Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M5752 (The Perfect Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1058 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Eme
photo
Friend of PR
About Emestar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 7:53 PM
Last Updated:2/5/09 8:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Well from my point of view the dress looks fantastic on you. Very pretty!
2/5/09 8:06 PM
fourkid said...
Beautiful dress - and I love your photo shoot - the colors look great in the photos.
2/5/09 8:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive dress on you! Lovely pic of you!
2/5/09 8:48 PM
solosmocker said...
Great review! The dress looks great on you.
2/5/09 8:48 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! Great dress for V-day.
2/5/09 8:50 PM
Jan B. said...
This dress looks wonderful on you. Trust the photos!!
2/5/09 9:39 PM
Honeyface said...
That was a really helpful review and I'm crossing this one off my wish list because I just don't want to mess with it. However, you look absolutely fantastic in this dress and it's really an eye catcher!
2/5/09 10:02 PM
Lori V said...
I think the dress looks fantastic on you.
2/5/09 10:08 PM
Renren said...
You look lovely in this dress and I am thinking you might end up really liking the dress. From what I can see it is gorgeous.
2/5/09 10:14 PM
sewbehind said...
This dress looks wonderful on you. I see NO leftover baby weight at all!
2/5/09 10:43 PM
Elona said...
The dress looks terrific on you--very becoming. The white legs would be seen as tremendously attractive in a past era, too. But I am with you on that double-layer, self-lined midriff thing. It is difficult to work with when the fabric has any body at all, and it can be unflattering to those who are top-heavy (as I am). I suppose it's the pattern companies' effort to get around facings or bindings, but I am not in love with it.
2/5/09 10:49 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I think the dress looks fantastic on you! I was about to put this on my list after seeing the photo but after reading the review I'm not so sure.
2/5/09 11:31 PM
KateS said...
This dress- and the colour- looks sensational on you!!! (Extra 15 lb what extra 15lb????). Fantatsic, though I can understand you not wanting to sew it again after reading your review.
2/6/09 4:37 AM
donna mel said...
beautiful dress on you - take it out for a nice dinner! thanks for all the photos, it really help to see the dress from every angle.
2/6/09 7:29 AM
Nancy K said...
It looks great in the photos, but gaping necklines are just not fun to wear! I have a real problem with the instructions on knits in almost all the pattern companies, so don't be so quick to blame yourself. A great color on you.
2/6/09 7:42 AM
Darla in PA said...
The dress looks wonderful on you! Pins and all. Thanks for all the views.
2/6/09 8:25 AM
pfaffkj said...
Your dress is lovely. Since you worked so hard on it, maybe you'll like it more as time passes. It does lood great on you. And your review was wonderful. Thanks
2/6/09 8:36 AM
eugenia123 said...
Very interesting to read about your problems with this dress but it really does look fantastic on you and I love the colour choice
2/6/09 8:38 AM
Deepika said...
Look ok? Looks HOT! Even though it seems you had a really tough time with this dress I am glad you finished it and are able to wear it. Some patterns are like that. Nightmare to sew but when they are done, you're glad you did it. You'll probably not sew it again but atleast you have a great dress in your closet! Check out the TS Madison Avenue Dress. I love it!
2/6/09 9:12 AM
daff said...
Wow, I never would have known you had so many issues making this dress. It looks smokin'! What a hot mom!
2/6/09 10:35 AM
Jali said...
This definitely doesn't look okay. It looks terrific. You brighten up the wintry day around you.
2/6/09 10:57 AM
CShelley said...
My first thought on seeing the photo was 'WOW! That's a winner!' but I can see from the review that it had challenges. I have this pattern in my stash and still intend on making it as it looks so great on you.
2/6/09 11:59 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the fussiness of the pattern. I think you look beautiful though. It's such a flattering dress and is so unique.
2/6/09 2:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love it! It makes me want to run out and buy this pattern.
2/6/09 3:13 PM
JamieLiz said...
I think it looks great, Eme! And good job on persisting thru to the finish despite the difficulties. It made for a great review.
2/6/09 4:49 PM
CatMukai said...
I don't know where you're carrying the 15 lbs, you look great!
2/6/09 10:53 PM
moushka said...
Don't know how much red you have in your wardrobe, but I'd move that colour to the front. You look sensational in that dress! Sorry it was such a misery but the results are fantastic. Wear it with pride and strut your stuff. As to the supposed fifteen pounds, nope - don't see 'em.
2/7/09 2:27 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a BEAUTIFUL dress!! You look STUNNING!!
2/7/09 10:18 AM
Knitters Delight said...
You have me nervous... I have already cut out the pieces, but thought it looked like it might be a bit confusing. Despite how it seems, your dress does look gorgeous on you.
4/15/09 2:01 PM
chucklehead said...
The dress, and you are beautiful. I have been asked before if I buy my white tights in bulk. Grr...
7/4/09 7:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1182 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/16/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-7
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us