put into it!
2/2/09 6:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 82155-1006

photo
by: rivergum

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

More Info