SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5819 (DIY Style)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1119 times 
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/09 4:04 PM
Last Updated:6/12/09 12:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
SUPER cute top! It has SO many special details. I LOVE that neckline, and especially that you used the contrasting fabric, AND those pockets are PEREFCT with your decorative stitching. The only thing is, I thought I (GREAT BIG FONT, BOLD, UNDERLINED, IN RED) was your only very dear friend. Heh-heh-heh. :o)) Can't wait to see the next version! Okay, I'm now OFFICIALLY buckling down on the typing (which I've been saying for three hours now).
2/7/09 4:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
I love your version of this top too !!!
2/7/09 5:15 PM
kasizzle said...
Great top!
2/7/09 5:25 PM
Annette1 said...
CONGRATULATIONS on gaining that FOURTH STAR!!!!!!! OOOOOOOOH, the PRESSURE of trying to REACH THE TOP!! Now you can celebrate by SEWING SOMETHING ELSE!!
2/7/09 5:46 PM
sewtime said...
Your top is so cute! Love the way you made it!!
2/7/09 7:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is so cute on you Meggie!!!
2/7/09 7:22 PM
Karendee said...
You should really be proud of this top; it is so darling on you. The sewing is perfect, and do I see evience of your new CS machine? Congratulations on your machine and top. BTW, you look really good from the back, also. No back fat at all. I so envy you.LOL!
2/7/09 7:38 PM
fourkid said...
This is very cute and the purple is wonderful.
2/7/09 8:41 PM
CynthiaSue said...
glad you reviewed this Meggie! i have it and have been meaning to make it. you look great!
2/7/09 10:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, you're swift and precise! Gorgeous top! Purple looks fab on you!
2/7/09 11:19 PM
KateS said...
Very cute top! Great choice of fabric, the colours look lovely on you - well done!
2/8/09 1:50 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wonderful top Megan! I especially like the neckline ruffle..very cool. Gee that fabric looks familiar :)
2/8/09 5:51 AM
Woolygal said...
Very cute. Nice job.
2/8/09 8:03 AM
Avienndha said...
That top looks so cute! I love the color, and I really like the combination of all the different purples. I think you've convinced me to pull my pattern out and make it my next project...thank you!
2/8/09 9:22 AM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great choice of fabric! I love your fabric! It's the perfect pattern for this fabric!
2/8/09 11:17 AM
merry-one said...
Love it, very cute!
2/8/09 2:47 PM
Sherril Miller said...
When I saw this pattern, I swear I thought of you. You look darling in it.
2/8/09 3:16 PM
Nana39 said...
i really like the top great job, great color choice
2/8/09 5:43 PM
Catbird said...
Congratulations on all your stars! You deserve it. Your enthusiasm for sewing and your willingness to experiment and try new things is contagious. You look great in your new top!
2/8/09 7:38 PM
Karen8320 said...
Meggie, this is definitely a great style for you. Super cute and it looks great on you. Well done!
2/10/09 8:38 PM
candyo said...
Great job! I'm very impressed with your skills at your age!
2/16/09 0:14 AM
sewingstacy said...
cute! wonderful job!
2/20/09 9:47 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this top! I can't decide WHICH one I like better. Of course, the SUNGLASSES are PERFECT for this cute print -- ha! We bought SO MANY PATTERNS when I was there, I'll probably NEVER HAVE TO BUY PATTERNS AGAIN. :o) I never bought ANY patterns before I met y'all, so you must be a bad influence on me, don't you reckon? :o) Heh-heh-heh. We'd better save our dough for the NEXT shopping extravaganza! WHO KNOWS what we might find! (P.S. Whattaya' mean by the 15-train thing?)
2/20/09 10:04 PM
katlew03 said...
What a cute top. I just realized that it had a gathered neckband. I guess I thought it was some kind of trim on the purple one. It is really unique and makes your top special.
2/20/09 10:07 PM
Lori V said...
These tops are so cute, I am going to show these to my twins.
2/20/09 10:30 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Those tops are adorable!!! They look so cute on you. I love all the details. Great job on an excellent review as well. I might be too old for that style but I'm tempted to make it anyway after seeing how cute it looks!!!!
2/20/09 10:53 PM
Angien said...
Adorable on you!
2/20/09 11:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tops and great review! I have to sew this for my daughter. I know she would love it too. Love your new photo too with the sunnies. :)
2/20/09 11:20 PM
Terri A said...
Adorable! You are an enthusiastic and good sewing example!
2/20/09 11:59 PM
poplin said...
I've been reading up on you... YOU DESERVE THAT 4TH STAR. (Not that there is anybody who doesn't... vbgrin.) You sew, girl. Love to see more.
2/21/09 0:14 AM
nglalala said...
Oh my! These are so cute! Great job!
2/21/09 1:11 AM
Markie1 said...
you look adorable in these tops. You are such a prolific and enthusiastic sew-er! I always enjoy your reviews and LOVE seeing your sisters too.
2/21/09 1:25 AM
Twinset said...
I really love this top, and it is super cute on you! Ok now this pattern goes on my 'to make' list!!
2/21/09 1:29 AM
KateS said...
Stylin! Love the fabric- great job!
2/21/09 5:23 AM
Em's Summer said...
Two more cute tops! I love them! Great job!
2/21/09 7:40 AM
CShelley said...
I think you're the best dressed girl in Oklahoma. I LOVE both versions of the top and they look great on you. I think I'm going to get this pattern for myself. Thanks for the inspiration.
2/21/09 8:21 AM
carolynw said...
So pretty - congrats on the 4th Star
2/21/09 9:47 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Such a cute top!!! We'll love to see anymore you make from this pattern.
2/21/09 1:47 PM
eugenia123 said...
These tops are just fabulous. I love your choice of fabrics and this style really suits you. They look beautifully made.
2/22/09 7:00 AM
graysquirrel said...
I totally love your second version! I keep coming back to look at it! Great job!
5/3/09 6:54 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, I love all your versions. They are super cute!
6/12/09 1:10 PM
JoanneM said...
Outstanding concise review! The tops are lovely!
6/12/09 2:08 PM
persevering said...
Yes, totally, cute and so well fitted!
6/12/09 3:39 PM
Annette1 said...
I REALLY like this one with the different sleeves! And, DARE I MENTION, it's PURPLE? My PSYCHIC self is telling me you're wearing it RAT NOW! Am I RIGHT? :o)) I LOVE your fancy stitching on the pockets, too!
6/12/09 7:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another wonderfully cute top! I dug this pattern out a few days ago to sew a version for my DD after seeing your last two versions and here you are with yet another one. Someone might get the idea that you like this pattern. LOL!
6/12/09 9:04 PM
Sandi S said...
So cute! I love all of your versions.
6/13/09 0:38 AM
shesflipped said...
Super cute, just like you! Great work.
6/13/09 7:00 AM
Catbird said...
Another winner from this pattern! Even with that distinctive neckline, you've given each of these their own character, so they don't look at all repetitious. And purple is DEFINITELY a good color for you. Enjoy your new top!
6/13/09 10:53 AM
Karendee said...
What adorable trio of tops! And you look so good in each of them. Your workmanship is excellent, and I appreciate all the pictures. That helps me visualize the process! I also really love the little ruffled looking neckline casing. Darling!
6/13/09 4:47 PM
Athene said...
Very cute tops.
6/14/09 2:17 AM
nancy2001 said...
McCall's DIY should use you as one of their models. Not only do you look fabulous in their clothes, but you actually sewed them yourself. Perhaps you should send your review into the company.
6/14/09 10:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
McCall's 6571

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now