SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3635 (18th Century Undergarments)

4 more reviews
Viewed 659 times 
Reviewed by:MCBurbage
photo

 
 
About MCBurbagestar
VA USA
Member since: 12/26/08
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 7:39 PM
Last Updated:2/4/09 5:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
These look fantastic. You do lovely work.
10/26/11 10:36 AM
MCBurbage said...
As far as I can tell, the stays are mostly supported by your hips so the straps are probably not really necessary. I don't know how historically accurate that would be. The pictures I've seen show straps, but I haven't really researched it. As for the hoops, I didn't make the hoops from this pattern, which is basically a hoopskirt with ties that force it into that elliptical shape. I made the Simplicity 4092 pocket hoops, which stand out 8" on either side. The hoops included in this pattern are certainly larger than the pocket hoops, but I don't know the final dimensions.
9/16/09 4:57 PM
Ally Cat Aria said...
Hi! I've been thinking about making the hoops for a theatrical costume, but I'm worried the pockets won't be wide enough for my costume. How far do the hoops stick out on either side? I'd like to make pockets with a 15" length on each side. Thank you! And your review was definitely helpful for the stays! Do you think they could be made strapless with little difficulty and still have propper support?
9/8/09 11:56 PM
lizzienew said...
Thank you for sharing. I love seeing how other handle making stays. I think the front lacing may actually be accurate, at least for the end of the 1700s. I've been aiming for 1790 and I am seeing lacing on the front in old drawing that lampoon clothing styles. The reproduction pattern I followed has them there.
7/2/09 9:48 PM
Slyvchan said...
Lovely! Definitely going to make the stays for my Simplicity 4092 dress! Would you say that it's possible to alter the pattern so that the straps aren't on the stays?
2/9/09 9:19 PM
MCBurbage said...
All the top-stitching is done before the pieces are assembled. Since I did it all on the machine, it was fairly quick - on the order of an hour or two.
2/5/09 5:49 PM
Michelle L said...
what an amazing ammount of work. I can't even imagine doing all that topstitching!
2/5/09 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other 3HP000000

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now