Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5466 (Pleat Neck Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 933 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:05 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Sorry you had so many problems with this dress. It turned out so cute. I love the plaid. Perhaps you could have topstitched close to the edge to keep the lining from showing -- however, from experience I know this is not always the solution.
2/3/09 2:16 PM
SexiSadi said...
There's no way you could maybe fix the armhole? It's such a nice looking dress that it's really a shame to not wear it.
2/3/09 2:27 PM
cindyann said...
What a shame the armscyes don't work. It's a lovely dress, though. Really flattering look on you. I had the same thing happen to me on a recent dress so I feel your pain.
2/3/09 2:37 PM
kasizzle said...
Too bad about the arms, because it really looks great on you.
2/3/09 2:47 PM
Leora said...
So much time and energy for bad armholes in the end. How disappointing. Great job pattern matching!!
2/3/09 4:06 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl- thanks for the great review-I have this pattern and will probably not make it now--hmmm... a dress you can't move your arms in that makes your butt look big until you nail down the pleats--sounds like a plan! HOWEVER, you did a great job making it look really cute on you. Didn't Queen Victoria or somebody say you should never raise your arms higher than it takes to drink a cup of tea? Very funny review, thanks.
2/3/09 4:20 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!! LOVE the neckline pleating!!
2/3/09 4:52 PM
Lori V said...
Tha is such a shame, it does look very cut on you.
2/3/09 5:18 PM
Christas said...
What a shame about the armscye. It looks so cute on you. Love the plaid!
2/3/09 5:48 PM
Nancy K said...
Shame about the armscyes, because it looks great on you.
2/3/09 6:18 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love it, LOVE IT! From the totally awesome picture - you look gorgeous by the way! - to the complete review! Too bad it didn't turn out like you wanted.
2/3/09 6:46 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your dress turned out cute! Sorry to hear about the armholes. I have this pattern and I think that I will skip it now.
2/3/09 6:47 PM
shelyH said...
I noticed the same problem with this pattern in the short sleeve version, but not as severe as it is a cap sleeve. This really looks cute on you though! I haven't worn the one I made yet, since the back pleats stick out out weird. Great review!
2/3/09 7:43 PM
sewtime said...
It looks so cute on you. :(
2/3/09 8:23 PM
Mufffet said...
This is why I love BURDA patterns - the armhole is high and you get range of motion. My daughter is very short, small busted, and I still didn't have to do anything on the Burda I made her except shorted the bodice. Those high armholes were great. Of course, your dress is cute as a button anyhow! As usual, and the job on the plaid is great!! This is a very pretty and dressy style!
2/3/09 8:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, you've gone to so much trouble and effort with this dress and it really does look fabulous in your photo, that it's such a shame that the final product is disappointing. However, your review is most definitely helpful for the rest of us.
2/3/09 8:51 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love the pattern next to the picture thingy. i wish all our reviews were just set up like that. that is fabulous thinking nice girl. I fitted this dress at the palmer/pletsch seminar and so did another lady. The bodice piece looked like Frankenstein when we were done with it. It is a very fitted dress with the bust dart moved into those front neck pleats. I had to lengthen the shoulders alot! and do broad back and she had a FBA and i'm assuming a SBA is the same cutting lines so it's just a lot of work. it looks really cute on.
2/3/09 9:08 PM
Sic said...
You careful sewing and drafting really show through in the finished product - sorry the arms, but the dress looks wonderful even if it isn't quite functional! Also, way cute shoes!
2/4/09 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
This looks super on you - sorry that the armscythe has made this not a fave of yours but thanks for the heads up
2/4/09 9:48 AM
Elle D said...
Perfect for holiday cocktail party, hold your champagne glass just so. Boy did you score with the Carol Collection, this is a lovely fabric and your layout is truly inspired. Didn't someone recently save a similar armscye issue by adding a gusset? Not that I ever want to go back and take things apart, but this dress would be so worth it. Or you can just stand around holding your champagne glass just so.
2/5/09 11:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's M6270
photo
Review by juliesbtw on 6/3/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2795 Hoddie
photo
Review by swirlgurl on 1/4/14
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us