Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2925 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, SKIRT AND) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 769 times 38 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:2/5/09 4:51 AM
Last Updated:2/5/09 5:01 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Braemar said...
Great tops and very good review. Mary Anne.
2/5/09 4:59 AM
Natasha B said...
Excellent tops - I have always wanted this pattern. Thanks for reminding me it's OOP. Enjoyed your explanation of fitting in the white top to your fabric, great to know patterns for small bits of fabric. Both tops fit beautifully and look fantastic.
2/5/09 5:09 AM
echolalia said...
I had dismissed this as being too 'clingy' for me Vonne, but your tops & review have changed my mind. Your tops are great, as is your review (as always).
2/5/09 7:24 AM
Tov said...
I can see why you got the pattern for the top. They are all terriffic! Wish I had noticed this one while it was available. Viv
2/5/09 9:00 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Another kick in the behind to actually sew this great top! Thanks Viv
2/5/09 9:21 AM
carolynw said...
Echoing ConnieBJ!! Great work as usual
2/5/09 10:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above - I always look forword to your reviews.
2/5/09 11:12 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking tops. Just perfect in every way.
2/5/09 11:37 AM
Deepika said...
I love this top too. I have made 4 of these and plan to make many more. I like that you gathered, instead of pleating the front seam. I'll try that next time for a different look. I also like the picot elastic you used. I've used it too in a solid black top I made from this pattern. Great review with lots of detailed photos.
2/5/09 12:09 PM
Aless said...
Another terrific review,Vonne.(Now if only I had good upper arms ! :- )
2/5/09 4:51 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tops. I bought this pattern recently too because it has had so many good reviews.
2/5/09 5:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great review Vonne - love the tip about the decorative elastic. Thanks!
2/5/09 5:25 PM
Sew Shy said...
Great tops! I like this pattern a lot but haven't been able to find it at my local Jo-jos in my size. Bummer...
2/5/09 5:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
Vonne, you're looking mighty cool and chic! Very stylish tops!
2/5/09 9:47 PM
Honeyface said...
These are just brilliant! I love both of them! Great review.
2/5/09 10:25 PM
Annette1 said...
EXCELLENT review, and your tops are PERFECT. I LOVE this pattern. :o)
2/6/09 0:34 AM
Nancywin said...
Another set of great looking tops! This style really works for you. I like them!
2/6/09 1:30 AM
Schnauzer said...
Both tops are adorable, Vonne. Beautiful work as always.
2/6/09 7:57 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for another helpful review - I like your idea of keeping the TNTs that use very little fabric handy, a great way to use up the left overs and avoid more deposits to the scrap bin.
2/11/09 12:55 PM
kerrynw said...
Love your tops Vonne and always enjoy reading your reviews!
2/14/09 6:16 AM
katie lynne said...
Beautiful and inspiring work. What great ingenuity for using RTW finds and to break up pattern pieces to get what you need out of the fabric at hand. This is what patternreview.com is all about! Brilliant review all the way around. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas!!!
2/17/09 11:01 PM
Lou05 said...
Really terrific review with helpful info. You look great in the top and your fabric choices were spot on!
5/3/09 0:27 AM
brissie71 said...
Yvonne, you write the best reviews! I came on here to have a look at my brand-new pattern (that someone who shall remain nameless enabled me to buy) and already I'm super motivated to sew this one up. I have a couple of leftover pieces that are too small for anything else, so will give this top a go with those. I love the idea of using the fancy elastic to finish the edges on the white top - very nice. The binding is a great finish as well. I did have a quick look at the instructions this morning and wasn't too impressed that they just wanted you to turn under and stitch. Thanks again - great review!
6/27/09 0:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us