SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2925 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, SKIRT AND)

38 more reviews
Viewed 784 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews: 52 (patterns: 46)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 178 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:2/5/09 4:51 AM
Last Updated:2/5/09 5:01 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said... (6/27/09 0:02 AM) Reply
Yvonne, you write the best reviews! I came on here to have a look at my brand-new pattern (that someone who shall remain nameless enabled me to buy) and already I'm super motivated to sew this one up. I have a couple of leftover pieces that are too small for anything else, so will give this top a go with those. I love the idea of using the fancy elastic to finish the edges on the white top - very nice. The binding is a great finish as well. I did have a quick look at the instructions this morning and wasn't too impressed that they just wanted you to turn under and stitch. Thanks again - great review!
Lou05 said... (5/3/09 0:27 AM) Reply
Really terrific review with helpful info. You look great in the top and your fabric choices were spot on!
katie lynne said... (2/17/09 11:01 PM) Reply
Beautiful and inspiring work. What great ingenuity for using RTW finds and to break up pattern pieces to get what you need out of the fabric at hand. This is what patternreview.com is all about! Brilliant review all the way around. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas!!!
kerrynw said... (2/14/09 6:16 AM) Reply
Love your tops Vonne and always enjoy reading your reviews!
Kathi R said... (2/11/09 12:55 PM) Reply
Thanks for another helpful review - I like your idea of keeping the TNTs that use very little fabric handy, a great way to use up the left overs and avoid more deposits to the scrap bin.
Schnauzer said... (2/6/09 7:57 PM) Reply
Both tops are adorable, Vonne. Beautiful work as always.
Nancywin said... (2/6/09 1:30 AM) Reply
Another set of great looking tops! This style really works for you. I like them!
Annette1 said... (2/6/09 0:34 AM) Reply
EXCELLENT review, and your tops are PERFECT. I LOVE this pattern. :o)
Honeyface said... (2/5/09 10:25 PM) Reply
These are just brilliant! I love both of them! Great review.
Heatherrique said... (2/5/09 9:47 PM) Reply
Vonne, you're looking mighty cool and chic! Very stylish tops!
Sew Shy said... (2/5/09 5:45 PM) Reply
Great tops! I like this pattern a lot but haven't been able to find it at my local Jo-jos in my size. Bummer...
QuiltSewSewSue said... (2/5/09 5:25 PM) Reply
Great review Vonne - love the tip about the decorative elastic. Thanks!
Sew4Fun said... (2/5/09 5:22 PM) Reply
Nice tops. I bought this pattern recently too because it has had so many good reviews.
Aless said... (2/5/09 4:51 PM) Reply
Another terrific review,Vonne.(Now if only I had good upper arms ! :- )
Deepika said... (2/5/09 12:09 PM) Reply
I love this top too. I have made 4 of these and plan to make many more. I like that you gathered, instead of pleating the front seam. I'll try that next time for a different look. I also like the picot elastic you used. I've used it too in a solid black top I made from this pattern. Great review with lots of detailed photos.
Mahogany Stylist said... (2/5/09 11:37 AM) Reply
Great looking tops. Just perfect in every way.
Rhoda K said... (2/5/09 11:12 AM) Reply
Ditto all above - I always look forword to your reviews.
carolynw said... (2/5/09 10:23 AM) Reply
Echoing ConnieBJ!! Great work as usual
ConnieBJ said... (2/5/09 9:21 AM) Reply
Another kick in the behind to actually sew this great top! Thanks Viv
Tov said... (2/5/09 9:00 AM) Reply
I can see why you got the pattern for the top. They are all terriffic! Wish I had noticed this one while it was available. Viv
echolalia said... (2/5/09 7:24 AM) Reply
I had dismissed this as being too 'clingy' for me Vonne, but your tops & review have changed my mind. Your tops are great, as is your review (as always).
Natasha B said... (2/5/09 5:09 AM) Reply
Excellent tops - I have always wanted this pattern. Thanks for reminding me it's OOP. Enjoyed your explanation of fitting in the white top to your fabric, great to know patterns for small bits of fabric. Both tops fit beautifully and look fantastic.
Braemar said... (2/5/09 4:59 AM) Reply
Great tops and very good review. Mary Anne.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Sew Sweet Elizabeth Pleated Dress

photo
by: SpitfireGa...

Review
HotPatterns 1168

photo
by: Speech gir...

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details